Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 24 June 2013 - 20:57

I have ran out of SATA ports on my motherboard and I need to connect a SATA III HDD and a SATA optical drive, so a daughterboard is the way to go.

 

I have a PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot ready and waiting.

 

An excellent option would be the Asus U3S6, but it's £32 delivered and I'm not really willing to pay that much if I can help it.

 

Do I have any other options?




#2 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Starry

  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Elsewhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 24 June 2013 - 21:01

Highpoint 640L uses a Marvell two lane chip on a 4x PCIe card (where the U3S6 used a one lane chip...not enough for 6gb SATA)

 

Been using it a while.  Can't complain about the hardware, though I've been using drivers and firmware from station-drivers instead of their older ones.



#3 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 24 June 2013 - 21:04

Highpoint 640L uses a Marvell two lane chip on a 4x PCIe card (where the U3S6 used a one lane chip...not enough for 6gb SATA)

 

Been using it a while.  Can't complain about the hardware, though I've been using drivers and firmware from station-drivers instead of their older ones.

£72, you have to be kidding me...

 

It appears you didn't read my post, only the topic title :)



#4 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Starry

  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Elsewhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 24 June 2013 - 21:08

It appears you didn't read my post, only the topic title :)

Try again.  Note: I don't live in the UK.



#5 Singh400

Singh400

    .rawr / .android.whore

  • Joined: 02-February 10
  • Location: Earth

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:00

Maybe the Lycom PE-108 or Lycom PE-115?

#6 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:06

Maybe the Lycom PE-108 or Lycom PE-115?

The PE-108 is 1x eSATA III, 1x SATA III
The PE-115 is 2x SATA III
 
I would have to go for the PE-115.
 
Trying to find the difference between the PE-115, the PE-115H and the PE-115M :s
 
The website states:
 

PE-115 - SATA III – 6Gbps AHCI 2Ports Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
2Ports 6Gbps Hardware Raid AHCI SATA III PCI Express 2.0 host board to support NCQ & Port Multiplier!

PE-115H - HybridDrives SATA III – 6Gbps AHCI Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
6Gbps SATA III AHCI PCI Express 2.0 host board to support HybridDrives, Hardware Raid0, Hardware Raid1, NCQ & Port Multiplier!

PE-115m - AHCI 6Gbps SATA plus one mSATA SSD Socket Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
2Ports 6Gbps AHCI SATA III PCIe 2.0 host board to support HybridDrives, Hardware Raid0, Raid1, NCQ & Port Multiplier!



#7 Singh400

Singh400

    .rawr / .android.whore

  • Joined: 02-February 10
  • Location: Earth

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:15

Just go for the PE-115...and then tell me if it's any good xD

#8 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:21

The PE-108 is 1x eSATA III, 1x SATA III
The PE-115 is 2x SATA III
 
I would have to go for the PE-115.
 
Trying to find the difference between the PE-115, the PE-115H and the PE-115M :s
 
The website states:
 

It explains the difference right in your quote from the site.  :|



#9 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:22

It explains the difference right in your quote from the site.  :|

I don't really understand the difference :(

#10 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:35

I don't really understand the difference :(

 

Basically, it depends on what you want to do with it.

PE-115 - SATA III – 6Gbps AHCI 2Ports Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
Your basic model that you can hook 2 independent drives to (no RAID)

PE-115H - HybridDrives SATA III – 6Gbps AHCI Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
Mid range that supports various forms of RAID

PE-115m - AHCI 6Gbps SATA plus one mSATA SSD Socket Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
Supports various forms of RAID AND includes a mSATA socket  (ie you can hook to hard drives to it and RAID them and you can connect an mSATA drive as well)

 

I'm guessing that you just need the basic one.



#11 Aokromes

Aokromes

    Entity From Outer Space

  • Joined: 24-August 04

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:38

Easy:

 


PE-115 - SATA III – 6Gbps AHCI 2Ports Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
2Ports 6Gbps Hardware Raid AHCI SATA III PCI Express 2.0 host board to support NCQ & Port Multiplier!

No hardware RAID.

PE-115H - HybridDrives SATA III – 6Gbps AHCI Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
6Gbps SATA III AHCI PCI Express 2.0 host board to support HybridDrives, Hardware Raid0, Hardware Raid1, NCQ & Port Multiplier!

Hardware RAID.

 

PE-115m - AHCI 6Gbps SATA plus one mSATA SSD Socket Low Profile PCIe 2.0 Host Adapter
2Ports 6Gbps AHCI SATA III PCIe 2.0 host board to support HybridDrives, Hardware Raid0, Raid1, NCQ & Port Multiplier!

Hardware RAID + mSATA port for mSATA SSD drives.



#12 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:40

Easy:
 
 
No hardware RAID.
 
 
Hardware RAID.
 
 
 
Hardware RAID + mSATA port for mSATA SSD drives.


Ah, thank you! :)

Do I need hardware RAID? :s Isn't RAID just for when you use two drives to mirror data? (which I won't be doing)

#13 Aokromes

Aokromes

    Entity From Outer Space

  • Joined: 24-August 04

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:44

No, you don't need hardware RAID.



#14 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 24 June 2013 - 23:47

Thank you all!

The Scan one is the PE-115H :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!