Jump to content



Photo

Which UK ISP blocks websites with a message like this?

uk

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:39

Just moved into a rented property and we can't access the room with the router etc.

How can we determine what ISP we're on?

The attached image may help filter the options.

eb_tpbb-isp.png


#2 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:41

what if you used whats my ip, and go from there.

#3 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:42

what if you used whats my ip, and go from there.

Good idea :)

Found my IP and WHOIS'd it - it is TalkTalk.

#4 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 83
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:47

Just moved into a rented property and we can't access the room with the router etc.

How can we determine what ISP we're on?


That order has gone out to all the major ISPs btw. We've covered it here on Neowin: http://www.neowin.ne...llegal-websites

#5 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:48

That order has gone out to all the major ISPs btw. We've covered it here on Neowin: http://www.neowin.ne...llegal-websites


I know, I just used the image as I know each ISP has it's own page/image for blocked websites and I thought it would be a good way to filter who the ISP is :)

Shame it's TalkTalk... :rofl:

#6 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:03

I know, I just used the image as I know each ISP has it's own page/image for blocked websites and I thought it would be a good way to filter who the ISP is :)

Shame it's TalkTalk... :rofl:


here's a little tip (don't tell anyone, shhhhh :p ) ... download Opera web browser and turn on turbo.. you'll be able to access it then :)

#7 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 01 April 2013 - 12:46

You can also run a tracert from command to any site, example: tracert google.com

The first few IPs (After the router) are the ISPs servers which you can IP Trace too

#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 01 April 2013 - 13:59

"The first few IPs (After the router) are the ISPs servers which you can IP Trace too"

While I agree this is true - why would you not just look at the routers public IP ;) and then look that up to know what ISP your on?

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 30
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 01 April 2013 - 15:56

And how would you not know what service you are paying for to access the internet....

If I go to ipchicken.com it tells me what service I have, or at least what service owns my ip....

#10 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 01 April 2013 - 16:20

And how would you not know what service you are paying for to access the internet....

<snip>


It's a rented room in a House of Multiple Occupancy and as part of our rent, Wi-Fi is included.

To them (the letting agents), tenants usually don't care who the ISP is.

... but I do :p

#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 01 April 2013 - 16:23

^ this is also true ;) But I would also admit that some friends and family if working at their location might not be able to tell you who provides them internet.. Or maybe if at a inet cafe or hotspot, hotel, etc.

#12 Secular Humanist

Secular Humanist

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-June 09

Posted 01 April 2013 - 16:24

I know, I just used the image as I know each ISP has it's own page/image for blocked websites and I thought it would be a good way to filter who the ISP is :)

Shame it's TalkTalk... :rofl:

what is shameful about blocking piratebay?

#13 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 01 April 2013 - 16:25

"The first few IPs (After the router) are the ISPs servers which you can IP Trace too"

While I agree this is true - why would you not just look at the routers public IP ;) and then look that up to know what ISP your on?


When do tech-heads ever do anything the easy way lol


----
Another way: Don't pay the bill, the red letter that arrives should tell you who the ISP is :p

#14 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 01 April 2013 - 16:26

what is shameful about blocking piratebay?

No, I mean it's a shame our ISP is TalkTalk - I generally hear negative things about their service.

The The Pirate Bay (English fail?) issue isn't a problem, it's easy to circumvent :)

#15 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 01 April 2013 - 16:44

When do tech-heads ever do anything the easy way lol


----
Another way: Don't pay the bill, the red letter that arrives should tell you who the ISP is :p

Letting agent receives and pays the bills as part of our rent :)