Jump to content



Photo

Best way to display full screen content over website?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 22 March 2013 - 10:19

I've been thinking about this one.

I've set up a neat gallery I want to use on a friends holiday villa site. I'd like to have the gallery pop up over whichever page they're currently on but easily close it and resume where they were without actually changing page?

What is the best was to approach this? The gallery itself can be loaded quite happily within and iframe *hides* I'm just wondering how to pop it up and make it 100% width and height over the background content.

Help much appreciated.

edit: infact - a transition that makes it frop from the top and expand to full width with might make it cooler... first things first though!


#2 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 22 March 2013 - 11:39

There must be a standard methodology to achieve what I'm after?

#3 lunamonkey

lunamonkey

    Ten years on Neowin.

  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Swindon, England

Posted 22 March 2013 - 12:06

It's a lightbox. There are many Jquery plugins that will do this without extra development. If you want one built from scratch.... then I guess it's a couple of hours work using jQuery as a base to speed up the dev.

#4 Kami-

Kami-

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-July 08
  • Location: SandBox

Posted 22 March 2013 - 13:30

It's a lightbox. There are many Jquery plugins that will do this without extra development. If you want one built from scratch.... then I guess it's a couple of hours work using jQuery as a base to speed up the dev.

^ This; albeit with the numerous millions out there, I'd just find one you're comfortable using rather than writing your own.

#5 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 22 March 2013 - 14:40

Ah cheers guys. I might use something like fancy box?

#6 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 22 March 2013 - 15:25

http://pixelentity.c...mponents/flare/ this seems perfect

Edit: Wait no it costs. lol

#7 Sandor

Sandor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 23 March 2013 - 17:08

Any standard lightbox or fancybox script should do.

You might just need to edit the code a little to make it load fullscreen.