Jump to content



Photo

BT considering trial of gigabit speeds over FTTC

uk bt fttc gigabit

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • 5,504 posts
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 18 May 2013 - 19:39

BT considering trial of gigabit speeds over FTTC fibre broadband with G.fast

BT is considering trials of gigabit speeds over FTTC (Fibre to the Cabinet) lines.
Bill Murphy, managing director of NGA (Next Generation Access) for BT told Recombu Digital that deployment of G.fast standard technology could see customers getting 1Gbps speeds on FTTC lines over distances of 100 meters from a street cabinet.
While this wouldn’t be helpful to everyone, as not everyone lives within a stone’s throw of a BT cabinet, this could see some customers getting 1Gbps without having to resort to FTTP ON Demand.


Posted Image
If the view out of your bedroom window is similar to this, you could get 1Gbps for less

Initial prices released for FTTP On Demand show that upgrading an FTTC line to a faster FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) type connection isn't going to be cheap. So a way in which customers could get FTTP-type speeds without necessarily forking out for a last mile upgrade is likely to be well received.

Murphy told us that plans to implement G.fast on BT FTTC lines were very much “on the horizon.” It’s something that BT is looking alongside trials of vectoring, which could see speeds of up to 100Mbps arriving on FTTC, are taking place. Murphy told us:
“This is part of a long-term plan about how to evolve the network and how we can still deliver prices and speeds that will people pay for and deliver services that people will need.”

The idea of gigabit speeds over FTTC might seem like a pipe dream. The last mile of BT’s FTTC lines are made up of copper and as such are subject to interference. This makes delivering hyperfast speeds over long distances difficult, compared to a pure fibre connection.

However back in 2011, Huawei announced prototypes of Giga DSL technology, which promises to reduce interference to the point where download and upload speeds of 1Gbps are possible within 100 meters and 500Mbps and faster can be achieved within 200 meters.

BT's vectoring trials, which are testing out 100Mbps speeds over FTTC, will take place across a number of areas this summer.


Source


#2 Gaffney

Gaffney

    I have no title

  • 1,783 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 09

Posted 18 May 2013 - 23:08

How much would you pay to get a house next to a street cabinet with this? Remember these speeds probably won't be going nationwide for at least a decade.

#3 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,452 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 18 May 2013 - 23:22

My cabinet is almost 1,400 metres away, I don't think it's going to get a trail in my street.

#4 grabageek

grabageek

    Neowinian

  • 132 posts
  • Joined: 08-November 12
  • Location: Derby
  • OS: Linux, Windows, Android

Posted 18 May 2013 - 23:24

I already have a 120mbit connection through VirginMedia Cable however if the price was right (and I am within 100 meters of a fiber enabled box) then I would consider it.

#5 FlintyV

FlintyV

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,377 posts
  • Joined: 14-December 06

Posted 19 May 2013 - 00:58

I'd see anything greater than my current 8Mbps as a god-send.

#6 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • 12,863 posts
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 19 May 2013 - 01:10

Australia will be watching this in anticipation for the next few years...

#7 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • 9,775 posts
  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 19 May 2013 - 21:09

So you get Gig Speeds to Cab after that you have to deal with Contention Ratios, Throttling and other crappy BT Infrastructure. *sigh*

#8 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,386 posts
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 19 May 2013 - 21:12

So you get Gig Speeds to Cab after that you have to deal with Contention Ratios, Throttling and other crappy BT Infrastructure. *sigh*

Sorry I think you're getting confused between BT and VM there. BT doesn't do throttling UNLESS you download torrents. VM on the other hand throttles you to 30% of your connection speed if you download so much within peak times.

#9 FloatingFatMan

FloatingFatMan

    Resident Fat Dude

  • 16,017 posts
  • Joined: 23-August 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 20 May 2013 - 07:25

Sorry I think you're getting confused between BT and VM there. BT doesn't do throttling UNLESS you download torrents. VM on the other hand throttles you to 30% of your connection speed if you download so much within peak times.


Small correction. VM do not throttle people on their top tier of service.

#10 hjf288

hjf288

    Korean Crazy Man!

  • 2,423 posts
  • Joined: 19-April 03
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 20 May 2013 - 07:54

Wrong fat man they throttle all.

Also n_k they reduce your speed by 30% not to 30%

#11 glen8

glen8

    Neowinian

  • 1,001 posts
  • Joined: 16-August 02

Posted 20 May 2013 - 07:58

So you get Gig Speeds to Cab after that you have to deal with Contention Ratios, Throttling and other crappy BT Infrastructure. *sigh*


This is fibre not ADSL. Different technology.

Funnily enough I was on a course last week covering this and technically there should be no slow down no matter how many people are connected to the cab

#12 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • 9,775 posts
  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 20 May 2013 - 08:14

This is fibre not ADSL. Different technology.

Funnily enough I was on a course last week covering this and technically there should be no slow down no matter how many people are connected to the cab


Explain how that works? Its got to connect to a router or switch sooner or later. There is no technology in the world (Yet) that would not produce slowdowns if it is getting hammered by a number of users.

This is fibre not ADSL. Different technology.

Funnily enough I was on a course last week covering this and technically there should be no slow down no matter how many people are connected to the cab


Explain how that works? Its got to connect to a router or switch sooner or later. There is no technology in the world (Yet) that would not produce slowdowns if it is getting hammered by a number of users.

This is fibre not ADSL. Different technology.

Funnily enough I was on a course last week covering this and technically there should be no slow down no matter how many people are connected to the cab


Explain how that works? Its got to connect to a router or switch sooner or later. There is no technology in the world (Yet) that would not produce slowdowns if it is getting hammered by a number of users.

#13 watkinsx2

watkinsx2

    Neowinian

  • 335 posts
  • Joined: 11-December 01
  • Location: Hertfordshire
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC One/Lumia 920

Posted 20 May 2013 - 08:45

Contention wont be at the cabinet but further up.

#14 MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    #ForzaJules

  • 16,699 posts
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 20 May 2013 - 09:36

Sorry I think you're getting confused between BT and VM there. BT doesn't do throttling UNLESS you download torrents. VM on the other hand throttles you to 30% of your connection speed if you download so much within peak times.

Small correction. VM do not throttle people on their top tier of service.

Two small corrections. Virgin Media throttles users to 70% of your connection speed if you download above a certain amount in an hour, then to 60% if you go above another amount in the next hour. And Virgin Media do throttle people on the top tier (120Mb): http://my.virginmedi...thresholds.html

#15 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,386 posts
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 20 May 2013 - 09:37

Wrong fat man they throttle all.

Also n_k they reduce your speed by 30% not to 30%

From what I remember I looked into the small print (this was on their business service) and it stated being limited to 30%.
Found the page for residential VM throttling, HAHA thank god I left that god awful company, what an utter con;
Level of speed reduction? The 1 hour reduction on the downstream is 30%
The 2 hour reduction on the downstream is 40%
The 1 hour reduction on the upstream is 60%
The 2 hour reduction on the upstream is 75%