Jump to content



Photo

Final Fantasy 14 : A Realm Reborn screenshots and opinion

ff arr arr ffxiv; ff14;

  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#61 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 10 Technical Preview 9879
  • Phone: iPhone 6+, iOS 8.1

Posted 31 August 2013 - 04:34

So i just tried to log on and got a 1017(world is full) error... on the character select screen. I didn't even know it was possible to get that kind of error there as i have never seen that kind of thing before in any mmo i've ever played.

Servers have been full since launch, according to their Twitter, they should have more servers by the middle of the coming week.




#62 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 31 August 2013 - 04:36

Oh i know the playing servers have been full quite a bit this week(i've done my own bit of mashing the 0 key to get in). But this is the first time in any mmo i've been told by the game that the character select screen was full.



#63 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 31 August 2013 - 14:58

Anyone on Cactuar?



#64 +Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 31 August 2013 - 21:30

Loving it, playing it on the PS3, which is the same as the PC servers anyway. Playing on Ultros as that is where GAF are.



#65 Grinch

Grinch

    Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-September 09
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • OS: Windows 8.1.1 | WP8.1.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:42

Anyone got an Unlock code and Game code they'd be willing to share (Buddy pass I think they're called)? If so, please shoot me a PM. :)



#66 Grinch

Grinch

    Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-September 09
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • OS: Windows 8.1.1 | WP8.1.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 04 September 2013 - 18:15

Anyone got an Unlock code and Game code they'd be willing to share (Buddy pass I think they're called)? If so, please shoot me a PM. :)

 

So does no one have any, or does no one want to share? :|



#67 Slane

Slane

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-June 04
  • Location: South Carolina

Posted 04 September 2013 - 20:06

So does no one have any, or does no one want to share? :|

 

I think only the original 1.0 CE came with a buddy pass. I don't think any came with ARR.



#68 Grinch

Grinch

    Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-September 09
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • OS: Windows 8.1.1 | WP8.1.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 04 September 2013 - 21:25

I think only the original 1.0 CE came with a buddy pass. I don't think any came with ARR.

Well that is a bummer. :/



#69 vetLOC

LOC

    I finally changed this.

  • Joined: 06-August 01
  • Location: Anyone notice?

Posted 04 September 2013 - 21:40

Bought the game from Amazon, having a blast so far. The game is stunningly beautiful, and I'm really enjoying the whole package. My toons are spread out on 189789798 servers, but hey.

 

Is there a linkshell everyone is in, or are we going to make a Neowin linkshell? Also, is there a friends list or in game way to track people playing?



#70 dead.cell

dead.cell

    My Body My Temple

  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • OS: Win 7 Pro / Win 8 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 04 September 2013 - 22:28

Having loads of fun; don't have a recent screenie, but this is my character. He's already level 20 as a lancer, need to get back to playing. (work and server downtime)

 

ffK24OU.jpg



#71 vetLOC

LOC

    I finally changed this.

  • Joined: 06-August 01
  • Location: Anyone notice?

Posted 05 September 2013 - 03:04

The class descriptions aren't...clear (to me at least) so what's everyones opinion on which melee and which casting/ranged class does the most DPS?



#72 monknster

monknster

    monknster kill

  • Joined: 22-June 02
  • Location: Rockville, MD
  • OS: Windows 8.1 OSX 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 05 September 2013 - 13:51

The class descriptions aren't...clear (to me at least) so what's everyones opinion on which melee and which casting/ranged class does the most DPS?

 

I was in the same boat until i stumbled on this guide http://ffxivrealm.co...nners-guide.24/ check it out :)



#73 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 06 December 2013 - 01:17

Kinda reviving this post, lol I forgot it was here..  anyways how are people progressing or liking the game?

 

I for one got really into it, I enjoy it a lot and its fun!  Ive been working on a Paladin actually (on Famfrit), so for a while Ive ditched my Summoner lol..

Im at the point where I got to grind and do a few quests to get me to 49-50 (im at 47 now)

 

The story to me is pretty crazy too, a lot of surprises and fun

 

j8321w.jpg

 

2ytpqur.jpg



#74 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 22 December 2013 - 14:06

Just bought this on Amazon for 15$ (50% off).   Going to give it a shot.  Have been looking for a solid MMORPG, and most of what I have read is that this game can deliver.



#75 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 23 December 2013 - 13:08

So, Played for an hour last night.. got to level 2.  My initial thought was: 


aint-nobody-got-time-for-that.png

 

The character creation alone took me 15 minutes, and I still ended up making the wrong class.   The descriptions (especially for the mage style) are very convoluded, and I found it difficult to actually figure out what I was making.   I ended up making a Thurmage or something like that, however I was told in game that at level 10 I could take on the role of Conjurer so that I could heal (which is what I wanted to do).   

 

Anyways, after the 15 minute creation,  I then had another 10 minute cinematic with a bunch of clicking, and not really getting the point when all was said and done.    After that I got into the city, where I then spent another 10 minutes just doing the first quest (having to click through a cutscene/clip every quest is hella annoying).   

 

I finally got into the game ~40 minutes after launching for the first time, and found the map extremely difficult to follow, however I figured out how to open up a GPS like map that helped a lot for doing quests.  I haven't left the city yet, nor have I cast a single spell.  I figure I will do as much in-city as I can.  

I can't find any sets of stats or anything which is good, nice not having to worry about that.   Overall the game has awesome graphics, and runs quite well on my 5 year old machine (I can play on High(Desktop) with little fps drop).  

 

I'll have to play more tonight, and will definitely have to read the guides, as I am quite confused as to how to do some stuff.  I was half-hoping that it would be a simple straight forward mmo (akin to wow, but back in TBC days difficulty wise).   However, as one of the members in the Free Company (need to read up on those too) said to me, FF XIV is definitely a grown up game.

 

One thing I would have liked to see was some Voice Acting when it came to quests, not really a fan of having to sit there and read it all.

 

Overall it is a very complex game, and is going to take some getting used to.  I have 1 month free due to purchase, and I'll use this month to decide/try and get a good feel for the game.