Jump to content



Photo

Grand theft auto IV an overly resource eating game?

gta iv

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • 3,699 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 30 April 2013 - 19:18

Does Grand Theft Auto IV have known resource chugging/ eating issues? I have a new 2013 Asus laptop that has Amd A8-4500m quad core processor with radeon 7640g graphics. My laptop is not a high end gaming laptop by any means, but it does run newer games fairly well. GTA IV is a 5 years old game, and i have come to believe GTA IV is just not a well designed game technically wise. BTW, GTA IV does run well, but it lags in some areas, in which it should not and is absurd!


#2 tytytucke

tytytucke

    Neowinian

  • 711 posts
  • Joined: 28-December 10

Posted 30 April 2013 - 19:26

Don't believe everything you read. But if your so worried about if just go to: can you run it?: http://www.systemreq...tslab.com/cyri/
The game got better after numerous updates, I believe that's why they delayed the pc release of GTA5 so far back, to avoid problems.

If you have problems running the game just lower the resolution and in game settings.

#3 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • 5,689 posts
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 30 April 2013 - 19:34

Could be due to 5400rpm hard disk struggling to fetch necessary resources in a timely manner. Unlike other games which can load something and then keep in memory for a fair amount of time, GTA IV can pretty much go through all its resources while you're just cruising around the city.

And yes, while updates fixed a lot of things, it's a real hog partly because Rockstar did a little sloppy job, partly because it's succumbing under its own sheer size.

#4 +Lovell

Lovell

    ,l,(-.-),l,

  • 1,666 posts
  • Joined: 14-November 03
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 30 April 2013 - 19:35

I found the 2 dlc to be better than the original, I had no problem running them on highest settings.

#5 Tony.

Tony.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 7,006 posts
  • Joined: 10-February 05
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 30 April 2013 - 20:13

GTA IV does have poor performance issues. This is because the game itself is a crap port of what was available for the 360 and PS3. This is normal. Patches did improve things but it's still pretty bad compared to a lot of other games which is a shame.

#6 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • 16,452 posts
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 30 April 2013 - 20:20

Does Grand Theft Auto IV have known resource chugging/ eating issues? I have a new 2013 Asus laptop that has Amd A8-4500m quad core processor with radeon 7640g graphics. My laptop is not a high end gaming laptop by any means, but it does run newer games fairly well. GTA IV is a 5 years old game, and i have come to believe GTA IV is just not a well designed game technically wise. BTW, GTA IV does run well, but it lags in some areas, in which it should not and is absurd!


I don't even get 60fps with a Core i7 4.6GHz, 12GB RAM and 2x GTX680s. It was an incredibly poorly optimised game.

#7 Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • 2,745 posts
  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 30 April 2013 - 20:30

GTA IV does have poor performance issues. This is because the game itself is a crap port of what was available for the 360 and PS3. This is normal. Patches did improve things but it's still pretty bad compared to a lot of other games which is a shame.


I agree. I had a buddy who wanted to buy a laptop capable of running GTA IV, he went out and spent 2000 dollars, US cash, on a really NICE HP laptop, then went and bought a XBOX360 controller just to play it. It played fine, for a few weeks, then he brings it to me and I about crapped my pants....it played like mortal poo! I system restored, heck I did everything I could think of...and it STILL played like poo. So I handed his laptop back to him, apologized, and I've never seen nor heard from him since. He was a good friend and I'll always wonder where he is/miss him. (but not in that way....if you know what I mean. I don't play for the other team.)

#8 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • 5,279 posts
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 30 April 2013 - 20:50

GTA4 is pretty heavy but shouldn't be that bad, although the OPs graphics might not be up to it (at high resolutions or high settings.) I know I had to lower settings on plenty of games on our desktop A8-3850, not surprised you'd have to as well.

GTA4 being dx9 certainly doesn't help matters with these procs.

#9 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,943 posts
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 30 April 2013 - 21:18

I've read that some mods actually make it run better, as the original game is heavily CPU dependent, and the mods move some of he graphics onto the GPU.

So I've read.

#10 Colicab

Colicab

    DGDesign

  • 4,186 posts
  • Joined: 25-May 03
  • Location: Glasgow Scotland

Posted 01 May 2013 - 08:14

I've read that some mods actually make it run better, as the original game is heavily CPU dependent, and the mods move some of he graphics onto the GPU.

So I've read.


Not from what Ive seen, not really. Ran it on my mates Quad Core Q6600 with a radeon 5650 or something low end and it ran but at a low res with a good bit of lag at points. Mods gave it maybe a 5% difference

Modded it via car mods etc aswell and after a while it just glitches with a near constant spawning of the same 2-3 vehicle types etc. Game in general is badly, badly ported.

#11 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • 2,192 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 02 May 2013 - 18:50

It does eat resources, but you will be fine. I have everything maxed out @ 1920x1080
Own a GTX 680 4GB and still makes mine look wimpy hehe

On the normal I have 40-60 FPS, but it sure does look better than on console :D

I use an Afterglow 360 controller and no issues

Check it out:
Posted Image