Jump to content



Photo

Ubuntu 13.04 'Raring Ringtail' released

ubuntu 13.04 raring ringtail

  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#61 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 30 April 2013 - 16:35

I was hoping to avoid that so I dont lose 200gb+ of torrents.


Buy an external drive and back everything up? You can get a 2TB drive now a days for 70 bucks.


#62 +RedReddington

RedReddington

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 01 May 2013 - 10:04

Well when I rebooted after updating, I was greeted with the lxde login manager. Put in my credentials and got nothing. It won't boot to the GUI no matter what desktop I pick. So finally, I hit ctrl+alt+f2 for a terminal and ran startlxde but it gives me an error about connecting to the display. So I ran startx instead and it required me to install gnome. So now Im stuck running gnome-shell (which I can't stand) because nothing else will work. And this is the only way I can get it to login, too. Now I run xpanel after booting so that I can have some sort of comfort of normalcy, and the menu has no icons.


I have EXACTLY the same problem doh! Although I am loving the subtle but well done graphical changes to Ubuntu this time round. :D

#63 Kreuger

Kreuger

    Neowin's Local Grouch

  • Joined: 29-December 03
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 01 May 2013 - 11:58

Remove all folders but /home/ and /root/ (assuming you only store stuff there) and then do a normal install without formatted = no lost data.



Im assuming this is some kind of configuration issue which likely means it's somewhere in my /home folder. I've thought of deleting the .cache and .config folders as well as the ones for lxde and the other DEs but Im not sure itd make a difference.

Buy an external drive and back everything up? You can get a 2TB drive now a days for 70 bucks.a

I know that. But I really don't have the money for it. I have space on my desktop but its a lot of work to move the data there and then back afterwards and getting the client to pick it up after too.

Edit: Someone suggested I switch to lightdm instead of lxdm and now everything works as normal. Not sure what the hell is wrong with lxdm.

#64 +RedReddington

RedReddington

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 01 May 2013 - 16:12

Im assuming this is some kind of configuration issue which likely means it's somewhere in my /home folder. I've thought of deleting the .cache and .config folders as well as the ones for lxde and the other DEs but Im not sure itd make a difference.


I know that. But I really don't have the money for it. I have space on my desktop but its a lot of work to move the data there and then back afterwards and getting the client to pick it up after too.

Edit: Someone suggested I switch to lightdm instead of lxdm and now everything works as normal. Not sure what the hell is wrong with lxdm.


How do you do that? ...

#65 Kreuger

Kreuger

    Neowin's Local Grouch

  • Joined: 29-December 03
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 01 May 2013 - 16:20

I already had lightdm installed (not sure how but it doesnt matter). If you don't, just check out this page. https://wiki.ubuntu.com/LightDM

#66 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 01 May 2013 - 23:19

I have 12.10 now.I wanted to upgrade , But I prefer new install for vanilla, complete experience.
the only thing I need to know is how to backup my Home directory.Any Ideas?

#67 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 02 May 2013 - 00:36

I have 12.10 now.I wanted to upgrade , But I prefer new install for vanilla, complete experience.
the only thing I need to know is how to backup my Home directory.Any Ideas?


You could do one of a couple things. If your home directory is on its own partition (which is not default in Ubuntu AFAIK), you can simply reinstall without formatting that partition. If not, you can use the method n_K suggested earlier in this thread and delete everything other than /home using the live install disc before you perform the new installation. Using that method you would need to make sure you install to the original partition without reformatting it! You could also copy your home directory to another EXT4 partition while maintaining permissions, then copy it back after the installation.

The last solution is the most time intensive but least risky. You could implement it as follows:
# Set this variable for convenience so you can just copy/paste the rest of the backup commands.
export BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME=<your_backup_drive>

# Backup your home directory to another EXT4 volume, maintaining permissions and attributes.
cp -a $HOME /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/$USER

# Backup your user id and effective group id.
echo "backup_date: $(date)" > /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/backup_info
echo "user_name: $USER" >> /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/backup_info
echo "user_id: $(id -u)" >> /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/backup_info
echo "user_group: $(id -g)" >> /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/backup_info



# Install Ubuntu 13.04, wiping everything on your system (other than your backup drive, of course).



# You need to set this variable again since you closed your previous terminal window (and installed a new system).
export BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME=<your_backup_drive>

# Check your new user id and group id.
cat /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/backup_info
echo "new_user_id: $(id -u)"
echo "new_user_group: $(id -g)"

# If your new user id and new group id match the old, run the following command.
cp -a /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/$(cat /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/backup_info | grep 'user_name: ' | cut -d ' ' -f 2)/* $HOME

# If your new user id or new group id do not match the old, run the following commands.
sudo cp -a /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/$(cat /media/$BACKUP_DRIVE_NAME/backup_info | grep 'user_name: ' | cut -d ' ' -f 2)/* $HOME
export NEW_USER_ID=$(id -u)
export NEW_GROUP_ID=$(id -g)
sudo chown -R ${NEW_USER_ID}<img src='http://www.neowin.net/forum/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/shy.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':$' />{NEW_GROUP_ID} $HOME


#68 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 03 May 2013 - 03:56

thanks, xorangekiller
I didn't have a dedicated partition for my /home , so I will delete all folders and install without formatting

#69 (Spork)

(Spork)

    ANDROID-APPLE

  • Joined: 20-August 07

Posted 08 May 2013 - 22:07

Ubuntu 13.04 is "great success!" -Boart

The nvidia problems are fixed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



so tempted to install this lol

#70 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 09 May 2013 - 01:59

Well, I don't care much for Ubuntu or Kubuntu, but Lubuntu is the bomb. Gonna install it this weekend for further playing.

#71 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 10 May 2013 - 05:44

Just installed Xubuntu 13.04 on my 2Y. old Netbook: Dell inspiron mini 1018 and it Rocks.very light, productive
I love it on my netbook

#72 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 10 May 2013 - 14:11

Just installed Xubuntu 13.04 on my 2Y. old Netbook: Dell inspiron mini 1018 and it Rocks.very light, productive
I love it on my netbook


Yeah I've switched over both my laptops over to xubuntu 13.04, its great. Very stable, much less buggy than unity.

#73 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 10 May 2013 - 14:15

Xubuntu annoys me because it doesn't support "snap" by default, and xubuntu 32 and 64 is what I put on my multiboot tool for linux OS'

#74 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 10 May 2013 - 15:15

Xubuntu annoys me because it doesn't support "snap" by default, and xubuntu 32 and 64 is what I put on my multiboot tool for linux OS'


Actually, it does and its enabled by default. there's just another poor default set that breaks snapping to the left/right because the setting to move the window to another virtual desktop when you drag to the left or right is enabled by default. You simply need to go to settings > window manager > advanced and disable "Wrap workspaces when the pointer reaches a screen edge", and then snapping left/right/up/down all works.

I think that default should be changed, but its not a huge deal because the setting can easily be adjusted.

#75 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 May 2013 - 01:06

Running Xubuntu 13.04 now. A funny story on why I installed it instead of Lubuntu. I was all set to install Lubuntu and I decided to try Xubuntu one last time. A friend of mine came over and he saw it running and was blown away. So I decided to install that instead and I'm glad that I did. It really is awesome. Got Virtualbox installed with Windows 7 for those times I need it. Running just great.