Jump to content



Photo

PS4 hard drive is user replaceable


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:11

https://twitter.com/...364530333274112

So where is that Neowin member who spent posts arguing with me and finally ended with wonder what Sony fans will say when Sony do the same as MS.....


#2 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:13

Avoiding PS4 threads by looks of it.

Great news, but means I have to find another £100+ for a big SSD :(

Hope 256GB will be big enough to start with.

#3 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:20

Chances are due to the design of the console adding a SSD will be a waste of money and you won't get any actual increased performance of it, well SSD don't actually increase performance anyway, but chance are you won't get the perceived increased performance of faster loading times either.

#4 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:22

It's a console designed about loading games from HDD, I'd be surprised if it didn't speed it up.

#5 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:23

The board supports sata 3 so there will be some performance increase over a 7200rpm drive

#6 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:26

perceived

Two things:
1: You're on crack.
2: You're on crack.

#7 Ian William

Ian William

    Neowinian Resident Werewolf

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-March 13
  • OS: Windows Vista

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:27

Chances are due to the design of the console adding a SSD will be a waste of money and you won't get any actual increased performance of it, well SSD don't actually increase performance anyway, but chance are you won't get the perceived increased performance of faster loading times either.


...SSD doesn't increase performance...?

#8 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:30

Chances are due to the design of the console adding a SSD will be a waste of money and you won't get any actual increased performance of it, well SSD don't actually increase performance anyway, but chance are you won't get the perceived increased performance of faster loading times either.

http://www.tomshardw...sd,3062-12.html
enjoy

#9 the better twin

the better twin

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • OS: Win 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:32

well SSD don't actually increase performance anyway,

ha ha ha ha ha ha oh wow.

#10 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:34

Chances are due to the design of the console adding a SSD will be a waste of money and you won't get any actual increased performance of it, well SSD don't actually increase performance anyway, but chance are you won't get the perceived increased performance of faster loading times either.


LOL! Are you for real? I know you are a Xbone one fan, but come on. Off course Solid-State Drives would offer increased performances Hard Disk Drives. Especially over 7200rpm drives.

#11 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:34

Before you all jump on him, I think he means with regards to consoles, I know putting an SSD in PS3 didn't do diddly squat but then games weren't fully stored on on the HDD.

#12 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:34

LOL! Are you for real? I know you are a Xbone one fan, but come on. Off course SDD would offer increased performances. Especially over 7200rpm drives.

I'm also an X1 fan. I intend to get a USB3 SSD for it at some point.

#13 44MLX

44MLX

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-December 11
  • Location: London
  • OS: Win 8
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:37

Would an external hard drive work?

#14 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:37

Chances are due to the design of the console adding a SSD will be a waste of money and you won't get any actual increased performance of it, well SSD don't actually increase performance anyway, but chance are you won't get the perceived increased performance of faster loading times either.

Yeah, well, we shall see.

#15 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 11 June 2013 - 08:39

Before you call jump on him, I think he means with regards to consoles, I know putting an SSD in PS3 didn't do diddly squat but then games weren't fully stored on on the HDD.


The motherboard of the PS3 probably couldn't max a SSD. There was a difference still, but it wasn't worth the price ratio back in 2006 when the PS3 launched.