Jump to content



Photo

>4GB ram in win x86 possible?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
87 replies to this topic

#61 Kaze23

Kaze23

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Calgary, AB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 w/Update 1
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:00

Windows XP x64 is a very nice OS.


What?

To the OP: Can't use more than 4GB RAM with a 32-bit OS. If you want to use more, you'll have to dump that dinosaur of an OS you seem hell bent on using.


#62 pickypg

pickypg

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-January 10

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:03

The amount of data doesn't affect the speed at which a smaller amount of data goes through it. It's pretty close to the same. It does depend on the processor arch and there is a tiny translation penalty for 32 bit apps.

But, any 64-bit data can now fit in a register. Unmentioned, but 64-bit processors also tend to have more registers as well.

#63 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:05

What?

Can't use more than 4GB RAM with a 32-bit OS. If you want to use more, you'll have to dump that dinosaur of an OS you seem hell bent on using.

You missed the part where he said x64.. You know.. Being capable of more than 4GB of addressable memory O.o

#64 Kaze23

Kaze23

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Calgary, AB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 w/Update 1
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:08

You missed the part where he said x64.. You know.. Being capable of more than 4GB of addressable memory O.o


No I didn't. I was surprised that anyone would say that XP x64 was a good OS. The comment below "What?" was to the OP. Will edit.

#65 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:24

Ahh, I see. Proceed unmolested sir :p

#66 Panda X

Panda X

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:41

No I didn't. I was surprised that anyone would say that XP x64 was a good OS. The comment below "What?" was to the OP. Will edit.


Windows XP Professional x64 Edition (XP x64) isn't bad at all. Windows XP 64-bit Edition (XP 64-bit) on the other hand had isn't all that good because it wasn't supported well.

#67 AndyMutz

AndyMutz

    Cmd. Bren McGuire

  • Joined: 14-November 04
  • Location: Earth

Posted 13 April 2013 - 07:24

there are kernel hacks floating around, which enable PAE support in xp/vista/7 x86, but as others said, PAE has been disabled for a reason in the consumer editions of windows.
although the hacks do work, it's not advisable to use them, if you want to use the pc for multimedia/gaming stuff, because it's very likely you will run into incompatible drivers.

-andy-

#68 +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 13 April 2013 - 10:50

It's almost like all his knowledge of computer and OS stopped at 2005. Welcome to 2013. Why are you hell bend on keeping Windows XP? What's SO good about XP that keeps you from upgrading to Win7 x64?

#69 OP slumdogtrillionaire

slumdogtrillionaire

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-September 09

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:03

It's almost like all his knowledge of computer and OS stopped at 2005. Welcome to 2013. Why are you hell bend on keeping Windows XP? What's SO good about XP that keeps you from upgrading to Win7 x64?


high standards and unwillingness to compromise... if i have to drop the standards might as well move to win8 x64. and yes im already triple booting these 3OSes so there is no question of being stuck in 2005.

btw where did you pull out the year 2005 from?

#70 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:07

Running Windows XP in 2013 == high standards? No. Just no.

#71 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:14

dated is still faster if you use a web browser other than ie.... which i suppose everyone does ALL the time.



im looking for hacks mainly.


Then read that article. It tells you how to enable it by editing your boot.ini file.

EDIT: Whoops, this one does: http://msdn.microsof...8(v=vs.85).aspx

2005 about is when the XP kernel and GDI was deprecated and Longhorn development was underway, I think.

#72 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:22

Windows XP Professional x64 Edition (XP x64) isn't bad at all. Windows XP 64-bit Edition (XP 64-bit) on the other hand had isn't all that good because it wasn't supported well.

Well one of those is for Itanium processors, there's probably nobody who uses those aside in certain very, very specific server environments.

#73 siah1214

siah1214

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-April 12

Posted 13 April 2013 - 14:51

It's almost like all his knowledge of computer and OS stopped at 2005. Welcome to 2013. Why are you hell bend on keeping Windows XP? What's SO good about XP that keeps you from upgrading to Win7 x64?

He's one of the reasons why after 12 years, XP still has ~40% market share. The scary thing is that there are many, many systems admins that think like this, and mistake their own stubbornness, and unwillingness to adapt, as maintaining high standards.

#74 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 13 April 2013 - 14:53

More to the point, there are lots of people with not very much money >.<

Enabling PAE on XP will only enable access to 4GB of RAM >.>

#75 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 13 April 2013 - 15:15

Just installed Windows 2.0. The 2.0 refers to the 2GB RAM it supports!

high standards


Doing it wrong. For more respect, install Windows 2000.