Jump to content



Photo
xbox one

  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 thealexweb

thealexweb

    Neowinian Senior

  • 7,319 posts
  • Joined: 23-September 07
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:07

Posted Image

The Xbox One games that were showcased at E3 2013 this week didn't run on early versions of the console or at least on developer kits.

A couple of photos have popped up showing that the games were running on PCs that were powered by Windows 7 and used Nvidia graphics cards.

Microsoft allowed E3 2013 attendants to try out many Xbox One games at its booth, as the company set up different demo stations composed of large cabinets, an Xbox One controller, and a HDTV screen.

Inside the cabinets wasn't an Xbox One, not even an early version or a developer edition, but actually a large gaming PC.

According to two separate photos spotted on Twitter and NeoGAF, the PCs ran the Windows 7 operating system and appeared to have powerful Nvidia graphics cards inside.

This is rather shocking, considering the actual Xbox One uses AMD hardware for both the GPU and CPU and Windows 8 as the basis of its operating system.




Microsoft hasn't commented on the photos and neither have developers.


Source: http://news.softpedi...rt-361159.shtml


#2 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • 19,527 posts
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:16

It's interesting how some people are getting so upset about this, forgetting that the 360 game demos when it was introduced at E3 ran on G5 Mac Pros.

#3 +timster

timster

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,951 posts
  • Joined: 29-March 08
  • Location: Toronto, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 830

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:20

computers were visible during the Battlefield 4 multiplayer demo when the camera was up behind the users playing

#4 stevew25

stevew25

    Neowinian

  • 9 posts
  • Joined: 21-July 12

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:21

not shocking at all.. didn't the Xbox run on Macs before it was released?

#5 NightmarE D

NightmarE D

    Proud father

  • 3,452 posts
  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Covington, KY

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:34

Remember when Nintendo used Gamecubes when showing the "Wii" and the constant freeze-ups on the PS4 presentations was a little annoying. I don't think dude was even actually playing that Assassins Creed game at all. That froze soo much I thought it was a bad stream until it cuts to a wide shot of the dude standing there looking stupid. Then the game starts playing and he had to react quickly as if he was trying to play when the character was moving on its own. Then it just stops and dude even shakes his head and motions like "wtf...why bother?" then it ends.

Neither of the consoles are close to being finalized so there's nothing surprising at all about any of that.

#6 Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • 5,689 posts
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:46

I wanted to write PC Master Race, but I won't.
On the other hand, one can hope that porting games between new consoles (and PC) will indeed be a cakewalk.

#7 FlintyV

FlintyV

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,377 posts
  • Joined: 14-December 06

Posted 15 June 2013 - 11:58

People honestly thought they'd be running on actual consumer flavours of Xbox One so far from release?

#8 Coolicer

Coolicer

    Comrad General

  • 322 posts
  • Joined: 22-December 10
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8 & Gentoo ~AMD64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920 Black

Posted 15 June 2013 - 12:19

I wanted to write PC Master Race, but I won't.


If you really wanted to, you wouldn't have. But you did.

#9 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • 3,921 posts
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 15 June 2013 - 14:27

When the Xbox 360 debuted at E3, the games were being ran from a PowerMac G5.. no cared then and no one should care now..

#10 Melfster

Melfster

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,724 posts
  • Joined: 04-August 05

Posted 15 June 2013 - 14:30

The PS4 games were not using a PS4 either so what who cares.

#11 Athernar

Athernar

    ?

  • 3,041 posts
  • Joined: 15-December 04

Posted 15 June 2013 - 14:36

Wow, talk about reaching. ONE machine at E3 was running Win7 and that somehow translates to "MS doesn't like" Windows 8. And this coming from the guy with "Vista" in his name.
:rolleyes:


So Microsoft decided to make one single machine running next-gen demos run what is in theory the last-last-gen of their OS just for giggles?

Riiiiight.

#12 vcfan

vcfan

    Straight Ballin'

  • 5,348 posts
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 15 June 2013 - 14:38

by the way,that booth was only for one game, LocoCycle. it doesn't matter what the GPU was in that one PC,one or some of the systems were laptops

http://jalopnik.com/...es-of-512918787

and maybe some of you don't know about something called a virtual machine,where you can allocate certain resources for the virtual machine. you don't think Microsoft can allocate comparable gpu resources for the VM?

#13 Gaffney

Gaffney

    I have no title

  • 1,788 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 09

Posted 15 June 2013 - 15:16

People are getting weird about it because they're kinda false advertising by promoting something that they're not even using.

if you're just promoting the game then don't give anyone the impression that they're actually using the console by having Xbox One logos everywhere and make it clear.

And saying they did this with the original Xbox doesn't make it okay and excuse it.

It's the same as giving people the impression they're playing an iPhone game, while in reality there is a power mac under the desk powering the game.

If they ran it on Xbox One's they would have to run a modified version of it so people didn't try to access other areas of the Xbox.

#14 ctrl_alt_delete

ctrl_alt_delete

    Neowinian

  • 747 posts
  • Joined: 18-February 10

Posted 15 June 2013 - 15:34

is it weird to anyone else that they're using Nvidia's cards instead of AMD's, seeing that it's AMD's chips inside the xbox?


#15 Rodrigo

Rodrigo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,699 posts
  • Joined: 24-May 03
  • Location: Mexico

Posted 15 June 2013 - 15:38

So Microsoft decided to make one single machine running next-gen demos run what is in theory the last-last-gen of their OS just for giggles?

Riiiiight.


"Just for giggles"?

We know you are usually misinformed (since you just come and post whatever comes to your mind in any of these posts), but you should really get your facts straight before posting here.

I suppose it's not easy to understand that these games have been in development for quite a while now. That means these games were developed under Windows 7, with tools designed to work in Windows 7 or previous versions. Have you played a PC game designed for one OS and then installed it in a newer operating system? ever? Have you seen the compatibility problems, and other issues they have? Well, starting development in one system and then switching to another one "just because it's modern" and "new-new-gen" is QUITE STUPID... expensive, both time and money wise.