Jump to content



Photo

Dual Screen Setup... any recommendations?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 DPbrad

DPbrad

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-June 12

Posted 26 April 2013 - 16:06

So, after nearly a year of using my first PC-build, it is still running great, but since then I have had the PC connected to my 32 inch Samsung TV. Although this was kinda cool and is pretty nice for gaming, the resolution it runs at (1366x768) has been driving me mental as many applications and a few games run very weirdly in this resolution, and also I have to scale everything up as I naturally dont have a chair right in front of my TV, so most websites have to be CTRL+'d a few times so i can read them without using binoculars while sat on my sofa a good 8ft away from the TV. Until now, this has been fine as I have really only used the PC for gaming and watching videos and movies.

However, I have got a bit fed up of the setup and would much more like to get the PC setup to a desk, and hook it up to a monitor or two. I was just wondering if anyone else is running a dual monitor setup, and what monitors they have, and would they recommend them? Also, would it be possible to not only hook my PC up to the two monitors (Ideally I will have one larger one for normal use, then a smaller one) but also my 360?

Also, I have a fairly flexible budget so throw anything at me, cheap or more expensive. My old laptop ran at 1600x900 which was a nice resolution, but my work PC runs at 1920x1080 (I think?) and that would be my preferred native resolution if possible.

Thanks folks!


#2 ILikeTobacco

ILikeTobacco

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-July 10

Posted 26 April 2013 - 16:11

For the part about using a monitor for both computer and xbox, look up something like this.
http://www.ebay.com/...809227569&ps=54

#3 fusi0n

fusi0n

    The Crazy One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5S 64GB

Posted 26 April 2013 - 16:22

For the part about using a monitor for both computer and xbox, look up something like this.
http://www.ebay.com/...27569%26ps%3D54


Sweet I can use that with my projector.. thanks

#4 ILikeTobacco

ILikeTobacco

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-July 10

Posted 26 April 2013 - 16:25

Sweet I can use that with my projector.. thanks

I'm sure you can find cheaper ones. That was just the first one that came up for me.

#5 OP DPbrad

DPbrad

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-June 12

Posted 27 April 2013 - 00:17

OK, so I think I am going to go with 2 of these: http://www.amazon.co...c=1&s=computers

The only issue I see is that my Radeon 6850 only has 1 HDMI slot. So I will be able to hook one up ok with HDMI-to-HDMI, but how would I connect the other one up? The Radeon 6850 doesn't have any VGA ports so am I stuck?

#6 ILikeTobacco

ILikeTobacco

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-July 10

Posted 27 April 2013 - 00:57

OK, so I think I am going to go with 2 of these: http://www.amazon.co...c=1&s=computers

The only issue I see is that my Radeon 6850 only has 1 HDMI slot. So I will be able to hook one up ok with HDMI-to-HDMI, but how would I connect the other one up? The Radeon 6850 doesn't have any VGA ports so am I stuck?

What motherboard do you have? You can always put in a second video card or buy a new card with two outputs.

#7 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 27 April 2013 - 08:11

take your pick http://accessories.u...1807~0~13334723

#8 OP DPbrad

DPbrad

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-June 12

Posted 27 April 2013 - 10:04

What motherboard do you have? You can always put in a second video card or buy a new card with two outputs.


The Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H is the motherboard I have at the moment. Ideally I would like to find a solution using my current video card if possible. I had a very old Dell PC which I remember having hooked up to two monitors years ago, but cannot quite remember how I did it, or what output I used. It was probably 2xVGA, with maybe one being converted to DVI or something like that? For now, I think I will just get the one monitor then test dual-screening with some old monitors in my garage, as I don't know if the card works well with 1xHDMI and another on DVI or DisplayPort. I have heard a few people having problems dual-screening using the 6850HD.

#9 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 27 April 2013 - 22:01

why not dual dvi? anyway 1 dvi 1 hdmi should be just fine

#10 OP DPbrad

DPbrad

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-June 12

Posted 28 April 2013 - 12:06

why not dual dvi? anyway 1 dvi 1 hdmi should be just fine


That's a totally fine solution too. :)
I found an old VGA-to-DVI converter I had and tested it on 2 of my old monitors, dual screening with my TV (on HDMI) and it worked fine, so hopefully that will work fine too. I am off out to get the monitors today so will let you know how I get on. :)

#11 OP DPbrad

DPbrad

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-June 12

Posted 28 April 2013 - 19:24

So the 2 monitors work fine. One is on HDMI and the other is running on a HDMI-to-DVI cable which I found. Thanks for help guys.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!