Jump to content



Photo

Kotaku: Next Xbox will require online connection to start games


  • Please log in to reply
253 replies to this topic

#31 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:22

No he doesn't, and because he thinks the whole argument is stupid. The rumor is that you need Internet to star the game even, not always on which he talks about.


#32 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:37

No he doesn't, and because he thinks the whole argument is stupid. The rumor is that you need Internet to star the game even, not always on which he talks about.


What? The entire exchange started on the basis of the always-on for the next gen xbox. This was his position on it. And you are incorrect. The always-on and online to start games are both present in the rumour.

"If there isn't a connection, no games or apps can be started," the source continued. "If the connection is interrupted then after a period of time--currently three minutes, if I remember correctly--the game/app is suspended and the network troubleshooter started."



#33 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:43

It's gunna be the whole Sim City PR trouble again... I can feel it now!

yeah, i can already envision Microsoft preparing the spammers, and briefing Microsoft Patrol Squad with praise materials, and strategy to bash anyone who opposes it.

#34 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:53

What? The entire exchange started on the basis of the always-on for the next gen xbox. This was his position on it. And you are incorrect. The always-on and online to start games are both present in the rumour.


It's part of the rumor but "always on" isn't the same as "always connected". They're two different things said together but aren't the same. My tablet is always on, even when I turn the screen off. My smartphone, my tv when it's in standby mode and so on. He's right in saying lot's of things are "always on". He never touched on the "always connected" part, instead he was talking about power state.

#35 Luc2k

Luc2k

    joO 4R3 73H L337!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:02

It's part of the rumor but "always on" isn't the same as "always connected". They're two different things said together but aren't the same. My tablet is always on, even when I turn the screen off. My smartphone, my tv when it's in standby mode and so on. He's right in saying lot's of things are "always on". He never touched on the "always connected" part, instead he was talking about power state.


So going with this flawed thinking, does that mean that once you plug the xbox in you can NEVER turn it off? If by any chance power fails, does that mean you have a useless piece of plastic FOREVER? Nobody can be this thick, surely..

#36 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:02

well, EPA will have thing to say about the new XBOX then.

#37 dead.cell

dead.cell

    My Body My Temple

  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • OS: Win 7 Pro / Win 8 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:08

It's part of the rumor but "always on" isn't the same as "always connected". They're two different things said together but aren't the same. My tablet is always on, even when I turn the screen off. My smartphone, my tv when it's in standby mode and so on. He's right in saying lot's of things are "always on". He never touched on the "always connected" part, instead he was talking about power state.


If there's going to be THIS much confusion over the stupid terminology, you'd think the creative director wouldn't be a total dick about it. Regardless of what he means and whatever the outcome may be for "always on" or "always connected", there's no doubt in my mind that he's only digging himself and Microsoft a hole. This is exactly why I was saying someone at Microsoft needs to address this formally, before the confusion becomes popular belief and people start turning their backs on them as customers.

Considering Microsoft has had issues in the past with "Vista Capable" and "Vista Ready" or whatever, you think they would avoid mixing this crap up...

#38 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:12

What? The entire exchange started on the basis of the always-on for the next gen xbox. This was his position on it. And you are incorrect. The always-on and online to start games are both present in the rumour.


Read the article in the OP again. the rumor is that online is required to start the game, but after that you can disconnect internet and play just fine. this is how the durango dev kits reportedly works. and is most likely a dev kit security measure.

#39 @Leo

@Leo

    Under Derp Patrol

  • Joined: 06-June 10
  • Location: /dev/null
  • OS: OS X 10.8.2; Windows 8 Enterprise
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:17

To all the morons here that see it as "no biggie", especially the retards with the Xbox Live avatards and signaturds, pop your heads out of your ass for a second and think a little bigger than your simpleton "I have a stable connection and I'm rich so no worries" approach and think what happens in 20 years when you want to replay your favorite game but MS has shut down the servers because there are already 3 generations of console ahead. Are you seriously that thick in the head? :rolleyes:

Oh wait, why would you want to do that anyway? I see the error of my logic. Who would want to replay the "classics" such Gears of War clone 128731289379 or Halo or Call a Doody 1239871203896712089376120938671293867? :rolleyes:

**** you. **** you and **** your entire "gaming" generation. You are a shame for humanity.

#40 +Chicane-UK

Chicane-UK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: The UK!
  • OS: MacOS 10.10 Yosemite
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:29

These were the comments by the Microsoft Creative Director:

http://imgur.com/fulDo2f

http://i.imgur.com/keFHbXC.png

Seriously - unbelievable.

Personally I think this is a terrible decision and I can't believe Microsoft were stupid enough to go down this route. Actually... no.... I can.

#41 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:31

Update: Pennywise also discovered a pretty distinct developer leaving a highly implicit post on the matter:

"Given that legally I cannot confirm or deny if this information is true, nor can I comment on rumor or speculation, all I can say is be sure to pay your ISP bills Posted Image."

This is the developer:


http://www.xboxlives...profile/Mr-Lake

http://www.mobygames....operId,126367/

This guy.
http://www.linkedin..../nickmohilchock

Working here :
http://www.theworksh...s.com/about.php



#42 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:42

To all the morons here that see it as "no biggie", especially the retards with the Xbox Live avatards and signaturds, pop your heads out of your ass for a second and think a little bigger than your simpleton "I have a stable connection and I'm rich so no worries" approach and think what happens in 20 years when you want to replay your favorite game but MS has shut down the servers because there are already 3 generations of console ahead. Are you seriously that thick in the head? :rolleyes:

Oh wait, why would you want to do that anyway? I see the error of my logic. Who would want to replay the "classics" such Gears of War clone 128731289379 or Halo or Call a Doody 1239871203896712089376120938671293867? :rolleyes:

**** you. **** you and **** your entire "gaming" generation. You are a shame for humanity.


and are you unable to give argument like a grown up.


Firstly this is a rumor that's spawned from security measures on the pre release durango DEV KITS. secondly if this is true it's because MS will treat these games as steam games, and if this is the way they go, it will run off the Live service and servers which will remain the same in future generations. and after the console lifecycle they could push a update to the console that disables online check to play the games,

These were the comments by the Microsoft Creative Director:

http://imgur.com/fulDo2f

http://i.imgur.com/keFHbXC.png

Seriously - unbelievable.

Personally I think this is a terrible decision and I can't believe Microsoft were stupid enough to go down this route. Actually... no.... I can.


is that the twitter exchange that has NOTHING to do with this durango dev kit based rumor about needing to be online to start games on the durango prototype dev kit. :facepalm:

#43 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:43

Read the article in the OP again. the rumor is that online is required to start the game, but after that you can disconnect internet and play just fine. this is how the durango dev kits reportedly works. and is most likely a dev kit security measure.

No the rumour is that you need to be online to start the game AND continue to play it, if you lose connection after 3 minutes the game will be suspended and a network troubleshooter will start, that doesn't sound like devkit functionality to me, why would a devkit pause a game and start network troubleshooter.

If this is true its going to be hilarious on nextbox launch day, people not able to play their £300+ console with Sim City style outages.

#44 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:44

and are you unable to give argument like a grown up.


Firstly this is a rumor that's spawned from security measures on the pre release durango DEV KITS. secondly if this is true it's because MS will treat these games as steam games, and if this is the way they go, it will run off the Live service and servers which will remain the same in future generations. and after the console lifecycle they could push a update to the console that disables online check to play the games,


Now you're just pulling **** out of your ass. There is no possible way you can know this. You are now merely resorting to making excuses for Microsoft.

So far 3 developers have confirmed it, another is a bit ambiguous for obvious reasons and the Microsoft director is being a dick about the whole issue. The signs are there.

ANYWAY; The problem is not only "If my Internet connection is down" or "If the ISP is down" but rather like with the case of EA; what if the servers are getting hammered or down. Will I have to wait 30 minutes in line to play?

We now have 3 things that can go wrong. My connection, the ISP and Microsoft's servers. If ANY one of these goes down I can not play my single player game.

#45 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:45

because dev kits have far higher security than anything else, especially pre-launch, and by requiring it to always be online, MS can always make sure the right people have them and they're not being modified.

Sounds exactly like dev kit functionality to me. but then again, I've also numerous times explained why and how this could also be a fucntion on the final and why this could actually be an advantage..