Jump to content



Photo

Something's wierd with my..system


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#16 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 21 May 2013 - 14:08

this is my guess,but I am pretty damn sure this is your problem.


1.freeze can occur from overheating

2.your fans are on full blast, again from overheating

3. your motherboard told you to check frequencies,because it detected overheating therefore its asking you to lower frequencies

again,this is my guess,but I would take out the cpu, re do the thermal paste,and reseat it properly. try again.

check what temps you are getting in the bios. it should have a temp monitor


#17 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 21 May 2013 - 17:51

So..I'll test de psu on another system..but I don't think it's the main issue. Haven't understood how to boot from usb.. cause this option is really missing!


again,this is my guess,but I would take out the cpu, re do the thermal paste,and reseat it properly. try again.
check what temps you are getting in the bios. it should have a temp monitor


temps. are fine..verified in bios (cpu 31degrees and mobo ~ 38).. I've also considered thermal paste is my worry..cause it haven't been chaged for years (~8yrs) but no worried with temps.

#18 +goretsky

goretsky

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 04
  • Location: Southern California

Posted 21 May 2013 - 19:58

Hello,

This might be a side issue, but given the age of the motherboard, I'm wondering if the CMOS/RTC backup battery needs to be replaced. It's CR-2032 +5VDC +3VDC Lithium coin cell in a socket on the motherboard.

The battery is used to provide a trickle of current to the CMOS memory, which stores the BIOS settings and keeps the date/time clock going when power is turned off. When the battery drops below the level to keep the CMOS memory charged, the BIOS settings can become corrupted and the clock no longer set to the correct day and time.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky

#19 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 21 May 2013 - 20:16

I'll replace it tommorow and come with news.. :( - thanks for quick support until now.

#20 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 21 May 2013 - 21:18

Haven't understood how to boot from usb.. cause this option is really missing!

For updating the BIOS on that board you would need to do it by floppy.

If it was the battery being low you can just check the time & date is correct when you set it then power it off unplug it power it on to drain any charge it has and plug it back in and check.

Its likely the motherboard has had it.

#21 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 22 May 2013 - 01:53

Hello,

This might be a side issue, but given the age of the motherboard, I'm wondering if the CMOS/RTC backup battery needs to be replaced. It's CR-2032 +5VDC Lithium coin cell in a socket on the motherboard.

The battery is used to provide a trickle of current to the CMOS memory, which stores the BIOS settings and keeps the date/time clock going when power is turned off. When the battery drops below the level to keep the CMOS memory charged, the BIOS settings can become corrupted and the clock no longer set to the correct day and time.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky

Just FYI NO cell battery is 5V, they are 3V.

#22 +goretsky

goretsky

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 04
  • Location: Southern California

Posted 22 May 2013 - 04:06

Hello,

Oops, thanks! I've edited my post.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky

#23 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 22 May 2013 - 16:37

tried with new battery..same story.. loses video signal + fans on max.rotation. sad :/

#24 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 22 May 2013 - 16:39

tried with new battery..same story.. loses video signal + fans on max.rotation. sad :/


Did you run MemTest86 yet?

#25 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 22 May 2013 - 16:53

Have you tried using different ram? I have had this with bad ram.

#26 OP Cosmin

Cosmin

    Graphics & Engineering

  • Joined: 12-October 02
  • Location: Europe

Posted 22 May 2013 - 19:55

Did you run MemTest86 yet?

No.. I can't log-in to operating system..

Have you tried using different ram? I have had this with bad ram.

there are 3 modules.. 2x512 & 1 for 1Gb - I can try with a single one..

#27 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 22 May 2013 - 19:58

You dont need to logon to your OS to run memtest86



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!