Jump to content



Photo

Anyone here with an AMD A10-5800k and dual graphics?

amd dual-graphics crossfire

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 RottGutt

RottGutt

    I'm a geek. Deal with it.

  • Joined: 21-November 01
  • Location: Colorado
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3/10.10, iOS 7, DSM 5.0

Posted 11 April 2013 - 15:24

Hello Neowinians,

I built a new rig about a month ago, and have been VERY pleased with it's performance. Here are the main specs:

- AMD A10-5800k Trinity 3.8GHz (4.2 GHz Turbo) Socket FM2 100W Quad-Core CPU
- MSI FM2-A85XA-G65 ATX AMD Mobo
- 8GB (2x4GB) G.SKILL Sniper Series DDR3 1866 (PC3-14900) RAM
- Intel 520 Series Cherryville 120GB SATA III SSD

The OS and gaming performance are very good, and the WEI index was pretty good as well:

Posted Image

When I was going through reviews of the AMD A10, I realized I could pair it with a second graphics card and get an 80% improvement, so I bought a top-rated video card of the chipset suggested by AMD for the AMD A10-5800k, which was this one:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814161408

It arrived last night and I got it installed, drivers installed/updated, BIOS set correctly for dual-graphics, and then ran the WEI again. Unfortunately, this is what I got:

Posted Image

So I am just very confused as to why my score would drop so dramatically with a secondary video card installed, especially when my performance was supposed to go up 80%. Has anyone else here run into the same issue? Is it normal for the WEI score to drop instead of go up? I was expecting so much more after installing the second card, especially with the "Gaming Graphics" score, but at this rate I wonder if I should abandon the "dual-graphics" option with this system.

Your thoughts are very welcome right now!

Tim


#2 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 11 April 2013 - 15:41

It may be because on such configurations the APU tends to lower frequencies of its GPU, to have a more eficient and less watt hungry PC, that only happens on the desktop not on games, to configure how cards must be used you must select "configure switchable graphics" with the catalyst control center.

#3 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 11 April 2013 - 15:47

no serious gamer takes notice of windows' performance benchmark!

#4 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 11 April 2013 - 15:55

speaking of which, this is what your crossfire can do...

#5 OP RottGutt

RottGutt

    I'm a geek. Deal with it.

  • Joined: 21-November 01
  • Location: Colorado
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3/10.10, iOS 7, DSM 5.0

Posted 11 April 2013 - 16:03

Thanks for the replies, all. Maybe I should do some Gaming benchmarking with the new card and without. I guess that would paint a much different picture. Any suggestion on what program to use for the benchmarking?

Tim

#6 OP RottGutt

RottGutt

    I'm a geek. Deal with it.

  • Joined: 21-November 01
  • Location: Colorado
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3/10.10, iOS 7, DSM 5.0

Posted 11 April 2013 - 23:00

Well, I downloaded and ran 3DMark Basic with both setups, and these are the results:

With the secondary video card and system in Crossfire mode:

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/809/3dmarkdualgraphics.jpg/]Posted Image

And with ONLY the AMD A10 APU:

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/809/3dmarkapuonly.jpg/]Posted Image

Either there is something seriously wrong with my setup, which seems very unlikely, or AMD's claims of an 80% increase in graphics power is a lie. This is why I was asking if there was anyone else here with an A10 running dual-graphics. I need to know if my results are typical. As it stands right now, I am about to box the card up and send it back for a refund.

Tim

#7 von kain

von kain

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-August 09
  • OS: windows 7

Posted 11 April 2013 - 23:10

windows just use one card for it. what amd said is valid from my experience. use the gpu-z and post the results.


p.s. what driver have you install?

#8 Silver47

Silver47

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-October 10

Posted 11 April 2013 - 23:49

http://www.anandtech...a83850-review/6

Here's a review of Llanos AXFire, works well when it works.

#9 OP RottGutt

RottGutt

    I'm a geek. Deal with it.

  • Joined: 21-November 01
  • Location: Colorado
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3/10.10, iOS 7, DSM 5.0

Posted 12 April 2013 - 00:38

Here are my GPU-Z results:

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I am using the latest v13.1 drivers for both cards.

Tim

#10 von kain

von kain

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-August 09
  • OS: windows 7

Posted 12 April 2013 - 22:41

msi say that the dual graphics works best with Support AMD Radeon HD 7670 / 7570 / 7470 graphics card it might not work at its finest with your 6670

there is somethings i really find odd.For once the installed driver seems older. the bandwidth is low the pci-e is seems x8 which seems wrong.

what is your experience whith bios setup(now named uefi)? can you set the pcix16?

install driver from game.amd.com (the opencl is not checked this seems strange the driver whas from the windows update?).

#11 MrWhistler

MrWhistler

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-June 02

Posted 12 April 2013 - 22:59

hmm, might be because you bought the 6670 DDR3 version? I have the 6670 DDR5 version, this is my info

Posted Image

#12 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 12 April 2013 - 23:35

What size/make/model power supply are you running?