Jump to content



Photo

Clean install of Windows 8 gives freeze screen

win8

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 28 March 2013 - 17:57

I have just installed Windows 8 Pro clean and when opening IE on the desktop it freezes. I have not installed anything yet. Only a reboot will make me continue for some time...

What can be the case here? Defect hardware, and if so... which part?


#2 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 28 March 2013 - 18:05

Hard Drive or Ram are the regular suspects. Freezing is usually hard drives as RAM usually (but not always) gives a BSOD.

#3 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 28 March 2013 - 18:07

Is there an easy way to check this?

#4 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 28 March 2013 - 18:10

memtest86+ to check the ram, and CrystalDiskInfo to check the HDD SMART status.

#5 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 28 March 2013 - 18:54

silly question...you said you installed clean...did you update your drivers or are you still on the default drivers win 8 found?

#6 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 28 March 2013 - 19:16

memtest86+ to check the ram, and CrystalDiskInfo to check the HDD SMART status.


The HDD smart status can still show all systems go even if there is a bad sector(s)

#7 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 28 March 2013 - 22:28

Looks like "issue" is solved for now... updated with drivers where possible from Asus etc plus I used compressors air to remove possible dust from memory sticks...

Keep y'all updated. Thx for the replies!

#8 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 29 March 2013 - 13:35

I guess the compressed air did its job so far.... no freezes yet :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!