Jump to content



Photo

Comments on overclock. E6600 2.4Ghz -> 3.6Ghz


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 19 April 2013 - 11:26

Hi,

Thought what the hell - I'll overclock my chip since I've had it for so long and a performance boost can't hurt!

Any notes on the results below as I've not done this before:

ocscreen.png

I've run this test a few times with new issues but not for more than a two hour period yet.

Settings:

FSB @ 400
Multi @ 9.0
DRAM 1:1 (800mhz)

CPU @ 1.5v
NB @ 1.55v
DRAM @ 1.8v
PLL @ 1.6v
FSB term @ 1.3v

Cheers! :)

Alex


#2 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 19 April 2013 - 12:45

Ugh - stuff just started crashing - any suggestions on improving stability before I turn it back down the 3.2ghz?

#3 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:09

upped the cpu voltage to 1.525v which read as 1.5v in windows- seems to be stable right now.

#4 Kami-

Kami-

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-July 08
  • Location: SandBox

Posted 19 April 2013 - 15:07

Not really port-worthy, but congrats on your first overclock? >.>

#5 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 19 April 2013 - 15:26

it's been too long, so i cant offer recommendations. i did, however, own a E6750 and had no issues getting it to 3.6GHz on that same P5K board.

i'd dig through google and look for settings based on that cpu and mobo

#6 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 19 April 2013 - 15:32

Not really help on the overclock, but my question is, did you notice the performance boost? in games? applications? etc. how much? I ask because i've a q6600 and have always considered overclocking, but never thought it would be that much of a performance boost.

#7 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 21 April 2013 - 16:56

Not really port-worthy, but congrats on your first overclock? >.>


It's not post-worthy? I'm asking advice not showing off - so I was welcoming comments regarding my configuration and whether I've overlooked something or been stupid anywhere..

Not really help on the overclock, but my question is, did you notice the performance boost? in games? applications? etc. how much? I ask because i've a q6600 and have always considered overclocking, but never thought it would be that much of a performance boost.


Yeah things do feel snappier and the Windows experience index jumped from 5.8 to 6.7 on the cpu and from 5.8 to 6.9 on the memory so I expect there will be some tangible results when transcoding etc.

Gaming wise I was thinking of upgrading my Graphics card from an 8800 GTS to a GTX 670 but I've heard games like Battlefield can be fairly CPU intensive. So it may still act as a bottleneck!

Worth having a play though if you have the time!

#8 watchthisspace

watchthisspace

    Cheese Grator

  • Joined: 09-June 09
  • Location: 127.0.0.1
  • OS: Windows
  • Phone: iPhone

Posted 22 April 2013 - 01:08

What are your CPU temperatures like? Looks like a great overclock to me!

#9 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 22 April 2013 - 08:42

Currently Idling at 35 degrees. I've done a bit of research and found the TJMax is around 90 degrees. Having run OCCT is hits about 75 degrees max. Running RealTemp it hits about the same value. If I run intel burn test it got to about 88 degrees. Not entirely sure why intel burn test gave more extreme results!

#10 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 22 April 2013 - 15:08

Having run OCCT is hits about 75 degrees max. Running RealTemp it hits about the same value. If I run intel burn test it got to about 88 degrees. Not entirely sure why intel burn test gave more extreme results!


The Intel Burn Test is brutal by design. If your system stands up to that then you should have a stable overclock, though it's always worth running an all round test like 3DMark. You'll often find one test will expose an issue that others won't detect.

#11 OP Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 22 April 2013 - 16:43

That's excellent! Will do, many thanks!

#12 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 23 April 2013 - 16:52

Gaming wise I was thinking of upgrading my Graphics card from an 8800 GTS to a GTX 670 but I've heard games like Battlefield can be fairly CPU intensive. So it may still act as a bottleneck!

Core 2 Duo is fairly antiquated now, so, yes definitely it will be a bottleneck for a GTX 670. Haswell is right around the corner, so you might want to save up a bit and get a real upgrade in a few months. I know I am. :p

#13 +fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX\Windows 8.1\Ubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 23 April 2013 - 16:56

Core 2 Duo is fairly antiquated now, so, yes definitely it will be a bottleneck for a GTX 670. Haswell is right around the corner, so you might want to save up a bit and get a real upgrade in a few months. I know I am. :p


Yeah, wait a few months for the Haswell.. I feel like my 950 is a bottleneck for my two 680s