Jump to content



Photo

OCZ Vector 256gb SSD...catastrophic failures


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 static_geek

static_geek

    All this happened, ... more or less.

  • Joined: 23-January 02
  • Location: Dexter,Me. USA

Posted 23 April 2013 - 16:17

I'm on my third unit(under warranty) ... it is my Win 7 drive. The first failure occurred during a desktop personalization change; kablooey! the computer rebooted and told me I needed to insert bootable media. So I checked all the cables and got the same message and returned it.
The second one I was surfing the web(IE 10 and was reading a Neowin article at the time) and the computer rebooted and again I was greeted with blah blah blah please insert bootable media.
Each time the computer would not recognize the SSD, but when I installed the replacement,reinstalled windows it worked fine. This one is my last chance, so I was wondering if anyone had any ideas/suggestions as to what might be the problem and how to prevent it.(Current build is in my sig)
TIA


#2 Kreuger

Kreuger

    Neowin's Local Grouch

  • Joined: 29-December 03
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 23 April 2013 - 16:19

I know you said that you tried the cables but Im wondering if you checked to see if they were snug or tried using new ones? Also try a different port on your motherboard.

#3 OP static_geek

static_geek

    All this happened, ... more or less.

  • Joined: 23-January 02
  • Location: Dexter,Me. USA

Posted 23 April 2013 - 16:27

Yes I did try both those things, still wouldn't recognize the drive. I had an older Intel SSD from my old rig which I tried and it was fine. But I did spend about $250 on the sucker and bought it cuz of the rave reviews........

#4 lars77

lars77

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 24 April 2013 - 03:30

When it happened, did you try plugging into a different computer? (just out of curiosity)

Three times same issue does sound like a lot. Maybe there's an off-chance that the power supply is giving it too much voltage? You'd need to get a power supply tester to be sure.

Or you're just that unlucky? ;) I haven't had any issues w/ my own OCZ SSDs, but I only have Vertex drives.

#5 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 24 April 2013 - 04:30

hmm... i've always stayed away from OCZ drives because of all the reviews of high failure rates.

#6 +chconline

chconline

    I review, not promote.

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Posted 24 April 2013 - 04:54

The Vector is a fine drive... I have one right now. :p

Is anything else in your comp frying?

#7 RottGutt

RottGutt

    I'm a geek. Deal with it.

  • Joined: 21-November 01
  • Location: Colorado
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3/10.10, iOS 7, DSM 5.0

Posted 24 April 2013 - 05:06

I had the same issues with a new build recently. It had to do with the UEFI BIOS on my mobo flaking out. I flashed my mobo to the latest BIOS, went through the steps of setting it back up, and haven't had any problems since. It seems that for some reason, I HAD to leave the "boot order" setting as UEFI first. The second I changed it to the SSD first and restarted, I would get the "insert bootable media" message again. Change it back to UEFI first, and the problem went away. Hope this info helps!

Tim

#8 OP static_geek

static_geek

    All this happened, ... more or less.

  • Joined: 23-January 02
  • Location: Dexter,Me. USA

Posted 24 April 2013 - 11:51

I did try both of them in diff rigs........they were no shows ..............but when the new one arrives I will try your suggestion RottGutt.

#9 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:19

At my last place of work, we ordered OCZ drivers to replace drives in New dell laptops.. we would have about two drives fail a week.

#10 YouWhat

YouWhat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 03
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: iPhone 4s IOS 6.1.2

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:32

With OCZ drives, the only thing you can do is to keep the firmware up to date, this is the only thing that keeps the drives from panic locking. There are various reasons as to why they happen, but as soon as you get the replacement drive, update firmware straight away, and also keep on top of any new updates they release for the drive.

#11 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:35

The Vector is a fine drive... I have one right now. :p

Is anything else in your comp frying?


OCZ don't have a great track record, which I can vouch for myself.

I had 4 machines which had vertex drives, one of which had 2 (so 5 drives in total).

Of those initial drives, one failed in a month, and another failed 6 months later. OCZ replaced them both with refurbs. The first refurb drive failed after 3 months and was replaced again, the second was DOA and replaced straight away.

So original purchase: 5 drives.
Originals failed: 2 (40%)

Total drives owned: 9
Total drives failed: 4 (~44.5%)

Needless to say I no longer own any OCZ products.

#12 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:55

My OCZ drive failed within about 5 months. I RMA'd it and I'm on my 2nd one now, going good for about a year--no problems.

#13 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:56

Yeah, OCZ flat out sucks for SSD's, I can't recommend it. My Vertex died in 4 months of use, and I've since not recommended it to friends - 2 of my friend's didn't take my advice, and their OCZ SSD's died as well. I can't see why anyone would cheap out and get an OCZ drive when you get a far more reliable drive for a few bucks more (or the same price). They should go back to making other computer accessories - their PSU is pretty decent (been running it for almost 4 years).

#14 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/Media Center Pack, Server 2k12 - Core i7 3770K/16GB DDR3/OCZ Vector 256GB/Gigabyte GTX 760
  • Phone: HTC One 64GB

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:58

hmm... i've always stayed away from OCZ drives because of all the reviews of high failure rates.


In general OCZ is ok. But when the Vector was first released with firmware that after a power failure would render the drive unreadable and unflashable, I went with the Samsung Pro series :D

Samsung is the only SSD vendor that doesn't just order and assemble, they make all the components including the NAND and controller themselves.

#15 0sit0

0sit0

    Live and let live

  • Joined: 24-October 01

Posted 24 April 2013 - 13:12

I had an issue with one (DOA) but other than that this one has been working great for a few months. I guess I should backup now lol.