Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 C++ Runtime Error on Advanced Startup/Restart

Answered Go to the full post win8

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64Ce Pro w/Media nter Pack/Core i7 4790K/16GB DDR3 1600/Samsung 850 Pro 256GB x 2 - Raid 0/Transcend M.2 256GB/ASRock Z97E-ITXac/GTX 970
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 23 March 2013 - 22:28

Posting to see if anyone else is experiencing this and has found a fix or workaround.

When doing an Advanced Restart/Startup by:

Selecting Advanced Restart in PC Settings>General or
Holding Shift Key while selecting Restart from the Charm Bar Power button

The system will not start in Advanced Startup mode and returns the following error before performing a normal restart:

Visual C++ Runtime Error

Error in LogonUI.exe

This application has requested the runtime terminate in an unusual way. Contact application support.

The advance restart worked after initially installing the OS. Now, many installed Win32 applications later, I find this error. This is the only time I encounter it. I don't want to uninstall all Win32 apps to see which one caused the issue if someone else has encountered this in Windows 8 and has a fix or workaround.

Any help appreciated.

Latest 2010 and 2012 Runtime Redists installed to no avail.

Best Answer PublicServiceDude , 08 April 2014 - 00:47

Sorry for resurrecting this thread but, I ran into the exact same error and found a fix! 

 

The fix for me was to uninstall CSR Wireless Stack (software for Bluetooth dongle supporting advanced/custom bluetooth audio protocol).

 

 

Go to the full post



#2 ZeroSeven

ZeroSeven

    NeoDevil

  • Joined: 23-July 02

Posted 25 March 2013 - 01:56

It would appear one of your apps has damaged or overwritten a VC++ runtime component. You could try reinstalling the VC++ runtime from Microsoft's web site, other than that Im not sure. This does demonstrate one of the many problems Microsoft is going to have to face up to sooner or later. Windows 8 and the WinRT runtime are a good step towards creating a more reliable platform free of the issues that plagued legacy Windows, such as the one you've faced. But because its still legacy win32 underneath it all, the problems will never really go away. Its the fact MS has to support legacy Windows that means the platform cannot really move forward, at least not to the extent they'd like it to.

#3 OP MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64Ce Pro w/Media nter Pack/Core i7 4790K/16GB DDR3 1600/Samsung 850 Pro 256GB x 2 - Raid 0/Transcend M.2 256GB/ASRock Z97E-ITXac/GTX 970
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 25 March 2013 - 14:43

It would appear one of your apps has damaged or overwritten a VC++ runtime component. You could try reinstalling the VC++ runtime from Microsoft's web site, other than that Im not sure. This does demonstrate one of the many problems Microsoft is going to have to face up to sooner or later. Windows 8 and the WinRT runtime are a good step towards creating a more reliable platform free of the issues that plagued legacy Windows, such as the one you've faced. But because its still legacy win32 underneath it all, the problems will never really go away. Its the fact MS has to support legacy Windows that means the platform cannot really move forward, at least not to the extent they'd like it to.


Thanks for the response, I reinstalled the runtimes to no avail. Luckily, doing an advanced restart is all that it affects and I don't "need" to do that. Just going to make sure I keep good Image backups.

#4 PublicServiceDude

PublicServiceDude

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-April 14

Posted 08 April 2014 - 00:47   Best Answer

Sorry for resurrecting this thread but, I ran into the exact same error and found a fix! 

 

The fix for me was to uninstall CSR Wireless Stack (software for Bluetooth dongle supporting advanced/custom bluetooth audio protocol).

 

 



#5 OP MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64Ce Pro w/Media nter Pack/Core i7 4790K/16GB DDR3 1600/Samsung 850 Pro 256GB x 2 - Raid 0/Transcend M.2 256GB/ASRock Z97E-ITXac/GTX 970
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 08 April 2014 - 02:46

Sorry for resurrecting this thread but, I ran into the exact same error and found a fix! 

 

The fix for me was to uninstall CSR Wireless Stack (software for Bluetooth dongle supporting advanced/custom bluetooth audio protocol).

 

Good deal. I received a new image since then, but I did have that Bluetooth stack. Good find.



#6 zhangm

zhangm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 08 April 2014 - 03:14

Sorry for resurrecting this thread but, I ran into the exact same error and found a fix! 
 
The fix for me was to uninstall CSR Wireless Stack (software for Bluetooth dongle supporting advanced/custom bluetooth audio protocol).


Welcome to Neowin. :)