Jump to content



Photo

Gnome 3.8 Classic Mode

gnome 3.8 classic mode

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 25 April 2013 - 18:28

I've just seen that gnome 3.8 has a 'classic mode', to replace the fallback mode that looks like a (pretty good) mix of Gnome 3 and fallback mode!
Anyway, does anyone use it or know how it runs?
I'm tempted to switch to it, I've got cinnamon on most my arch machines but it's just so crap, I mean, the interface is great and all but anything that uses 100% CPU/GPU on integrated graphics and still lags if you drag ONE window on an nvidia 9600 is just incredibly poor quality in my mind and I cannot stand it any more.


#2 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: #!Crunchbang Debian
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:21

Why don't you try it yourself? I never ran Gnome 3.8 in Classic mode, but I have run previous versions of it. Quite good, IMO.

#3 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:28

I wasn't a huge fan of it (but then again I'm not a fan of cinnamon's UI either), but when I tried it on arch it definitely ran faster than cinnamon. cinnamon is slow because its based on old versions of gnome-shell/mutter.

#4 +fusi0n

fusi0n

    The Crazy One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5S 64GB

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:49

I will try this out during my new Ubuntu 13.02 install

#5 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 25 April 2013 - 21:12

Why don't you try it yourself? I never ran Gnome 3.8 in Classic mode, but I have run previous versions of it. Quite good, IMO.

Because right now I'm busy on other OS's and have work to do so can't switch out to arch. Previous versions of it? AFAIK you're talking about fallback mode which was broken in 3.6 and has been removed entirely from gnome 3.8 onwards

#6 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: #!Crunchbang Debian
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 25 April 2013 - 21:14

There was a Classic Mode also in 3.6, not just fallback.

#7 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 April 2013 - 09:56

Impressive, gnome once again delivers a half-assed load of junk!
Got it all installed the difference between gnome-shell and gnome classic? Colours look a bit worse in gnome-shell, it runs a bit more laggy and it doesn't pick up any of my installed programs whereas gnome classic does. Other than that it looks absolutely nothing like anyone elses' looks like.

Best of all, you still can't get rid of that ****ing useless hot corner, removed it entirely from layout.js and the bloody thing still shows.

Another great feature of gnome - crappy crash detection that doesn't work! Connect to a remote server using ssh and watch as gnome pesters you with incredibly annoying (and wrong) errors saying your programs are not responding!
Making flash go full screen puts it in the background, so you have to click on the flash full screen program in the bottom panel bar too.
Sorry, I actually fail to see anything of worthwhile with gnome 3.8, it's hard to see how gnome could have got worse after gnome 3.6 but somehow, the gnome team actually managed it, I'm sure there's an award for that somewhere. I'm actually waiting for them to say gnome 3.8 is a late april fools joke

Edited by n_K, 27 April 2013 - 10:30.


#8 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 27 April 2013 - 11:23

Is this on your customized Arch install ?

#9 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 April 2013 - 12:59

Is this on your customized Arch install ?

It's on a brand new install of arch with nothing customised.
"“<window title> on H3K-Shift2 (on H3K-Shift2)” is not responding.

You may choose to wait a short while for it to continue or force the application to quit entirely."
Click wait and oh strange, it works fine, yet to be ****ed off again pretty much instantly with the same message.

#10 ech1

ech1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 08

Posted 27 April 2013 - 13:19

alt-f2, then enter,
gnome-shell -r --mode=classic

alternative you can select session during login

#11 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 April 2013 - 13:44

alt-f2, then enter,
gnome-shell -r --mode=classic

alternative you can select session during login

That does indeed seem to be better in that it loads... Problems are none of the menu options (shut down, logout, etc.) do anything, there's no applications menu either, so is entirely useless.
I've been starting gnome-session using xinitrc as I use SLIM not GDM.

#12 Ph1b3r0pt1c

Ph1b3r0pt1c

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-September 12
  • Location: Sebree, Kentucky
  • OS: Debian, Windows 7, Server 2012

Posted 27 April 2013 - 13:49

I have tried hard to like gnome 3. I can't. I guess I got to used to the way gnome 2 did things. I have since switched to xfce, which still has some wierd quirks, but it works like I want it to.

#13 ech1

ech1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-October 08

Posted 27 April 2013 - 13:50

That does indeed seem to be better in that it loads... Problems are none of the menu options (shut down, logout, etc.) do anything, there's no applications menu either, so is entirely useless.
I've been starting gnome-session using xinitrc as I use SLIM not GDM.


Be sure to have gnome-shell-extensions package from extra.

#14 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 April 2013 - 13:58

Be sure to have gnome-shell-extensions package from extra.

Yes that is installed. I think it might be to do with gnome-panel or something, vaguely remember there being a dependancy with cinnaamon that wasn't included and made it unusable.
From first look though this classic mode of gnome 3.8 just looks to be gnome shell with an applications menu... I thought it would offer so much more.

#15 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: #!Crunchbang Debian
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 27 April 2013 - 13:59

I have tried hard to like gnome 3. I can't. I guess I got to used to the way gnome 2 did things. I have since switched to xfce, which still has some wierd quirks, but it works like I want it to.


Ever try MATE?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!