Jump to content



Photo

Seagate Expansion 1TB External Hard Disk issue, please help me!


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#31 OP Arun Kashyap

Arun Kashyap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-August 12
  • Location: Port Blair, India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 5800 XpressMusic

Posted 22 May 2013 - 14:54

"What do I do to the PCB?"

What?? You don't do anything with the circuit board in the case (PCB - Printed Circuit Board).. It was most likely damaged in the fall.

I think there is a bit of language barrier so far in this thread. You have been told MULTIPLE times to open up the case and take the drive out and connect it to your PC directly.. I don't know how else to explain this too you. I would suggest you have a friend that understands english better read this thread and translate for you.


I am sorry for understanding after a lot of time...I don't know much about the hard drive technologies :) . I'll ask a technician to connect it to the CPU. I'll ask later if I have any query. :)


#32 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 22 May 2013 - 15:01

"What do I do to the PCB?"

What?? You don't do anything with the circuit board in the case (PCB - Printed Circuit Board).. It was most likely damaged in the fall.

I think there is a bit of language barrier so far in this thread. You have been told MULTIPLE times to open up the case and take the drive out and connect it to your PC directly.. I don't know how else to explain this too you. I would suggest you have a friend that understands english better read this thread and translate for you.


Go easy on him Bud, he's 15 and his English is better than some other people on this forum.

P.S. How's your Tamil?

#33 OP Arun Kashyap

Arun Kashyap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-August 12
  • Location: Port Blair, India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 5800 XpressMusic

Posted 22 May 2013 - 15:09

Go easy on him Bud, he's 15 and his English is better than some other people on this forum.

P.S. How's your Tamil?


Lol! Thank you very much for the compliment :)...by the way, I am fluent in Telugu, don't know much Tamil. :p

#34 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 May 2013 - 16:47

I wasn't meaning to be hard on him, just stating what I saw as an issue with the discussion. His english is much better than my any other language on the planet..

Just that it seemed there was something being loss in the translation - be it lack of understanding of the technical terms, etc.

I have nothing but the greatest of respect for anyone that even can converse at basic level in multiple languages.. I can ask for the bathroom or a beer in spanish and german and french.. But thats about it ;)

Technical terms can be the hardest between languages, I tried to be basic in my description of what needed to be done. Along with spelling out the PCB acronym being used, etc.

Not sure how to say take the hard drive out of the case and directly connect it to your computer any simpler?

<snipped per OP request>

#35 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 22 May 2013 - 18:59

Yeah BudMan is a great contribution to this forum :)
He meant no harm

#36 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 22 May 2013 - 19:42

To enlighten you OP, here is a video on how to do what everyone is suggesting (take the HDD out of the black case and then connect that HDD internally) .

Its quite simple and dont be scared. Last night I took apart my Seagate GoFlex 750GB drive, so I could use it as a hot swap.

Video:


#37 OP Arun Kashyap

Arun Kashyap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-August 12
  • Location: Port Blair, India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 5800 XpressMusic

Posted 23 May 2013 - 02:27

To enlighten you OP, here is a video on how to do what everyone is suggesting (take the HDD out of the black case and then connect that HDD internally) .

Its quite simple and dont be scared. Last night I took apart my Seagate GoFlex 750GB drive, so I could use it as a hot swap.

Video:


Thank you very much! :D

#38 OP Arun Kashyap

Arun Kashyap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-August 12
  • Location: Port Blair, India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 5800 XpressMusic

Posted 04 June 2013 - 15:30

I am back, with a new problem. I took out the hard drive from the casing, tried to connect it internally, but the hard drive was the same as it was before externally. What do I do?

#39 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 04 June 2013 - 16:22

Have you tried it, internally with a Linux boot-CD?

#40 ShareShiz

ShareShiz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 04 June 2013 - 16:40

You're SOL. Warrenty doesn't cover physically dammaged components. And you scratched the platters of your HDD.

BTW. Seagate sucks. Lost 1.5 TB of crucial data because the damn thing didn't want to work a week after buying, and seagate wouldn't do anything about it.

Seagate. A company to stay away from.

#41 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 04 June 2013 - 16:55

I had a Western Digital 1.5TB that I broke the SATA/Power connectors off. I sent in a RMA, and they just gave me a new drive. :)

#42 moloko

moloko

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-December 02

Posted 04 June 2013 - 18:03

I am in the same situation as the OP. Mine was a laptop drive, partitioned into 3. One for windows, 2 for other. The 2 others work fine, but the First Windows OS partition does not. I will also try with linux.

#43 OP Arun Kashyap

Arun Kashyap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-August 12
  • Location: Port Blair, India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 5800 XpressMusic

Posted 05 June 2013 - 11:01

On the advice of a technician, I am told to keep the hard drive in the refrigerator. Will this trick work?