Jump to content



Photo
uk bt fibre broadband fttc fttp

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#16 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • 1,808 posts
  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 07 April 2013 - 17:31

Does anyone know if NTL Virgin Media is FTTP or FTTC?


Virgin Media's network is made up of at least 3 different types of existing cable networks (as well as a DSL overlay across the UK) that merged over the years when Virgin Media took over (or rather, rebranded).
For cable connections, they should all be FTTC now for residential and small most business locations.

Then from the Cab, for each property, it's <100meters with their own dedicated coaxial cable. Both TV and broadband services are then split (if needed) off the cable. Telephone comes in via its own line.

For anyone willing to pay for a business location. You can have a dedicated fiber line up to 1Gbit asymmetric, but that's a whole different story.


#17 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 12,648 posts
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 07 April 2013 - 17:41

Virgin's FTTC currently offers 120mbit, and they're trialling 240mbit. Those installation costs seem a little ridiculous considering the competition.

#18 coth

coth

    Neowinian

  • 1,307 posts
  • Joined: 15-November 04
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Posted 09 April 2013 - 18:33

I have Infinity and I couldn't be happier.

Posted Image

Sorry for you :)

I got 100mbit FTTB unlim with no caps. Cost me 1130 rub per month. That's about $36 USD. But adjusting to average incomes it would be around $170-200. Getting for that 360 mobile minutes, 3000 SMS, unlimited mobile data with 2GB cap for unlimited speed and 64kbit above cap and 100mbit unlimited FTTB connection with no caps.
Posted Image




#19 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 09 April 2013 - 18:37

I`ll stick with my FTTC thanks, I think 32GB per hour is sufficient

#20 Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • 4,012 posts
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android L
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 April 2013 - 18:42

Sorry for you :)

I got 100mbit FTTB unlim with no caps. Cost me 1130 rub per month. That's about $36 USD. But adjusting to average incomes it would be around $170-200. Getting for that 360 mobile minutes, 3000 SMS, unlimited mobile data with 2GB cap for unlimited speed and 64kbit above cap and 100mbit unlimited FTTB connection with no caps.
Posted Image


Posted Image

:p I came from this:

Posted Image

Believe me when I say I couldn't be happier :D

#21 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,705 posts
  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 09 April 2013 - 18:48

the problem is the fibre wouldn't be going to the green cabinet, it will be going to a box further away so it is impossible for us to know how much it would cost. Ispreview.co.uk has some good info on this. Hopefully bt will have a postcode checker to give us an estimate, i'm pretty sure an engineer would have to come over to give a more accurate estimate though.

#22 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • 6,083 posts
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 09 April 2013 - 20:54

:p I came from this:

Posted Image

Believe me when I say I couldn't be happier :D


Wait... you got more upload than download? :wacko:

#23 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 09 April 2013 - 21:08

Wait... you got more upload than download? :wacko:


I've seen that quite a lot with Virgin, not with BT though

#24 Biohead

Biohead

    Neowinian

  • 647 posts
  • Joined: 20-November 05
  • Location: Heathrow, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 April 2013 - 21:10

Virgin's FTTC currently offers 120mbit, and they're trialling 240mbit. Those installation costs seem a little ridiculous considering the competition.


BT (Openreach)'s FTTP is fibre all the way into the building. Virgin's offering still has bog standard coax cable the last few hundred meters or so. Quite a difference, and a lot more work involved - hence the cost. And the fact that Virgin has a much smaller footprint - many areas will never get "cable".

As it stands, the potential for BT's FTTP will be much greater than anything Virgin will be able to offer down coax. 330mbps is just the starting product - much like how when Infinity/FTTC launched it started at 40mb, and has since doubled to 80mb. A pure fibre connection has much more potential than a coax, which itself is much better than good ol' twisted pair the rest of BT's network has to endure.

#25 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 09 April 2013 - 21:14

As nice as the speeds that FTTP would offer would be, I don't think I could make use of them at all, apart from the odd download, even with BTs FTTC I only get full speeds on around 30-50% of downloads

#26 OP Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • 5,450 posts
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 09 April 2013 - 21:15

Sorry for you :)


Leave Jan alone!!

#27 Nilus

Nilus

    Neowinian

  • 244 posts
  • Joined: 09-March 13
  • Location: England

Posted 09 April 2013 - 21:16

The FTTP pricing is fair for the work involved. Also bear in mind that this is primarily aimed at business or the small number of extreme users, this is by far and away not a consumer-orientated offering.

I've recently gone from 2mb adsl to 40mb fibre (and getting the full 40mb out of the package) and can't see me needing more for a long while yet.