Jump to content



Photo

Geforce GT620

geforce

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:19

How well will the Nvidia Gt620 run games? Will it be able to run games like fallout new vegas at full resolution and/or high settings?


#2 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:24

The GT 620 is a low end GPU, so you'll most likely have to play on low settings.
It's slightly slower than the integrated HD 4000 built-in to the latest Intel processors.

http://www.videocard...range_gpus.html

#3 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:27

I am looking to buy a good card but less than $100. Are there any cards that will run fallout new vegas at high settings and or high resolution? I currently have a hd4200 intregrated graphics chip.

#4 richardsim7

richardsim7

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-January 05
  • Location: London - UK

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:27

See also: http://www.tomshardw...iew,3107-7.html

#5 Knive Party

Knive Party

    To Death

  • Joined: 25-June 07
  • OS: Windows 8.1 update 3
  • Phone: Galaxy S2 CM

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:37

gee, wanna be specific or something? resolution? what cpu? fallout is more cpu intensive if im not mistaken

#6 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:38

Right now I have a intregrated hd4200 graphics, it struggles to run fallout 3 at 1920x1080 at medium settings. What kind of budget graphics card will run fallout 3 and new vegas at 1920x1080 resolution at medium settings?

I have a dell inspiron 570, a athlon ii x4 processor, 6gb of ram, 1tb hard drive, hd 4200 graphics intregrated.

#7 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:41

The sub-$100 range gets a little tough to get a good performing card.

This might be your best bet: AMD 7750
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814121633

If you can stretch your budget to around $150-175, you can get a card with about twice the performance of the 7750.
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814130910

Generally the best value (price-to-performance) is in the $150-250 price range.

#8 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:45

Thanks, its a little overwhelming how many cards are out there. How is the gt620 compared to my intregated hd4200?

#9 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:52

The GT 620 is probably 3 or 4 times faster than the HD4200 and has other nice features such as DirectX 11 support.

Between the 620 and 7750, you'll get much more performance from the 7750 for not much higher of a price.

#10 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 09 May 2013 - 16:57

I found this card
http://www.ebay.com/...=item3cd1109253

#11 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 09 May 2013 - 17:15

Get this one for $10 more:
http://www.ebay.com/...=item3f2416ccdc

#12 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 10 May 2013 - 18:03

I just bought a AMD ATI Radeon HD 6670 PCI-E graphics card to go with my Dell Inspiron 570 with AMD Athlon 2 X4, 6gb ram, 1tb hard drive! I luckily have a 600watt power supply which hopefully is sufficiant

#13 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 10 May 2013 - 18:07

I just bought a AMD ATI Radeon HD 6670 PCI-E graphics card to go with my Dell Inspiron 570 with AMD Athlon 2 X4, 6gb ram, 1tb hard drive! I luckily have a 600watt power supply which hopefully is sufficiant


Did you pay less than $50 for it? If not, that GT 640 I gave you a link to would have been a better one to get.

#14 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 10 May 2013 - 18:13

Did you pay less than $50 for it? If not, that GT 640 I gave you a link to would have been a better one to get.


I paid 36 for it, I have researched it a little before getting it. It appears to be a good card. It will probably be a hell of a lot better than the intergrated hd4200 chip in my pc!

#15 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 10 May 2013 - 18:30

I paid 36 for it, I have researched it a little before getting it. It appears to be a good card. It will probably be a hell of a lot better than the intergrated hd4200 chip in my pc!


That's a good price. Well done!