Jump to content



Photo

Samsung SSD and Magician software

Answered Go to the full post ssd samsung software

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 25 April 2013 - 17:14

I'm kind of new to SSD drives as far as owning one. I don't mind installing the software on a few machines, but we're actually looking at replacing our existing HDDs with SSDs for about 400 machines. I don't want to install the software on all those, obviously.

I understand how over-provisioning works and some of the other features. My question is would it be OK for the most part if I DIDN'T install the software and didn't do any other tweaks?

We are imaging them from scratch, so I'm not concerned there. I am also not concerned about maximum performance. They perform well enough from my testing. I don't need to get 10 years out of the drives, but 4-5 would be good. We're running 3.0Ghz Core 2 Duos, and would prefer not to buy new machines, so we're adding RAM and the SSDs.

Any input? Thanks

Best Answer +metal_dragen , 25 April 2013 - 19:24

I have an 830. The Magician software really just does 3 things:

  • Provides a "health" check/view
  • Allows firmware updating
  • Utility functions - like secure erase, optimizing Windows settings for the SSD (like turning off defrag, etc.)
More than likely, your average user won't need access to any of this information/functionality (nor do you want them to have access to it).

I installed my 830 without the Magician software (it's not necessary) and only ended up installing it when I needed to do a firmware update. Go to the full post



#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 25 April 2013 - 17:35

Install software? You mean the OS? You can easily do a auto install...

Unless you mean the firmware? If you get any SSD, get the 840 pro edition.

#3 +metal_dragen

metal_dragen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-September 02
  • Location: Indy, USA

Posted 25 April 2013 - 19:24   Best Answer

I have an 830. The Magician software really just does 3 things:
  • Provides a "health" check/view
  • Allows firmware updating
  • Utility functions - like secure erase, optimizing Windows settings for the SSD (like turning off defrag, etc.)
More than likely, your average user won't need access to any of this information/functionality (nor do you want them to have access to it).

I installed my 830 without the Magician software (it's not necessary) and only ended up installing it when I needed to do a firmware update.

#4 eXtermia

eXtermia

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-December 02
  • Location: Germany
  • Phone: Nokia 920 White+ Lumia 1020 64gb Yellow (telephonica no sim lock version)

Posted 25 April 2013 - 19:36

although you may want to use it to optimize windows and then uninstall, as the settings it changes increases the life of the SSD

#5 Javik

Javik

    #GamerGate

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 25 April 2013 - 19:39

Windows 7 and anything newer will automatically optimise itself for SSD usage, you don't need additional software to do it. The assertion that you should turn prefetching and superfectch off on an SSD is also false, it does not infer any performance benefits to do that.

#6 Shad0w480

Shad0w480

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-September 04
  • Location: Mexico
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One X 4.2.2

Posted 25 April 2013 - 19:43

I use SSD Fresh instead of samsung magician on a Samsung 830 SSD, you need to tweak some stuff, like indexing, defrag and stuff, so you can get the best lifetime, performance and reliability on the SSD

#7 +fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX\Windows 8.1\Ubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus

Posted 25 April 2013 - 19:49

This is some cool software..

#8 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:20

I haven't used it since Windows 8's public release (as to my knowledge, it still isn't supported).

Nice to know it exists but unless you have a use for over provisioning (e.g. NAS / Server cache disk) it's not needed.

#9 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 25 April 2013 - 21:12

Guess I never heard of this software... Oh well.

(Yeah, and I have a 830)

#10 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:19

i'm skeptical of any optimization that tells you to disable indexing. that's been debunked years ago. plus, all the rest that's known to work isn't necessary anyways because Win8 already does it natively. firmware updates can be done with bootable ISOs. Not only did I not install the Magician software, I also decided not to install the Intel SSD Toolbox when reinstalling myother computer either. It's not necessary.

I haven't used it since Windows 8's public release (as to my knowledge, it still isn't supported).

Nice to know it exists but unless you have a use for over provisioning (e.g. NAS / Server cache disk) it's not needed.


it's supported now.

#11 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:23

I haven't used it since Windows 8's public release (as to my knowledge, it still isn't supported).

Version 4.0 now supports Windows 8.

But to answer the OP's question, no you don't need to install the software, however it is a good idea in case of firmware updates for the future. I'd disable it running on startup though as it gulps 40mb+ of ram for no real reason.
Apart from that the tweaking options are not required (or recommended) for Windows 7 or later.

#12 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:38

Like it's been said here, you won't need Magician other than firmware updates and some "tweeks" it can make (i said "tweeks" because i've benchmarked my 830 SSD and it gained a little performance increase with Magician). Also you can also clone your existing OS to a SSD, it will be fine (and if it's a modern OS it will detect the SSD with no problem what so ever), the performance increase is huge when comparing to a HDD.

#13 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64Ce Pro w/Media nter Pack/Core i7 4790K/16GB DDR3 1600/Samsung 850 Pro 256GB x 2 - Raid 0/Transcend M.2 256GB/ASRock Z97E-ITXac/GTX 970
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:50

I'm kind of new to SSD drives as far as owning one. I don't mind installing the software on a few machines, but we're actually looking at replacing our existing HDDs with SSDs for about 400 machines. I don't want to install the software on all those, obviously.

I understand how over-provisioning works and some of the other features. My question is would it be OK for the most part if I DIDN'T install the software and didn't do any other tweaks?

We are imaging them from scratch, so I'm not concerned there. I am also not concerned about maximum performance. They perform well enough from my testing. I don't need to get 10 years out of the drives, but 4-5 would be good. We're running 3.0Ghz Core 2 Duos, and would prefer not to buy new machines, so we're adding RAM and the SSDs.

Any input? Thanks


First let me say I have the magician software and an 840 pro and both are best in class IMO. The software is excellent. The main reason you would want the software, which can be easily installed later, is for firmware upgrades. The 840 is pretty solid and there hasn't been a firmware upgrade since I got it which is good.

There's performance optimization and OS optimization which you can install on your base machine, do the optimizations, then uninstall and image. It's stuff like making sure indexing is off, disabling prefetch. There are some I don't agree with like enabling hibernation on desktops. So you probably want to do this manually anyway.

Since Windows 7 & 8 have TRIM support you won't need the performance optimization.

As long as you image with the spare partition for over provisioning created, which I recommend, you can install and OP after the image. I don't see why you couldn't image an SSD configured for OP already, but I really can't say one way or the other. Since the software configures the controller to use it, it's hard to say. The software is light so installing it isn't much of a problem. I'm not sure if it's portable or not, might run from a USB, I haven't tried. Good choice on SSD :D

#14 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 26 April 2013 - 04:10

First let me say I have the magician software and an 840 pro and both are best in class IMO. The software is excellent. The main reason you would want the software, which can be easily installed later, is for firmware upgrades. The 840 is pretty solid and there hasn't been a firmware upgrade since I got it which is good.

There's performance optimization and OS optimization which you can install on your base machine, do the optimizations, then uninstall and image. It's stuff like making sure indexing is off, disabling prefetch. There are some I don't agree with like enabling hibernation on desktops. So you probably want to do this manually anyway.

Since Windows 7 & 8 have TRIM support you won't need the performance optimization.

As long as you image with the spare partition for over provisioning created, which I recommend, you can install and OP after the image. I don't see why you couldn't image an SSD configured for OP already, but I really can't say one way or the other. Since the software configures the controller to use it, it's hard to say. The software is light so installing it isn't much of a problem. I'm not sure if it's portable or not, might run from a USB, I haven't tried. Good choice on SSD :D


Did you read anything than the OP's question? You don't need it.

#15 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 26 April 2013 - 04:23

I haven't used it since Windows 8's public release (as to my knowledge, it still isn't supported).

Nice to know it exists but unless you have a use for over provisioning (e.g. NAS / Server cache disk) it's not needed.

It is, I run an 840 and installed the software