Jump to content



Photo

Is It Safe? - 2 Surge Protector's On 1 Wall


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Sharpstick68

Sharpstick68

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-August 03

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:00

This might sound like a weird question, and if anyone is confused I'll take a picture to show you what I mean. But what I want to know is, is it safe to use 2 seperate surge protector's on 1 wall that has 2 outlet's?. I guess I should be asking an electrician this question but I don't know any I can talk too right now, so I figured maybe someone here at neowin would know. Thanks for the input!.



http://img713.images...30324125553.jpg


#2 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:06

Yes it is safe, what parts do you live in of the world? You might want to be careful on your load though I believe in the US its likes 20 or 30 amps

Hell you could cherry connect them as well and probably be safer, though I dont do that...

#3 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:10

I've been told to never daisychain power connectors, but in hindsight I guess that's probably because you're more likely to add more and more power drain and overload the socket.

#4 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:12

Its not a power drain, but a load which draws

#5 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:16

Sorry, meant load.

#6 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:19

Its fine it sounded like you knew what you were talking, just the jargon :p

#7 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:23

As long as you don't overload the outlet is allright

#8 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 24 March 2013 - 17:27

don't load it with too many raptor adaptors

#9 AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 24 March 2013 - 18:22

It's fine. As mentioned, they tell you not to daisy chain because you can overload the powerstrip. If you overload the outlet you'll just trip the breaker. For example, if you have a 6 outlet power strip, it's wiring is rated for 6 outlets, not 12 when you daisy chain another.

#10 tytytucke

tytytucke

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-December 10

Posted 24 March 2013 - 18:46

over load the outlet? you can overload a breaker just as easy on 2 different sockets with the same power if they are on the same breaker.
I have 4 surge protectors in one room But the outlets are on 2 different breakers so I don't trip a breaker. giving me extra wiggle room.
If your outlets/room is designed for more of a load (like a garage perhaps) you will have more wiggle room. It depends how much power you need and can use for that situation....


BTW those flat power cords are really great.

#11 ShareShiz

ShareShiz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 24 March 2013 - 19:06

Its totally fine.

I have 2 UPS's in one outlet (2 sockets).. and both UPS's have surge protectors added to it.

It just depends what is on at the time (how much power is being consumed), and how your place is wired (what load it can take).