Jump to content



Photo

Is this power supply enough?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 harjeet

harjeet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 07 April 2013 - 17:42

Would a generic 250W power supply be enough to run the following?

Gateway
i5 650
3 x 2GB DDR3 1333Mhz
1TB SATA HDD
GTS 450 1GB
Card Reader
Firewire PCI card

I'm asking because I was running the same power supply in an HP with and Athlon II X4 635, with the same GPU, but used 4GB of DDR2 memory, and I never experienced any issues. I just want some opinions on whether or not I should go ahead with this, at the moment I don't see any problems as a similar setup was working before.

Thanks!


#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 07 April 2013 - 17:52

No, you need at least 450 for that

#3 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 07 April 2013 - 18:00

I would go for at least 400-450W if you want to be comfortable with that.

#4 OP harjeet

harjeet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 07 April 2013 - 18:56

Really? It was working fine with: Athlon II X4 635, 2x2GB DDR2, 7200RPM HDD, GTS 450 1GB, Card Reader and Wireless PCI card. :s

#5 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 07 April 2013 - 18:58

It's a wonder of nature that your generic PSU is still ticking.

That said, the maximum possible power requirement of this system (calculated using TDP of all components + a certain reserve) is about 230W; and not likely to be reached, unless the system is being stress tested. That's why it was running fine thus far.

So 300 to 400W is well over enough and within the middle of the usual efficiency curves. Not that it's any crime to go crazy in these cases and stimulate the industry with your hard-earned money, but still - do choose a high-quality PSU that is just enough rather than an oversized box of crap.

#6 OP harjeet

harjeet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 07 April 2013 - 19:13

It's a wonder of nature that your generic PSU is still ticking.

That said, the maximum possible power requirement of this system (calculated using TDP of all components + a certain reserve) is about 230W; and not likely to be reached, unless the system is being stress tested. That's why it was running fine thus far.

So 300 to 400W is well over enough and within the middle of the usual efficiency curves. Not that it's any crime to go crazy in these cases and stimulate the industry with your hard-earned money, but still - do choose a high-quality PSU that is just enough rather than an oversized box of crap.


Thanks for that! Haha, yeah I never really thought about it until I recently upgraded to a GTX 560 which required a new power supply.
Can you kindly point me to what you used to calculate the power requirement?

#7 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 07 April 2013 - 19:54

TDP. Which stands is "thermal design power". TDP is *not* power consumption. It's the maximum thermal power a certain device is designed to dissipate without limiting itself in some way or overheating. It's usually measured at real-life maximum loads rather than absolute peak. Which is why I add 10% and say you'd simply never reach it in practice. TDP values for most components are available from manufacturers' websites. Also, a healthy assumption is made that, for example, an addon card with a small single-function chip would never eat as much as a whole chipset that does a ton of things.

In short, it's mostly numbers off Google and out of my a**. The only actually accurate method is a watt-meter - a device between the PSU and the wall socket. Value shown by this device is then multiplied by PSU efficiency to get the actual power consumption of the whole system.

Or, perhaps, this white paper explains it better than I can:
http://www.intel.com...power-paper.pdf
(it's about CPUs, but all electronic devices are similar in this regard)

#8 OP harjeet

harjeet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 07 April 2013 - 20:15

Ah. That makes sense. Thanks for the help! I'll give this a shot in a week or two and see what happens.

#9 bgjerlow

bgjerlow

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-July 11
  • Location: Denmark
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung ATIV S

Posted 07 April 2013 - 23:06

Get at least a 500w PSU. I would recommend the Cooler Master GX 550w :)

#10 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 07 April 2013 - 23:43

I thought Cooler Master was frowned upon. No? I think Corsair or Antec would be better for you.

#11 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 07 April 2013 - 23:46

why would cool master be frowned upon? from all the reviews I've read from some of their more recent PSUs I'm seeing nothing but positive feedback aside for the occasional person who got a DOA one (which can happen with any product/brand)

#12 bgjerlow

bgjerlow

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-July 11
  • Location: Denmark
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung ATIV S

Posted 07 April 2013 - 23:48

I thought Cooler Master was frowned upon. No? I think Corsair or Antec would be better for you.

I had a Corsair PSU not so long ago, ended up blowing up some of my house fuses and breaking within a month. The Cooler Master I bought recently is excellent. It's running very well indeed.

#13 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 07 April 2013 - 23:54

why would cool master be frowned upon? from all the reviews I've read from some of their more recent PSUs I'm seeing nothing but positive feedback aside for the occasional person who got a DOA one (which can happen with any product/brand)


Just what I got from another forum, I guess.

I had a Corsair PSU not so long ago, ended up blowing up some of my house fuses and breaking within a month. The Cooler Master I bought recently is excellent. It's running very well indeed.


I had the opposite effect. My CoolerMaster I had died like within a month. My Corsair TX650, I had for years now. It could be the effect that I got a "cheap" one.

From what I understand, the Builder series (CX) of Corsairs are considered to be lower powered than the TX/HX

#14 OP harjeet

harjeet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-April 10

Posted 08 April 2013 - 02:35

Thanks for all the help everyone, if you guys really want to continue this debate, I can make another thread for you guys. :D :p

#15 adrynalyne

adrynalyne

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 29-November 09

Posted 08 April 2013 - 02:55

Just what I got from another forum, I guess.



I had the opposite effect. My CoolerMaster I had died like within a month. My Corsair TX650, I had for years now. It could be the effect that I got a "cheap" one.

From what I understand, the Builder series (CX) of Corsairs are considered to be lower powered than the TX/HX


The TX650 is a good PSU. Nothing but good things to say about mine.