Jump to content



Photo

Gnome 3.8 Classic Mode

gnome 3.8 classic mode

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#16 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 28 April 2013 - 00:33

Impressive, gnome once again delivers a half-assed load of junk!
Got it all installed the difference between gnome-shell and gnome classic? Colours look a bit worse in gnome-shell, it runs a bit more laggy and it doesn't pick up any of my installed programs whereas gnome classic does. Other than that it looks absolutely nothing like anyone elses' looks like.

Best of all, you still can't get rid of that ****ing useless hot corner, removed it entirely from layout.js and the bloody thing still shows.

Another great feature of gnome - crappy crash detection that doesn't work! Connect to a remote server using ssh and watch as gnome pesters you with incredibly annoying (and wrong) errors saying your programs are not responding!
Making flash go full screen puts it in the background, so you have to click on the flash full screen program in the bottom panel bar too.
Sorry, I actually fail to see anything of worthwhile with gnome 3.8, it's hard to see how gnome could have got worse after gnome 3.6 but somehow, the gnome team actually managed it, I'm sure there's an award for that somewhere. I'm actually waiting for them to say gnome 3.8 is a late april fools joke


When I tried gnome 3.8 my experience definitely wasn't that bad (although I didn't really use the classic mode, I happen to actually like the default gnome-shell interface) but I did also run into some very annoying issues. These days I don't recommend anyone try gnome right when a new version comes out, unless you are interested in being a glorified beta tester. Since gnome 3 every gnome .0 release has had very obvious and severe bugs until after a few point releases, I get the feeling gnome really doesn't have enough beta testers or people reporting bugs. I did like that gnome 3.8 seemed much faster and smoother on my machine than 3.6, and gnome-shells memory usage also seemed massively lower. I went back to 3.6 after running into possible one of the most annoying bugs of all times though, I don't understand how they let something like this get into a final release: https://bugzilla.gno...g.cgi?id=696882 .With GTK 3.8 windows constantly forget their size, and some apps such as empathy will even randomly resize while you are using it. This kind of thing should never make it out of alpha or beta, its crazy that they've released gnome 3.8 with it :/ If it wasn't for that issue I probably would have really enjoyed gnome 3.8, but I'm just sick of seeing gnome releases with these kinds of huge bugs.

I actually like gnome 3's UI, but I do feel there's definitely not enough attention paid to QA and bugfixing. It seems gnome releases aare 100% focused on UI changes and releases get pushed with major bugs. I've been wanting to switch to KDE, in my testing the last few KDE releases have been much more stable and polished than gnome is these days, but I'm stuck waiting for KDE 4.11 for this to get fixed: https://bugs.kde.org...g.cgi?id=307965

Regarding the classic mode, yeah I feel like they really shouldn't have bothered if they were just going to half ass it.


#17 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 28 April 2013 - 02:25

Regarding the classic mode, yeah I feel like they really shouldn't have bothered if they were just going to half ass it.


To be honest, I've completely given up on Gnome these days. KDE is where it's at.

#18 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 28 April 2013 - 10:09

Last time I used KDE was in the red hat 9 days and compared to gnome 2 it was pretty sluggish and uncustomisable, has it improved in these areas?

#19 sean.ferguson

sean.ferguson

    Anonymous

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: GNU/Linux

Posted 28 April 2013 - 11:02

Last time I used KDE was in the red hat 9 days and compared to gnome 2 it was pretty sluggish and uncustomisable, has it improved in these areas?


KDE has changed alot since the RH9 days! Its a much more respected well refined desktop environment now. Although I still choose Xfce as mine many of others made the switch to KDE after the Gnome3 release and have been surprised by it.

#20 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 28 April 2013 - 12:09

Humm got KDE running here on arch, it's still a bit 'odd', there are some kinda gripes, how do I go about changing the font size of the clock? How to I resize the notification icons so they don't have a height of 100%? How do I get rid of the copy&paste notification thing?
Other than that it seems pretty fast, none of the 'program has froze' ******** I got with gnome and the notification icons appear! (Though they have black backgrounds which stick out... Any ideas on that one too? :p)

#21 sean.ferguson

sean.ferguson

    Anonymous

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: GNU/Linux

Posted 28 April 2013 - 12:34

Humm got KDE running here on arch, it's still a bit 'odd', there are some kinda gripes, how do I go about changing the font size of the clock? How to I resize the notification icons so they don't have a height of 100%? How do I get rid of the copy&paste notification thing?
Other than that it seems pretty fast, none of the 'program has froze' ******** I got with gnome and the notification icons appear! (Though they have black backgrounds which stick out... Any ideas on that one too? :p)



That may be for another topic ;)

back on topic with Gnome3, Classic mode looks like something that will perhaps bring back some of the users that left when they initially made the change to the new model with Gnome3. But the damage has been done for me now, I have grown to love Xfce and I can't see me changing back in the future.

Posted Image

#22 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 28 April 2013 - 12:37

Yeah gnome3 left me in the dark. Cinnamon wasn't too bad but it lags like hell and uses 100% CPU/GPU for no reason so it's unsuitable. XFCE is nice but needs a lot of hacks for customisation. I've never liked LXDE. Fluxbox is what I mainly use, nice fast and lightweight but it has some pretty annoying bugs and lacks things like support for media keys unless you get additional software. CDE was kinda funky and retro but doesn't work at all on 64-bit builds. MATE is good and I'm glad it exists but wow, things really have moved on from the GNOME2 days!

#23 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 28 April 2013 - 13:40

Humm got KDE running here on arch, it's still a bit 'odd', there are some kinda gripes, how do I go about changing the font size of the clock? How to I resize the notification icons so they don't have a height of 100%? How do I get rid of the copy&paste notification thing?
Other than that it seems pretty fast, none of the 'program has froze' ******** I got with gnome and the notification icons appear! (Though they have black backgrounds which stick out... Any ideas on that one too? :p)


In kde you can show hide any icon you please in the system tray, If you right click and go to the tray settings and then go to entries there's a list of all entries and you can set them to show/hide.

You can do the same with the clock afiak, right click and go to the digital clock settings and there's a bunch of settings including the font and font size.

I never had a problem with systray icons with black backgrounds, not sure whats up with that.

#24 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 28 April 2013 - 17:36

In kde you can show hide any icon you please in the system tray, If you right click and go to the tray settings and then go to entries there's a list of all entries and you can set them to show/hide.

You can do the same with the clock afiak, right click and go to the digital clock settings and there's a bunch of settings including the font and font size.

I never had a problem with systray icons with black backgrounds, not sure whats up with that.

OK nice got the klipper hidden, unfortunately though you can't seem to change the font size of the clock, only the font itself. Attached a pic of the black backgrounds.

Attached Images

  • snapshot1.png




Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!