Jump to content



Photo

Need advice on RDP

rdp

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 christb

christb

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-July 10
  • Location: Jakarta , Indonesia

Posted 24 March 2013 - 23:26

hi guys, i need an advice about RDP. in simple i need a solution where multiple user (10-20 users) from different location can control one PC/server at a single session and mirror the PC/server display to user's workstation/tablet To be more precise ,I mean if one user is working on a program , another user can also use the same program without affecting each others work. Any advice??

Thanks in advance.


#2 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 24 March 2013 - 23:31

Looks like you'll be writing a new operating system..

As far as I am aware, this isn't possible.

#3 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 24 March 2013 - 23:43

Google Terminal Server or Remote Apps

#4 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:04

Google Terminal Server or Remote Apps

Also xenapp server.

#5 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 25 March 2013 - 03:12

So the 20 users will connect to the same desktop and everyone will see the same thing, right? VNC w/ shared session.

#6 voovode

voovode

    Pwrd by

  • Joined: 22-March 09
  • Location: Greece, Ptolemaida
  • OS: Win8 / Debian

Posted 25 March 2013 - 18:25

So the 20 users will connect to the same desktop and everyone will see the same thing, right? VNC w/ shared session.


How can they connect to the same 'shared' desktop without

affecting each others work

??

Use Hyper-V if you're on Windows or VMWare services if it's easier.

#7 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 25 March 2013 - 18:31

I seem to have interpreted it differently to others >.<

I don't (with my interpretation of the requirements) think it's possible..

#8 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1

Posted 25 March 2013 - 18:35

you can run windows terminal server and get this working, we have a terminal server at work that we have about 8 or so people remote connected to all day long to run a single program because we only own one license for it.

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 25 March 2013 - 19:04

you can run windows terminal server and get this working, we have a terminal server at work that we have about 8 or so people remote connected to all day long to run a single program because we only own one license for it.

Not that I am the license police or anything of the sort, but that may be illegal depending on how your license reads. I know for office on a terminal services or xenapp environment, it needs to get licensed per user that connects (not concurrent user). Each user that connects is basically its own computer. If the user that is using it is terminated then that user cal is released for a new user. Just using office as an example here, but many other softwares follow suit.

#10 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 25 March 2013 - 19:22

Not that I am the license police or anything of the sort, but that may be illegal depending on how your license reads. I know for office on a terminal services or xenapp environment, it needs to get licensed per user that connects (not concurrent user). Each user that connects is basically its own computer. If the user that is using it is terminated then that user cal is released for a new user. Just using office as an example here, but many other softwares follow suit.

By default server 03 allows 2 concurrent RDP sessions unless you install terminal services and to install that you have to agree to the licensing that pops up so I'm sure they are abiding by it.

#11 +GreenMartian

GreenMartian

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 04
  • Location: adelaide, au

Posted 25 March 2013 - 19:23

... a single session and mirror the PC/server display

another user can also use the same program without affecting each others work.

I'm not sure I understand...
You want everyone logged in to the same session, yet controlling the same program without affecting each other?
What "program"?

#12 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 25 March 2013 - 19:27

^ That's how I took it too >.>

#13 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 25 March 2013 - 19:38

By default server 03 allows 2 concurrent RDP sessions unless you install terminal services and to install that you have to agree to the licensing that pops up so I'm sure they are abiding by it.


You not only have to agree to the licensing you also have to license it or in 45 days you will not be able to rdp from that remote computer to the server. But once terminal server is licensed properly, you will need to license your software properly according to the EULA you agree to but don't ever read.