Jump to content



Photo

Detect monitoring software.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
27 replies to this topic

#1 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 07 May 2013 - 14:09

Can anyone recommend a program to detect this kind of software?
I was thinking maybe SuperAntiSpyware would do the trick for the pc but im not sur plus i need software to scan a mac too :/

reason for the check is because my dad says his computer guy said something about monitoring someone elses computer.


#2 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 07 May 2013 - 14:16

Can anyone recommend a program to detect this kind of software?
I was thinking maybe SuperAntiSpyware would do the trick for the pc but im not sur plus i need software to scan a mac too :/

reason for the check is because my dad says his computer guy said something about monitoring someone elses computer.


Perhaps he meant he would use remote desktop software to access your PC to repair it.

#3 OP Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 07 May 2013 - 14:26

No, the conversation was explained to me im on about monitoring software not remote admin.

#4 OP Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 08 May 2013 - 06:21

No one able to help with this?
Will SuperAntiSpyware do the job??

#5 Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 08 May 2013 - 07:02

The computer guy was pretty vague and could have explained (a lot) more. Any decent antimalware solution will at least pretend to be looking for all kinds of malware - keyloggers, screencapture, camera programs etc.. Try something that actually might do the job, though. Kaspersky, probably. Also has a Mac version, but mac-schmac, nobody writes malware for Mac. Keep it updated daily - it is imperative. Be sure to have properly configured two firewalls (software whitelist and hardware SPI enabled on router). And nothing will do the job if user doesn't want it to. That's the long and short of it.

#6 OP Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 08 May 2013 - 08:17

Thanks for the reply Phouchg i dont really want to go into details about what i was told but it defiantly was not right and obviously got my dad worried about his own security. The guy is nosy and will find out things that he really should not know and has been caught out a few times, i'll look at trying some software inc kaspersky (i have a spare key).

Edit:
Will admit i did not know Kaspersky would detect monitoring programs so good to know

#7 sc305495

sc305495

    "do or do not, there is no try"

  • Joined: 30-November 03
  • Location: CT

Posted 08 May 2013 - 12:50

There is a lot of monitoring software out there typically used by schools / businesses.... but you can typically see the process running and usually can't kill it... so any process you can't kill should be a good place to start. Once i identified such a process I would Google it for more info.

#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 107
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 08 May 2013 - 14:05

"The guy is nosy and will find out things that he really should not know and has been caught out a few times,"

Then why and the F would you give him your computer? I am at a complete loss to why you would let someone have access to your machine that you did not trust?? If you do not trust him, then WIPE the machine and get someone you trust or do it yourself.

So just because you run software X and it does not find something, does not mean its clean.. Even if you ran software Y, and Z as well - you still could not be 100% sure, etc.

If your concerned that this computer guy installed something - for peace of mind, I would wipe it and find a guy you trust.

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 08 May 2013 - 14:14

If it is a legit software like teamviewer or logmein then no antimalware solution will pick it up. There are more than just those two, a lot more, I am just using them as an example of well known remote utilities. Most legit softwares have a icon in the taskbar or information area by the time, there are quite a few that do not. You will see most legit softwares put a uninstall option in add/remove programs or the program manager is they do an install, there are some that do not install anything or are ran via java script and there are no install traces. The ones that do not install are single use and need to run again when someone needs access. Any respectable person or company will use legit software to assist users.

#10 OP Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 08 May 2013 - 14:57

There is a lot of monitoring software out there typically used by schools / businesses.... but you can typically see the process running and usually can't kill it... so any process you can't kill should be a good place to start. Once i identified such a process I would Google it for more info.

Checking processes is going to be hard my dad isn't that great wth a computer unless i get him to install teamviwer and i try ad do it my end but with his mac i would be lost.

"The guy is nosy and will find out things that he really should not know and has been caught out a few times,"

Then why and the F would you give him your computer? I am at a complete loss to why you would let someone have access to your machine that you did not trust?? If you do not trust him, then WIPE the machine and get someone you trust or do it yourself.

So just because you run software X and it does not find something, does not mean its clean.. Even if you ran software Y, and Z as well - you still could not be 100% sure, etc.

If your concerned that this computer guy installed something - for peace of mind, I would wipe it and find a guy you trust.

Budman, i dont see how your response helps one bit but to answer your query and to waste both our times i shall respond...

The guy is always onsite as he works mainly for my dad but has a side business doing what? Fixing computers! (he does the local area)
To get someone else in would mean a minimum of a 40minute drive due to the location, plus figuring out why everything is set up like it is then my dad would need to call them everytime he buys a new gadget and the list is growing! (he lives above his business and the networks are combined (private/guest internet))

Flattening the machines isn't an option my dd would not know how, plus he would need the current guy to install the programs he wanted again because my dad really does not understand it all (he's calling me tomorrow after a scan to make sure he's doing it right)

Also one machine is a company machine and ALL members of staff have access to it as its the media system but has net access and no restricts that im aware of (Sony touch screen)

If it is a legit software like teamviewer or logmein then no antimalware solution will pick it up. There are more than just those two, a lot more, I am just using them as an example of well known remote utilities. Most legit softwares have a icon in the taskbar or information area by the time, there are quite a few that do not. You will see most legit softwares put a uninstall option in add/remove programs or the program manager is they do an install, there are some that do not install anything or are ran via java script and there are no install traces. The ones that do not install are single use and need to run again when someone needs access. Any respectable person or company will use legit software to assist users.

Yes i use teamviewer myself and i am asked to type in the other persons ID and Pass which changes every run of the program what he was describing was the darker side of just getting what he wanted.

Edit:
Forgot to mention my dad is going to talk to someone else about this anyhow he should be able to shed a brighter light on the situation and maybe advise something.

#11 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 08 May 2013 - 15:04

Right. Good luck. Perhaps loading on a software firewall and block all outgoing communications other that the browser. That could help.

Btw with teamviewer you can setup a password to never change and setup a teamviewer client to remember the connection so all you would have to do is double click on the icon to gain access. It doesn't always have to change, that is just the way you use it. Many remote utils have this ability. I use logmein for my wife's work computers all I need to do is type in an admin user password to gain access, they don't need to do anything on their end other than have the computer powered up.

#12 OP Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 08 May 2013 - 15:28

Thanks for the reply sc302 and never looked at the always on function with teamviewer but will admit be handy when sorting out my granddads machine lol

As for restricting the outgoing communications i guess this is something i could speak to my dad about but would also need to password protect everything i guess, problem is i know he would look on the net to try and find a way around it need to think about it tonight and do some research i think see what i can do or suggest to my dad.

#13 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 08 May 2013 - 16:08

Working for a consulting company we would always use something that would allow us access to the customers computer if they were going to be a re occuring client that we would visit weekly or monthly. Home users we only did this to if they had issues with allowing us to connect, but with things like teamviewer, showmypc, join.me and the likes it is very easy to walk someone through getting them there to give us access which does not require an always on client.

#14 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 107
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 08 May 2013 - 17:23

"Budman, i dont see how your response helps one"

My point is that we could suggest you run 50 different products looking for something.. Does not mean even if you run all 50 of them that something is still not there.

If you have concerns that they put something on your machine to "spy" on you - then your only real course of action would be to wipe it!! Unless you plan on sniffing the outbound traffic and watching for something for a such a period of time that you were fairly sure its clear.

If the skill is not there to wipe and install what you need, then I suggest you contact someone you trust to do that for you.

#15 +RedReddington

RedReddington

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 08 May 2013 - 17:25

Yeah the best solution would be to Wipe and Reinstall Windows/Mac OS if your worried.