Jump to content



Photo

Sync a game save folder between two PCs on a Wi-Fi connection?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:41

My partner plays The Sims 3 on her laptop and often wants to continue where she left off on my PC.

I have installed Dropbox on both systems, and logged in to my account on both inside the program.

The folder is around 7-8 GB, so we'd need to use LAN sync.

How can I automatically sync the contents of the following folder between her laptop and my PC:

C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Saves


I did try opening a CMD window to the The Sims 3 directory on her laptop and typing:

mklink /J Saves C:\Users\Elliot\Dropbox

... but that displayed "Cannot create a file when that file already exists."

I tried opening a CMD window to the Saves directory and typing:

mklink /J Saves C:\Users\Elliot\Dropbox

...but that just creates a Saves shortcut inside the Saves folder, which of course does nothing.

EDIT: mklink /d C:\Users\Triin\Dropbox\Saves "C:\Users\Triin\Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Saves" seems to work.</username>


#2 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:44

Didn't Budman answer that question in your last thread?

Alternatively ditch DropBox and go for the batch file approach with a mapped drive.

Edited by spikey_richie, 27 April 2013 - 19:59.


#3 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:45

Didn't we have this same question about 6 weeks ago? And it was suggested they/you use Dropbox?


Next time at least read the OP KTHX..

I have installed Dropbox on both systems, and logged in to my account on both inside the program.



#4 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:46

Didn't we have this same question about 6 weeks ago? And it was suggested they/you use Dropbox?


Didn't you read above? I am using Dropbox and since it's 7-8 GB (and Dropbox gives 2 GB), I need to use LAN sync and symbolic links, which I'm having trouble with. That's why I'm posting here.

#5 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (Android 4.4.2)

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:47

Maybe this can help: http://lifehacker.co...-dropbox-folder

#6 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:50

Maybe this can help: http://lifehacker.co...-dropbox-folder


I tried :(

I typed on her laptop:

mklink /D "C:\Users\<herusername>\Dropbox\Saves" "C:\Users\<herusername>\Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Saves"

... and I get "Cannot create a file when that file already exists."

#7 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:58

Didn't you read above? I am using Dropbox and since it's 7-8 GB (and Dropbox gives 2 GB), I need to use LAN sync and symbolic links, which I'm having trouble with. That's why I'm posting here.


I edited my post after I re-read it, hence why what's there now doesn't match your quoted text.

Next time at least read the OP KTHX..

[/color]


As above... I edited after I re-read it. As a mod you should know better than to taunt. KTHXBAI

#8 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 27 April 2013 - 19:58

I edited my post after I re-read it, hence why what's there now doesn't match your quoted text.


Oh yes, sorry :)

#9 KevinN206

KevinN206

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-July 05
  • Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:00

Maybe try SyncToy from Microsoft although I don't remember if it can do bi-directional sync the "most updated files".

#10 stumper66

stumper66

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 09
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Posted 27 April 2013 - 21:29

To do a bi-directional sync over the LAN, simply execute the following commands:
xcopy /d c:\sourcedir \\target-pc\targetdir
then
xcopy /d \\target-pc\targetdir c:\sourcedir

Then both machines will have the most up to date files. You can throw in /e to include subfolders if necessary.

#11 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 27 April 2013 - 23:30

seems like you need something similar to the old live mesh, cubby from logmein is supposed to be able to sync folders between computers.

#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 29 April 2013 - 03:23

"The folder is around 7-8 GB, so we'd need to use LAN sync."

Lan sync does not remove that its still up in the cloud - if you want to sync that much, then your going to need to get some more space.. Just send out some referrals.

I don't play sims - but I find it hard to fathom that your save is 7-8 GB?? Are you trying to syn multiple different saves for multiple players, etc.?

Once you have enough space to sync what you want to sync, if your having issues with creating the links - take a look at this http://satyadeepk.in...ox-folder-sync/

BTW its quite easy to get that much space using dropbox referrals, and if you ever play the quests, etc. They are always giving away free space. Beta testing video/picture upload got like 3GB free, etc. I currently have

freedrop.jpg

#13 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 01 May 2013 - 01:38

Cubby does pure lan sync

#14 Salty Wagyu

Salty Wagyu

    moo

  • Joined: 04-April 08
  • Location: ConDem Nation

Posted 01 May 2013 - 07:50

the new Bittorrent Sync should do the job well, doesn't even need to be uploaded to the cloud. It's in Alpha though, so could well be some bugs.

#15 SpartanZX7

SpartanZX7

    Gamer

  • Joined: 30-April 13
  • Location: Bridlington
  • OS: Windows 7 (64bit) Mac OSX 10.8.4
  • Phone: IPhone 4S

Posted 01 May 2013 - 09:44

You could try going through Steam? Steam has a feature where it uploads your game data to their cloud. If you add it to the Steam library it might sync it. Sorry i couldn't be more helpful.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!