Jump to content



Photo

How to reset a forgotten Windows 8 account password


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 26,767 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 12 April 2013 - 15:21

How to reset a forgotten Windows 8 account password

If you buy a computer or are working a computer with windows 8 you might find it harder to do simple tasks because of the UEFI. Today I got a computer in my office where all off the sudden he could not log onto his Windows 8 account, he must have somehow changed the windows 8 logon password and had no idea what the new password was.

Because of the UEFI bios, a lot of the bootable utilities I would use to reset the password couldn’t see the hard drive, including bartpe. The bios also had very little settings.

Upon looking online there was a neat little password reset hack for Windows 8
  • Boot off a Windows 8 DVD / USB
  • Select Repair Your Computer
Posted Image

Select Troubleshoot – refresh or reset your pc or use advanced tools

Posted Image

Select Advanced options

Posted Image

Select command prompt

Posted Image

Once the command prompt appears navigate to the c:\windows\system32

Posted Image
  • Rename utilman.exe to anything else (ren utilman.exe utilman2.exe)
  • Rename cmd.exe to utilman.exe (ren cmd.exe utilman.exe)
  • Now restart the computer.
Once inside windows at the password box, click the little icon in the bottom left of your screen. At this point a command prompt will open up. At the command prompt type

Net user (Then your username) *

Make sure there is a space between your username and the *. Then press enter. It will now ask you to enter a new password for your account. You have to type it twice.
That’s it! You should now be able to access the account again! Once you are back into your account you will want to go back to c:\windows\system32 and rename those files back to what they should be.


#2 Fish

Fish

    Slamdunk the funk

  • 1,966 posts
  • Joined: 03-February 05
  • Location: UK

Posted 12 April 2013 - 17:59

Excellent. Should be stickied (Y)

#3 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,177 posts
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 12 April 2013 - 18:03

Easiest thing to do would be to change it using another machine, and going to live.com

#4 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,830 posts
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 12 April 2013 - 18:07

Easiest thing to do would be to change it using another machine, and going to live.com

Although I agree, There are circumstances like: no Internet connection, and/or the account being a local one not a Microsoft's, which makes this method the only one available...

#5 exotoxic

exotoxic

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,177 posts
  • Joined: 04-April 04
  • Location: England

Posted 12 December 2013 - 04:44

You can change anyone's password only knowing their username?? Seems like a security flaw to me :| Of course you need physical access and a DVD/USB but that's not hard.



#6 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 26,767 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 13 December 2013 - 05:06

You can change anyone's password only knowing their username?? Seems like a security flaw to me :| Of course you need physical access and a DVD/USB but that's not hard.

 

You should see how easy it is on previous version of windows using a password reset CD. Takes about 30 seconds to nuke anyone password.



#7 Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,478 posts
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 25 July 2014 - 03:59

Just out of curiosity, does anybody know if the Linux program chntpw works on Windows 8?  I've used it on my Ubuntu computer to change Windows passwords on XP, Vista, and 7, but haven't had a need to try it on Windows 8 yet.



#8 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • 2,939 posts
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 25 July 2014 - 04:18

I use KonBoot, then you don't need to reset password.

http://www.piotrbani...m/all/kon-boot/

You also get access to CMD prompt from login page without editing files.