Jump to content



Photo

Samsung SSD and Magician software

ssd samsung software

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#16 Sputnick

Sputnick

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-June 12

Posted 26 April 2013 - 05:05

You could make a master image (where you first install SSD Magician and make the tweaks and updates the firmware, and then uninstall the SSD Magician software) before imaging it to the other SSD's. Or you can make the tweaks yourself manually of course.
If you later on for some reason want's to update the firmware on the master image (or all your machines), Samsung has a firmware update tool that runs from a bootable CD or USB drive.


#17 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/Media Center Pack, Server 2k12 - Core i7 3770K/16GB DDR3/OCZ Vector 256GB/Gigabyte GTX 760
  • Phone: HTC One 64GB

Posted 26 April 2013 - 06:28

Did you read anything than the OP's question? You don't need it.


Of course I read it. he didn't ask if he needed it. He asked if it would be OK if he didn't install it or perform any of the tweaks. I decided to give a more thorough response than "you don't need it."

#18 OP farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 30 April 2013 - 18:20

Sorry I didn't respond earlier, but have been super busy.

Thanks for ALL the information guys. The reason I don't want install is that with our imaging software, it creates the image, then runs SYSPREP without any intervention. That image is then pushed out. I install everything afterwards. I "could" figure out a way to run the installer, I'm sure, but didn't want to bother if I didn't have to. It's good to know that I don't need it unless I want the extra functions.

We got the regular 840, but might look at the Pro version. I thought the Pro just had faster writes, mainly, but a guy I talked to said it used a few different parts that made them last longer.

#19 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 01 May 2013 - 01:07

Sorry I didn't respond earlier, but have been super busy.

Thanks for ALL the information guys. The reason I don't want install is that with our imaging software, it creates the image, then runs SYSPREP without any intervention. That image is then pushed out. I install everything afterwards. I "could" figure out a way to run the installer, I'm sure, but didn't want to bother if I didn't have to. It's good to know that I don't need it unless I want the extra functions.

We got the regular 840, but might look at the Pro version. I thought the Pro just had faster writes, mainly, but a guy I talked to said it used a few different parts that made them last longer.


the pro version uses MLC while the regular uses TLC



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!