Jump to content



Photo

Do you use an adblocker?

adblock

  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use an adblocker?

Do you use an adblocker?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,062 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:03

The 2013 version of the adblock - yay or nay poll. Raa will be happy since I abstained from making this a public poll.

For me the answer is 'yes, on most websites'. There are several websites on my whitelist.


#2 _Heavens

_Heavens

    YOLO Gangsta Prinzes

  • 438 posts
  • Joined: 27-August 12
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android 4.2.1
  • Phone: O+ 8.91

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:08

Yes, all sites

#3 Pam14160

Pam14160

    Lee

  • 2,300 posts
  • Joined: 12-November 07
  • Location: Idaho

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:09

Yes. . . :)

#4 +jamesyfx

jamesyfx

    Neowinian Senior

  • 8,382 posts
  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:15

I have one installed as it's just par of the course, but I use it only selectively i.e. It's off on all websites until I decide on what to block.

Obviously on websites I like to frequent I either pay my way or keep the ads unblocked. :p

#5 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • 5,473 posts
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Tannhäuser Gate
  • OS: ZAX 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:29

Most sites, *including Neowin* (I log in right away, though)
Ads are the blight of the internets and ABP is the cure.

#6 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,681 posts
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:34

I find a Flash blocker (with click to enable) all I need. It makes browsing faster and saves on bandwidth.

#7 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • 2,192 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:42

If Neowin didnt have pop-ups, I would add them to the whitelist :D..
Yes I do use AdBlock-Plus

#8 +Lovell

Lovell

    ,l,(-.-),l,

  • 1,639 posts
  • Joined: 14-November 03
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:46

Yes, All sites.

#9 Torolol

Torolol

  • 2,777 posts
  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 27 May 2013 - 08:51

I block ads based on how annyoing they are, i use proxomitron for that purposes, so it works any browser in my computer.

block candidates:
- ads that using sound / music
- ads that use javascript to floats, to always visible regardless window size or where i scroll the page.
- ads that reload/refresh itself for new ads contents, after a while
- ads that repeatedly sent web-beacon even when i not navigates away from the pages
- ads that open new tab / pop-up.
- ads that use https, I'll add the https certificates into browser's revoked/untrusted list!

whenever I found such ads, i'll see thru the html & .js files, and makes a proxomitron filter for it.
otherwise I'll leave the ads as is.

forgot to add: I also block the "facebook's like" on any non-facebook sites.

#10 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • 2,192 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 27 May 2013 - 09:00

I really wouldnt mind ads if they didnt pop-up, down, sideways, in the air, whatever lol

#11 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,646 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 27 May 2013 - 09:48

I do however I pay for sites like Neowin that I care about

#12 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,978 posts
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 27 May 2013 - 09:56

I used one last year but somewhere in the last 6 months I stopped using any ad blockers. Ads don't really bother me and they're usually quite relevant. It feels a little bit wrong to use an adblocker, since ads are still the most important way to get an income for most sites.

#13 Slugsie

Slugsie

    NeoSlug

  • 824 posts
  • Joined: 10-October 03

Posted 27 May 2013 - 10:15

I block pretty much everywhere. But I do have the option to allow some unobtrusive adverts to be displayed. It makes browsing most websites bearable. Whenever I use a browser without adblocking it's just an awful experience. *The* most annoying of the lot are those that pop over the entire page a few seconds after I start reading the article. Oh, and those that play loud sounds without asking.

#14 ZakO

ZakO

    Neowinian

  • 1,007 posts
  • Joined: 21-September 07
  • Location: Finland

Posted 27 May 2013 - 10:23

Yes. I whitelist sites I like unless they have particularly annoying adverts.

#15 ArKeYa

ArKeYa

    Neowinian

  • 636 posts
  • Joined: 15-September 04

Posted 27 May 2013 - 10:48

It's off by default. But if I see an ad that bothers me, for example being obtrusive, I block it, maybe even the whole site.

But I cannot figure how to block hover ads. When I accidentally hover a word/link and an ad pops up. Anyone knows how to block them?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!