Jump to content



Photo

HTC 8X sim invalid or missing

imadumbass windows phone 8 htc 8x

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:03

So I got a HTC 8X with my shiny new two year business contract at a new provider in December, sim lock free. The contract with the new provider didn't start until April (a week ago) but seeing as it was unlocked, I put my Vodafone sim in and was able to use it from December.

So all set up and good, one evening the phone was on the bar at my local and as I turned around back to to face the bar, my elbow hit the phone which was lying on the bar, and it slid into the sink full of water (for cleaning beer glasses) which was opposite from where I was sitting, the bar man was quick to get it out (seconds!) and the phone showed critical low battery (it was fully charged). I turned it off and put it in my pocket.

Left it to dry overnight and tried it again in the morning and it worked!

Anyway long story short, the exterior got damaged (on its own, started peeling) so I took it into the shop in February with that complaint, and it was sent back by HTC as "rejected" because they saw it had water damage. I was advised to try again when my contract came into effect (last week) so I did that, and was told by my new provider that it doesn't fall under the insurance because it happened before the contract came into effect. :/

So now I'm left with a bricked phone. I've looked around the Internet for the same kind of complaint, and one was to put scotch tape on the back of the sim to make it sit tighter. I've tried that with multiple layers with no effect.

To clarify, the phone worked fine with the old sim until I stopped using it (in February) this is well over a month after the water damage, it still works: I can set it up and do everything, reset it, update it, use wifi, install apps and all that jazz but it won't see the SIM. I have two sims (dual sim contract) and they both work fine in my older iPhone 4.

Are there any other tricks I can try and if the worst comes to it, how much do you think it would cost to repair out of warranty?


I've also sent an email to my new provider (KPN in The Netherlands) but I don't expect an answer for a few days.


#2 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 8X

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:17

I also get that message of Sim card invalid or missing, it's a known bug, they were supposed to have fixed in in the last update, but it looks like it wasn't, there's are threads on internet forums about this, mine does it every now and then, what I do when it happens is just reboot the phone and then it works, now being that yours got water, I'm not sure you get that message because of the known bug, I think these phones are just very picky about the sim card you can put on them.

#3 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:27

I also get that message of Sim card invalid or missing, it's a known bug, they were supposed to have fixed in in the last update, but it looks like it wasn't, there's are threads on internet forums about this, mine does it every now and then, what I do when it happens is just reboot the phone and then it works, now being that yours got water, I'm not sure you get that message because of the known bug, I think these phones are just very picky about the sim card you can put on them.


Yeah I read about that. I get the message with and without the most recent update. What bugs me is that it worked with the old sim.. which I still have (although it's now deactivated of course) even that sim isn't recognised anymore when I tried it, because I have two sims with this provider I doubt a replacement sim will work.

#4 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 12 April 2013 - 12:51

Yeah I read about that. I get the message with and without the most recent update. What bugs me is that it worked with the old sim.. which I still have (although it's now deactivated of course) even that sim isn't recognised anymore when I tried it, because I have two sims with this provider I doubt a replacement sim will work.

I would try a new SIM card just in case it would work. They're not expensive and it would rule out the SIM card (even though it works with your iPhone).

#5 Muessig

Muessig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-August 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 18 April 2013 - 02:11

Might be worth checking over at WPCentral forums to see if anyone else has a solution?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!