Jump to content



Photo

Asus rt-66u router and dd-wrt

asus

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Gallardof10

Gallardof10

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 27-May 13

Posted 27 May 2013 - 02:18

2_ I have a ASUS RT66U Router that was listed under the supported routers but it had 2 different firmware downloads, so I installed this one first dd-wrt.v24-18702_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx but after I installed it my router rebooted with an IP address that I cannot access, which is 172.x.x.x instead of the default 192.168.1.1 so now I am locked out the of router and unable to install the second firmware listed on the site which is dd-wrt.v24-18702_NEWD-2_K2.6_big_RT-N66U.trx

Can you help me recover the access to the router, have you seen this happened before?


#2 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 27 May 2013 - 02:23

I guess do a 30/30/30 or if not then do the Asus recovery thing. The default should be the 192.168.1.1 so if you can't ping that or access it via telnet then seems something didn't flash right.

#3 Tha Bloo Monkee

Tha Bloo Monkee

    Da Ba Dee Da Ba Die

  • Joined: 03-July 04
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 27 May 2013 - 07:11

Have you looked at the wiki for your router:
https://www.dd-wrt.c...hp/Asus_RT-N66U

Did you read all the warnings, such as this:

9-Apr-2013: It seems more recently manufactured units come pre-loaded with the 64K v1.0.1.3 CFE and so are not compatible with standard DD-WRT builds. Flashing a standard DD-WRT build on these devices will result in a brick. As it is impossible to know which CFE version you unit has when running the stock firmware, anyone wishing to flash DD-WRT on this device is advised to follow this guide:



#4 Emil Valsson

Emil Valsson

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-February 04
  • Location: City 17

Posted 27 May 2013 - 07:49

Have you checked out the Merlin firmware for Asus routers?

http://forums.smalln...isplay.php?f=42

#5 Neztea

Neztea

    DoN't Be SuCh A pLaYa HatA!

  • Joined: 10-November 01

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:03

Dude, I hate to say it, But I think you just bricked your router.

Ran into the same problem with it by following the ddwrt wiki. Unfortunately it wasn't updated and much has changed in the scene.

You should of followed this guide
http://www.perkussio...e-asus-rt-n66u/ or http://charleswilkin...u-with-64k-cfe/

This would of taken into account the CFE, if it is 1.0.1.3 then you are gravy, but if you are 1.0.1.2, then you needed to update it.

If you had just got them recently, then I would recommend returning it and saying that the unit malfunctioned.

If you can't, then you would need to basically unbrick it
http://www.tiaowiki....sing_JTAG_Cable

I hope that this will help : (

Neztea

Edit:

This forum post may help you, there are also people such as Tornado, barryware, and Dark_Shadow who will unbrick it for you if you cannot get it working for a small fee I would assume

http://secure.dd-wrt...der=asc&start=0



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!