Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 16 April 2013 - 01:31

Today Malwarebytes pushed out an update which proceeded to quarantine most of the system32 directory among other folders bring systems to their knees. You can follow the information at the following thread.

The newest update that just downloaded broke - hard.
http://forums.malwar...pic=125127&st=0

An update has been released which fixes the bad definition.


#2 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 16 April 2013 - 01:58

It's beyond my comprehension why an AV definition would be pushed out without at least testing it on one system beforehand.

#3 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:02

hilarious

#4 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:03

Hmmm, I have Malwarebytes Pro and it constantly updates and scans, and I haven't experienced any problems.

#5 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:06

...reminds me of an old xp system 32 joke
I forget how it went, but essentially deleting system 32 cleans all spyware from xp
(Untrue and a silly thing to do, granted)

#6 Rippleman

Rippleman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-June 09

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:06

hmmm, i too have many dozens of systems with real time malwarebytes protection, nothing wrong happening to them... specific conditions only maybe?

#7 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:11

And that's why I don't use that sort of software.

I feel for those customers affected. :/

#8 Scott Hellewell

Scott Hellewell

    Software Developer

  • Joined: 15-October 08
  • Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
  • OS: Windows 8, Android
  • Phone: Evo 4G LTE

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:22

This is causing us about 70 re-installations of Windows, Office, etc. tonight. NOT FUN. We were on the Enterprise version and all of a sudden all of our workstations came crashing down. The enterprise got the update and pushed it out to all the clients simultaneously. We just purchased it about a week ago.

#9 Rigby

Rigby

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 05

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:24

And that's why I don't use that sort of software.


You don't use any antivirus or antimalware programs?

#10 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:28

This is causing us about 70 re-installations of Windows, Office, etc. tonight. NOT FUN. We were on the Enterprise version and all of a sudden all of our workstations came crashing down. The enterprise got the update and pushed it out to all the clients simultaneously. We just purchased it about a week ago.


Yeah that isn't any fun at all. This is why you'll have to have an update gateway on the Enterprise level allowing you to test updates in the lab before allowing them loose on the install base. Sucks, but when stuff like this gets through it burns hard.

If Malwarebytes doesn't allow that I would just chuck it until it did.

#11 virtorio

virtorio

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.10, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:29

These types of things are always a risk when using real time protection. I've had to help deal with other system-breaking issues caused by bad updates in the past with other products (100% cpu usage issue that prevented the system from logging in (Trend PC-Cillin, a reboot loop (can't remember what product that was) and false positives breaking various programs).

#12 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 16 April 2013 - 02:41

You don't use any antivirus or antimalware programs?


AV protection is overrated.

A good blacklist should suffice.

#13 siah1214

siah1214

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-April 12

Posted 16 April 2013 - 03:12

And this is why we now use Forefront at our university. Worst that ever happened was a Google Chrome false positive.

Also reinforces my use of Windows Defender at home.

#14 P!P

P!P

    73695 of.. a lot

  • Joined: 01-October 04
  • Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

Posted 16 April 2013 - 03:16

You don't use any antivirus or antimalware programs?


I never use anything on my personal machines. I put usually put MSE or MBAM on machines I give to my family but I haven't used anything in years and have been fine. As long as you're smart, I don't think it's a problem. I also never install Java on my own machines which probably helps. ;)

#15 +goretsky

goretsky

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 04
  • Location: Southern California

Posted 16 April 2013 - 03:17

Hello,

No idea what happened here, but some anti-malware developers test their virus signature database updates against supported operating systems (all the combinations of service pack levels, localizations, CPU architectures) as well as popular applications (Microsoft, Adobe, Google, et cetera) before releasing them to ensure a hit on a false positive doesn't reach their customers.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky