Jump to content



Photo

2TB HD Keeps freezing entire computer!


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 26 April 2013 - 23:15

3 days ago I ordered a Refurbished 2 TB HD WD Black and it would freeze the entire computer if I tried to format it so I had to stick it in a ProBox to make it external and it was able to be formated and created as a new drive. No problems at all. I then put it back in my desktop and it would freeze the entire PC even the mouse wouldnt move if I tried to move data in there. So I wound up returning it and buying a NEW 2TB Instead but Green not black and the same damn problem happens. If I reboot once its frozen then it goes to the Windows 8 logo while booting it freezes. i have to take the drive out and insert it while its loading the desktop. I never had any issues with my 1TB hds from WD so does anyone have an idea what could be the problem?


#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 26 April 2013 - 23:26

Controller, Driver or cable issue.

#3 OP freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 27 April 2013 - 00:09

I have a corsair case which allows you yo switch the hard drive spots. I have 3 others in there so It cant be cable. How can I look up the controllers ? I havent done much with that.

#4 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 27 April 2013 - 00:14

I never had any issues with my 1TB hds ...

I think that's it.

Maybe you need a BIOS flash update, a Chipset update, or some Windows update.

#5 OP freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 27 April 2013 - 00:25

I went here to install the rapid storage driver... stil same problem
http://us.msi.com/pr...iver&os=Win8 64

#6 OP freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 27 April 2013 - 01:04

I was able to scan it. Format failed when I tried to do..

Attached Images

  • t6it67.JPG


#7 srbeen

srbeen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 27 April 2013 - 01:20

its your system. Check for bios update, controller/bus driver updates, and if worse comes to worse clear your CMOS ram. Unlikely its 2 exactly identically defective drives.

#8 OP freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 27 April 2013 - 01:58

How is it my system if my 3 other drives work without any issues

#9 OP freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 27 April 2013 - 03:48

added to my mac to erase the current partition and back to windows to create a new partition and got an error and it turn into a RAW

Attached Images

  • rtehtr.JPG


#10 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 27 April 2013 - 08:19

It's something to do with that system. Check the cables on both the motherboard side and drive side as well as the power leads.

If that fails, update the BIOS/uEFI firmware. also check your settings in the BIOS.

#11 madd-hatter

madd-hatter

    Crazy Hat Salesman

  • Joined: 17-January 07
  • Location: World Citizen

Posted 27 April 2013 - 08:42

I had a WD drive that started to do this and then failed completely about a month later.

I'd start backing up info.

#12 OP freak180

freak180

    Mr. GreatDisaster

  • Joined: 02-December 08
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

Posted 27 April 2013 - 08:53

I figured it out...my god.. it had to do with my Obsidian Series 800D Case! The four-drive SATA3 hot-swap drive bay plates for some realize did give the sata cable a proper connection. Those you have this case know what I'm talking about. So I decided to disconnect it from the plate and connected directly to the 2TB HD and now it doesnt freeze and I am able to format the drive flawlessly :)) spent a few hours trying to figure this out... But I still get that warning from the previous message I posted....