This is why I very much doubt this rumor. With a time limit of how long you play the game, why the hell do you need to check in every 24hours? You don't. Which in turn, simply means this rumor is false.
This sounds like a clear belittle of the family sharing program before it even came to light, because we probably never will see it.
We were toying around with a limit on the number of times members could access the shared game (as to discourage gamers from simply beating the game by doing multiple playthroughs). but we had not settled on an appropriate way of handling it.
If you were going to be able bound to a limit of the number of times you could reset the timer, that has to be phoned home to HQ does it not?