Jump to content



Photo

Change Windows 8 appstore apps save location?

win8

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jaybot

Jaybot

    Enthusiast

  • Joined: 25-January 10
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 27 March 2013 - 20:50

Hi all!

I just built my first PC, and I am loving having the OS on my SSD drive.

However, my drive is only 256gb, and it's already down to 200gb from updates and all that. How do I change my save location of my apps to my other internal HD? I have 1TB of space that I would like to be able to use.

I am a new PC user, coming from my iMac, so I'm pretty new to all of this.

Thanks for the support!


#2 OP Jaybot

Jaybot

    Enthusiast

  • Joined: 25-January 10
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 27 March 2013 - 20:56

I also want to be able to have all future downloads save onto my secondary HD, and not my SSD. I want my SSD just for the OS.

#3 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 27 March 2013 - 20:56

Hi all!

I just built my first PC, and I am loving having the OS on my SSD drive.

However, my drive is only 256gb, and it's already down to 200gb from updates and all that. How do I change my save location of my apps to my other internal HD? I have 1TB of space that I would like to be able to use.

I am a new PC user, coming from my iMac, so I'm pretty new to all of this.

Thanks for the support!


You can use custom location for desktop apps.. but not Metro apps.. but maybe Windows Blue might have custom location.. We will see.

And if you download the apps or documents from the web, you can save them to your data drive.

#4 OP Jaybot

Jaybot

    Enthusiast

  • Joined: 25-January 10
  • Location: California
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 27 March 2013 - 22:12

Or that's lame... So I can't download metro apps from the app store to my internal hard drive?? If I would've known that, I would've gotten a bigger SSD..

#5 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 27 March 2013 - 22:19

Apps from the store are linked to your Microsoft Account and stored on ther cloud servers. If you reformat/reset your system, you can re-download the store apps again without paying again.

#6 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 28 March 2013 - 01:48

you CAN change the location. follow this tutorial.

http://www.askvg.com...n-in-windows-8/

if you come into problems,just ask here ill help you out.

#7 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 28 March 2013 - 01:54

Also, the Metro apps are pretty damned small. They should use much of your SSD.

If you find you have stuff you want to move from your SSD to your HDD, take a look at this command:

mklink /j <source> <destination>

It tells the NTFS system the files are saved somewhere else, essentially a symbolic link.

http://technet.micro...4(v=ws.10).aspx

Make sure you read the documentation before you play with it :)

#8 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 28 March 2013 - 02:51

you CAN change the location. follow this tutorial.

http://www.askvg.com...n-in-windows-8/

if you come into problems,just ask here ill help you out.


Ah, I didn't know about that.. Thanks for the info.

I will try it out when I get a chance. If I find a problem, I will let you know.

Thanks again.

#9 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:31

Ah, I didn't know about that.. Thanks for the info.

I will try it out when I get a chance. If I find a problem, I will let you know.

Thanks again.


np,good luck

#10 Ices_Eyes

Ices_Eyes

    Luca

  • Joined: 14-January 07
  • Location: Venice -IT-

Posted 14 June 2014 - 08:41

This method does no longer work on windows 8.1. I read that another method proposed was by using symlink between the folder in C:\Program files and another one you choice. Does someone know if this methods still works in 8.1 and/or if there is some different way to move your metro app from C to another drive? :)