Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 copy/paste UI is not always on top.

win8

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 dumble

dumble

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 09

Posted 23 March 2013 - 12:23

I'v got an annoying (bug?) in my win8 install x64. When I copy/paste, or cut/paste, the little UI window is not on top. You'll see it the yellow windows explorer icon flashing below in the taskbar, but the window is not on top. Is this just a wrong setting? I think its very annoying.. Can someone help me fix this problem?


#2 Quppa

Quppa

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-July 08

Posted 25 March 2013 - 10:11

I thought this happened to just me. Doesn't happen consistently, but a fix would be nice.

#3 OP dumble

dumble

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 09

Posted 18 April 2013 - 18:31

Did anyone found a fix yet? I still have the problem..

#4 bdsams

bdsams

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted 18 April 2013 - 18:37

Can you post a screenshot of it? I haven't had this happen to me...yet.

#5 Denis W.

Denis W.

    The True North!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 06-March 05
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario [CA]
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro and OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 18 April 2013 - 18:55

Think I've seen this happen. If it's by design, the idea is probably to let you continue copying and pasting more files in the same Explorer window without having to hide the transfer dialog.

#6 hmmz

hmmz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-April 13

Posted 19 April 2013 - 16:15

Think I've seen this happen. If it's by design, the idea is probably to let you continue copying and pasting more files in the same Explorer window without having to hide the transfer dialog.

Problem is, sometimes the "Files already exist" and "Are you sure" dialogs also pop in the background from time to time. This could make you lose time, because if you don't notice the red filling bar on the taskbar below the icon, you might come back 15 minutes later expecting a copy of your movies, only to notice a "Thumbs.db already exists, do you want to replace/keep both/cancel".

#7 OP dumble

dumble

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 09

Posted 17 May 2013 - 17:12

Think I've seen this happen. If it's by design, the idea is probably to let you continue copying and pasting more files in the same Explorer window without having to hide the transfer dialog.

I don't like it, can it be disabled?

#8 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 17 May 2013 - 18:27

I'm confused. The windows has focus when the file copy started right? Your complaint is that it isn't bringing the window back into focus on warnings?

#9 OP dumble

dumble

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 09

Posted 08 June 2013 - 10:01

I'm confused. The windows has focus when the file copy started right? Your complaint is that it isn't bringing the window back into focus on warnings?

Sorry for the late reply. It does not bring the window back in focus on warnings but also when you copy/cut and paste a file somewhere else. (sorry for my English, I am not native)
Example 1:
Copy a file (no sytem file or anything like that) (1GB) from C:/ to D:/. So as soon as I hit ctrl-v, the transfer window starts in the background.

Example 2:
Copy a file that is in use/ or maybe a .ini file or something like that. Warning window is supposed to start in focus, but it starts in the background.

Strange thing is that it happens sporadically..

#10 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 June 2013 - 14:43

Sporadically sounds like something else is stealing focus, which can be much harder to identify. Have you had the same issue with UAC prompts?

#11 OP dumble

dumble

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 09

Posted 12 June 2013 - 15:44

I disabled UAC

#12 OP dumble

dumble

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 09

Posted 13 June 2013 - 10:45

Here is an example screenshot. I tried to copy a new kernel.elf over the old kernel.elf. The warning message 'Replace or Skip Files' does not startup in focus. It goes in focus of my browser, but not the explorer window I try to paste it in.
Posted Image

#13 Starbuck84

Starbuck84

    Would You Kindly?

  • Joined: 26-June 07
  • Location: Breda, Netherlands

Posted 13 June 2013 - 10:52

+1. Very annoying and I thought it was just my install. "Glad" to see others having the same issue, and hopefully a fix will be available.

#14 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 13 June 2013 - 10:52

Is it just an issue with Chrome?

Edit: Sorry, think I got confused by what I was seeing there. What is that File Download thing, behind the Explorer window? Nothing to do with the problem?

#15 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:00

+1. Very annoying and I thought it was just my install. "Glad" to see others having the same issue, and hopefully a fix will be available.


Aye I have the same issue. Using File Explorer (windows explorer), when I copy and paste a file, the transfer window is behind the active window that I initiated the transfer with. It's usually not a problem as it does it thin and I can see the progress on the taskbar.... unless I need to confirm permissions, then it'll just wait forever until i tab to the dialog box.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!