Jump to content



Photo

Nvidia video cards SLI


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Desgent

Desgent

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-May 10

Posted 31 May 2013 - 22:33

Is it possible to use a 285gtx with a 660ti in a SLI set-up?


#2 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 31 May 2013 - 22:37

No. You can use 2 different cards in SLI mode but they have to be from the same series (EG you could use an 8600 and an 8800 but not an 8600 and a 9600)

#3 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 31 May 2013 - 22:38

nope.

best you could do is maybe assign the 285 as a physx GPU

#4 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 03 June 2013 - 21:43

Sorry to hijack.. but could I sli my 670 with a 680 then?

#5 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 03 June 2013 - 21:46

Sorry to hijack.. but could I sli my 670 with a 680 then?


I think you can, but the 680 is going to clock down to 670 speeds if you do that.

#6 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 03 June 2013 - 22:01

Ah right.. I'll just wait till im pushing the limits of my 670 then sell it for the next gen then :)

#7 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.2
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 03 June 2013 - 22:16

I think you can, but the 680 is going to clock down to 670 speeds if you do that.

This is correct. If you do use two similar cards, both will inherit the specifications of the slowest card in the configuration.

I ran SLi for about 2 years, and while I generally liked it, it was a bit of a pain in the ass doing so. Some new games would not get an SLi profile right at launch, so would have to manually create one, which was easy enough, but just one extra step. I just felt like the support was not fully there. So I sold them to get a single card solution equal to what I had, and I have been a happy camper ever since.

I might go ahead and do it again once my card drops in price just to get that extra performance, but for now I prefer a single card solution. Just less work overall.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!