Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 and Admin Rights


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 21 May 2013 - 22:02

Hi,

I've looked around and found no concrete explanation of what to do to fix this issue. I finally gave in and bought Windows 8 Pro x64 and I turned off UAC as I always do. My profile is administrator but no matter what I do, if it requires admin rights, I either get the annoying message asking if I want to continue with admin rights or I just get stopped. For example with 7-zip if I use the context menu to drag and extract it fails saying this function needs elevated privileges. I have tried adding run as admin to all the exe files for 7-zip but that Fixes nothing. I think I am just missing some small setting.

Can anyone fix this?

Thanks!


#2 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 21 May 2013 - 22:41

Disabled or silenced UAC? The suppression method used by the drag and drop action still hasn't been addressed by 7Zip to my knowledge (as it creates a temp copy in a protected location - a no no)

I'll wager it works normally if you used the builtin Administrator account. Or give your user ownership of the temp location and 'Allow' full control.

#3 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 21 May 2013 - 22:45

try HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System
EnableLUA =0
Reboot

#4 stumper66

stumper66

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 09
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Posted 21 May 2013 - 23:54

try HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System
EnableLUA =0
Reboot

This will completely disable UAC, however it also disables all Metro apps, so it's a trade-off.

#5 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 22 May 2013 - 18:16

Ok, this is going beyond the posted issue now. I can't even add or remove add ins for Outlook anymore. It keeps saying adding or removing Outlook add ins requires an administrator.

My account is set as admin so how do I fix it so Windows 8 knows I am?

Cheers,


#6 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 22 May 2013 - 18:21

Ok, this is going beyond the posted issue now. I can't even add or remove add ins for Outlook anymore. It keeps saying adding or removing Outlook add ins requires an administrator.

My account is set as admin so how do I fix it so Windows 8 knows I am?

Cheers,

Oh quirk with Outlook; If you change the state of UAC after Outlook was installed then it goes all funny

#7 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 23 May 2013 - 19:45

Oh quirk with Outlook; If you change the state of UAC after Outlook was installed then it goes all funny


Well no that's just part of the problem. Every time I do something that requires admin rights, even as an admin, I have to give MYSELF permission to do it.

I just want to be able to do any admin required stuff without either having to give myself permission or getting stopped altogether.

Thanks,

#8 McDave

McDave

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Cheshire, England

Posted 23 May 2013 - 23:29

I would say firstly reset UAC settings by going to "User Account Control Settings". Move the slider to never notify, press ok, go back in and set back to normal level.

Open up "local security policy"
Local policy > security options
Change the policy called "user account control: behaviour of the elevation prompt for administrators in admin approval mode" to "elevate without prompting" then reset computer.

This should fix things for you.

#9 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 28 May 2013 - 19:17

HI,

Yes that is already set. I am now at wits end. By all accounts I have full admin rights but errors pop up all over the place saying, this or that can't be done as you may not have sufficient privileges. Last night I was installing a game and it kept crashing saying the thing about unable to create file you may not have sufficient privileges. I had to go into the install folder and add 'run as administrator' to all the executables compatibility settings just to get it installed.

What is going on?

Thanks again for any help!

#10 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 28 May 2013 - 19:25

NTFS permissions != UAC. By default it wont let you copy files into system directory's and program files. If you do have a game or something and you want to edit its config files a lot edit the ntfs permissions for that games folder or just the config files folder and give your account full control

Run Gpedit.msc and set
Posted Image
instead of disableing UAC

Finally verify your account is a member of the administrators group in local users and groups lusrmgr.msc

#11 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 29 May 2013 - 15:27

NTFS permissions != UAC. By default it wont let you copy files into system directory's and program files. If you do have a game or something and you want to edit its config files a lot edit the ntfs permissions for that games folder or just the config files folder and give your account full control

Run Gpedit.msc and set
Posted Image
instead of disableing UAC

Finally verify your account is a member of the administrators group in local users and groups lusrmgr.msc


Ok, UAC is back on and those settings in the GPE are set as you specified now. I will let you know how it works.

Thanks,

#12 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 29 May 2013 - 19:35

Ok, wow, that made things worse. Now everything I try to do, install anything or copy files etc.. gets stopped and most of the time I get no other option but to cancel the action. I have literally crippled my use with those changes. What can I do now?

Thanks,

#13 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 29 May 2013 - 19:42

A repair install probably because that shouldnt be happening, its not misconfiguration.

#14 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 30 May 2013 - 14:29

A repair install probably because that shouldnt be happening, its not misconfiguration.


Yeah, I tried that last night but it got to 1% the rebooted and said there was a problem. I clicked 'find a fix' and it chugged along for an hour then did nothing. I am going to do an Acronis Restore. I did a backup as soon as I activated and installed all my updates and drivers.

Thanks so much!

#15 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 09 June 2013 - 10:49

Yeah, I tried that last night but it got to 1% the rebooted and said there was a problem. I clicked 'find a fix' and it chugged along for an hour then did nothing. I am going to do an Acronis Restore. I did a backup as soon as I activated and installed all my updates and drivers.

Thanks so much!


Sorry it didn't work for you. I am sure you could of started with a new user account and everything would of been OK. The issue is that so many programs anticipate UAC that they no longer work without it. The other problem is that you usually need to turn UAC off before you install a lot of stuff on the system.