Jump to content



Photo

ESXi issue! VMK


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 12 April 2013 - 14:17

hi! I m having trouble with my ESXi every time i try and view a virtual machine console it keeps coming up with saying there is an issue with the MKS*** and cannot connect via the IP:port ... I am tried editing the host file but nothing seems to be happening I dont know how to fix this :/


MKS**************** sorry i meant MKS************


#2 1ON

1ON

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 12
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 820

Posted 12 April 2013 - 14:26

To resolve this issue, remove the environment variable from the vSphere Client machine or vCenter Server: 1.Click Start > Run, type sysdm.cpl, and press Enter. The System Properties window opens.
2.Click the Advanced tab.
3.Click Environment Variables.
4.Remove any user variable and/or system variable named User.
5.Reboot Windows and launch the vSphere Client.
6.Verify that the vSphere Client virtual machine console now functions normally.


Alternative Resolution
1.Close all vSphere Client sessions.
2.Open Task Manager.
3.Search for any vmware-vmrc.exe processes and end the process.
4.Start the vSphere Client and connect to the host directly or to vCenter Server.
5.Attempt to access the MKS console.

You should be able to view the virtual machine and perform actions on the virtual machine using the keyboard and mouse.


#3 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 12 April 2013 - 14:45

To resolve this issue, remove the environment variable from the vSphere Client machine or vCenter Server: 1.Click Start > Run, type sysdm.cpl, and press Enter. The System Properties window opens.
2.Click the Advanced tab.
3.Click Environment Variables.
4.Remove any user variable and/or system variable named User.
5.Reboot Windows and launch the vSphere Client.
6.Verify that the vSphere Client virtual machine console now functions normally.


Alternative Resolution
1.Close all vSphere Client sessions.
2.Open Task Manager.
3.Search for any vmware-vmrc.exe processes and end the process.
4.Start the vSphere Client and connect to the host directly or to vCenter Server.
5.Attempt to access the MKS console.

You should be able to view the virtual machine and perform actions on the virtual machine using the keyboard and mouse.


no none of this solutions worked sorry :/

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 12 April 2013 - 15:52

So - some details of your setup would be helpful. Are you running vcenter, or just vclient directly connecting to the host?

Could you post the exact error your getting.

#5 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 12 April 2013 - 15:56

So - some details of your setup would be helpful. Are you running vcenter, or just vclient directly connecting to the host?

Could you post the exact error your getting.


i got it working but from another machine ...using vsphere

#6 Nilus

Nilus

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 13
  • Location: England

Posted 12 April 2013 - 16:07

Was this error on a windows 8 machine? if so, it's because the vclient uses an IE plugin for the console which isn't compatible with IE10. VMware won't fix the problem because they say we should all be using the web app now (from v5.1 anyway).

#7 briangw

briangw

    The best damn band in the land!!!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-October 01
  • Location: Warren, MN
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Ubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 12 April 2013 - 16:24

Are you trying to use a newer version of a OS while you have an older version of ESXi? I remember that issues with an older version of 5 that could not support Windows 8 via the console screen.

#8 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    Systems Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7/8, Kali, ubuntu, OSx 10.9
  • Phone: Android

Posted 12 April 2013 - 16:40

So - some details of your setup would be helpful. Are you running vcenter, or just vclient directly connecting to the host?

Could you post the exact error your getting.


bud man you seem to be a network guru .... we just set up a inter vlan route ... everything can ping everything ...but my ESXi vm ubuntu can only ping things on the same vlan.... any ideas why ??

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 12 April 2013 - 18:02

you don't have a gateway or correct gateway (check mask) setup would be the first thing to check if can only ping stuff on same segment. Verify mac for gateway is correct, if another box is stepping on your gateway IP your going to have a bad day ;)

Can you ping the gateway? If not then why not?

Do you have intervlan acls setup? I firewall between my segments, so if you don't allow the correct stuff between vlans that you need, again your going to have a bad day ;)