Jump to content



Photo

Xbox One to only work in certain countries at launch


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 12 June 2013 - 21:42

http://www.xbox.com/...-one/disclaimer

Posted Image


#2 spenser.d

spenser.d

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-December 03

Posted 12 June 2013 - 21:48

So, all the countries where it sells the most.

Funny they left out Japan.

I'm sure it won't take long to ramp it up - they've been ramping up XBL for forever, so it probably won't take much to expand to those markets.

#3 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 12 June 2013 - 21:49

I guess after 2 generations in a row of failure they're giving up on japan?

#4 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 12 June 2013 - 21:52

I guess after 2 generations in a row of failure they're giving up on japan?

http://www.gamespot....box-one-6408864

#5 StephenBratz

StephenBratz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-February 12

Posted 12 June 2013 - 21:53

Good. Too many consoles were diverted to places like Japan on release of the 360. Because of the Japanese insistence of hating products from the rest of the world, we had to wait months before you could find them on the shelve in the US. With this, there will be more available for people that want them.

#6 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 12 June 2013 - 22:11

I think other factors come into play here, not just XBL, regional/localization of the new UI and services but also the kinect stuff, more voice control needs to support more languages as well so they're probably held back on that front for now.

As for Japan, they're going to release it there later in 2014, they said as much, they're going to wait once they have more games that the Japanese want, notice how no one showed any jRPG for the new systems aside from FF15 and KH3, you can count FF14 but it's a MMO and I don't care about playing it. I take this to mean they have deals in place with the Japanese publishers for more Japanese targeted games that just aren't ready now. No need to release there till those games are ready to be sold really.

#7 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 12 June 2013 - 22:20

so it'll work in all the countries it's going to be launched in... what's the news here ?

#8 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 12 June 2013 - 22:21

so it'll work in all the countries it's going to be launched in... what's the news here ?


Can't import? First time I think that's happened with a console as everything has been plug and play until now.

#9 the better twin

the better twin

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • OS: Win 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 12 June 2013 - 22:42

Why should I care I dont live there? They probably dont have good enough internet for the DRM in those grey countries anyway. This is a good thing. Somehow...

#10 dafin0

dafin0

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Location: Australia

Posted 12 June 2013 - 22:48

they forgot about Tasmania Australia, im sure they can get it but they are always forgotten on maps like these :pinch:

#11 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 12 June 2013 - 23:15

Can't import? First time I think that's happened with a console as everything has been plug and play until now.

First time a console will offer Day 1 digital downloads (AFAIK) so something has to give.

#12 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 12 June 2013 - 23:20

they forgot about Tasmania Australia, im sure they can get it but they are always forgotten on maps like these :pinch:

Looking carefully, it's not available in any coastal area of mainland Australia either. :p


Side joke : Maybe they're only selling it to countries that have "reliable" internet for the 24-hour DRM. ;)

#13 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 12 June 2013 - 23:27

I think someone has Xbone envy.

#14 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 12 June 2013 - 23:29

Are they planning to expand to other countries in time? That's not many countries to start with.

#15 amnesiality

amnesiality

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-November 10

Posted 12 June 2013 - 23:32

I'm speechless. Why would they do this? It's beyond retarded.