Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 17 May 2013 - 05:48

I had my laptop fixed and Win 7 was put back on by my OEM, I put Win 8 on it, and by playing with some applications while I was putting everything back on it it now says it's deactivated and when go to Windows activation click the activate button I get a error code: 0x8007232B and DNS name does not exist. I have a legit key so I don't quite understand.

And part 2 of my question, when I tried to a clean install of Win8 it wouldn't let me telling me that the primary partition couldn't be used. the only thing I could do was do a Win 7 to Win 8 upgrade. When I first got this machine in Oct of last year, I don't think it did that when I put Win 8 on it, I could be wrong, I can't remember. But I still want to do a clean install before I put too much stuff on it. Thanks in advance.


#2 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 17 May 2013 - 06:20

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929826

If you really have legit key- then contact Microsoft-
I had that happen once with a Server 2008 machine and they talked me through resetting the activation.

#3 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 17 May 2013 - 12:39

Thanks that worked....Can anyone help me with my other question?

#4 este

este

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-July 07

Posted 17 May 2013 - 12:41

You'll need to reformat the partition when you're in the Windows 8 setup and it asks you which drive you wish to install on. I actually had to delete a partition I had, reformat the drive to be used for Windows 8 and it worked.

#5 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 17 May 2013 - 12:50

I'm going with este. As long as your upgrade key can let you go to the setup area, there will be no problems. Go ahead and give that drive a good format. It will make the PC feel fresh.

Also, remember to backup your files ;)

#6 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 17 May 2013 - 22:26

My laptop is a Lenovo and they put 2 partitons on it, I was thinking of deleting them, and I guess reformat the whole thing.

#7 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Support the Cat federation against cruel Dogs

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 17 May 2013 - 22:34

The first partition may the the windows back up partition as most manufacturers no longer provide a CD due to license changes by MS.

#8 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 18 May 2013 - 02:26

So should I back up that partition, I have an external harddrive.

#9 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 19 May 2013 - 20:27

So should I back up that partition, I have an external harddrive.

Do that in case you want to restore to Factory Defaults (In case something went really wrong)

#10 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 May 2013 - 13:36

Can anyone explain why this keeps popping up?

Attached Images

  • 2013-05-21_093344.png


#11 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 21 May 2013 - 13:57

You've got a 2nd hard drive or USB plugged in that isn't formatted.

#12 este

este

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-July 07

Posted 21 May 2013 - 13:57

So should I back up that partition, I have an external harddrive.

I guess that's a personal preference thing. I don't particularly care about those built-in restore systems; I usually format the drive cleanly and just install the OS over it. I've never found those recovery systems to be worthwhile. (But that's just me, you should make a backup anyway just to feel safe)
As for your other screen shot there ^ I would just click OK for MBR, it should be fine.

#13 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 May 2013 - 15:19

I can't delete this partition, when I right click on it the only option I get is Help.

Attached Images

  • 2013-05-21_111159.png


#14 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 22 May 2013 - 07:23

How do I delete this??? :s

Attached Images

  • 2013-05-22_025831.png


#15 Radium

Radium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-April 04

Posted 22 May 2013 - 22:26

Try to use DISKPART.
Open CMD as administrator and start Diskpart.
Type HELP for a list of commands.
LIST will help you list your disks, volumes etc.
There are some attributes that should protect from being deleted. If you can't delete a partition, then you could do a force deletion through DISKPART.
There are plenty of DISKPART examples on the web. The ATTRIBUTES command will allow you to read and write attributes.
I'm not familiar how the GUI version works. If a partitioning software complies with the standard then you'll have do a bit more to remove OEM partitions.
You could give DISKPART a chance. :)