Jump to content



Photo

Can't Update to Windows 8.1 Preview (Windows Store update)


  • Please log in to reply
160 replies to this topic

#1 Robbie Ride

Robbie Ride

    Robbie Jardine

  • Joined: 09-January 06
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center

Posted 26 June 2013 - 17:33

Just downloaded the installer (Windows8-RT-KB2849636-x86) so I can update to Windows 8.1 Preview and I get an error that states "This update is not applicable to your computer"

 

Both my computers are x86 systems so not limited by the "Atom CPU List"

 

I could be doing something wrong, but any ideas?

Attached Images

  • Screenshot (1).png



#2 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 26 June 2013 - 17:35

From the chat on IRC, it seems to be happening to anyone using the en-gb version, rather than the en-us version :(



#3 FlintyV

FlintyV

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 26 June 2013 - 17:37

Ah shame en-gb here too. I installed the Update just fine but have never had the prompt to update from the Store.



#4 OP Robbie Ride

Robbie Ride

    Robbie Jardine

  • Joined: 09-January 06
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center

Posted 26 June 2013 - 17:38

From the chat on IRC, it seems to be happening to anyone using the en-gb version, rather than the en-us version :(

 

That's not good, hope MS fix this soon



#5 Buendia

Buendia

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-February 09

Posted 26 June 2013 - 17:52

I have installed that update without problems also the prompt to install the Preview never shows up. Also, many users are reporting this issue.

 

@Robbie Ride

http://answers.micro...m=1372267256372



#6 rfirth

rfirth

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-September 09
  • Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 620

Posted 26 June 2013 - 17:52

From the chat on IRC, it seems to be happening to anyone using the en-gb version, rather than the en-us version :(

 

No, I'm using the en-us version... worked fine on my Surface Pro, but doesn't work with my HP Compaq 2710P.



#7 OP Robbie Ride

Robbie Ride

    Robbie Jardine

  • Joined: 09-January 06
  • Location: Glasgow, Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:15

I have just read on the Microsoft community pages that it could be Media Center that's causing the issue, but I have uninstalled Media Center and it made no difference, still can't install the update.



#8 Sszecret

Sszecret

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Suceava, Romania
  • OS: Win7 SP 1 | Win 8.1 Pro | WP 7.8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 800

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:19

I have installed the update, restarted my PC and nothing happened. Tried setting the region / location of my account to the United States and it still didn't work. Don't have a language pack installed and I don't have Media Center installed either. 



#9 FlintyV

FlintyV

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:21

Seems to be a widespread issue. I guess there's not a lot we can do to fix the situation until MS step in.



#10 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:22

They said some devices could need a driver update for the graphics.  So maybe that's it?



#11 1ON

1ON

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 12
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 820

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:24

I am getting this error on Surface RT :/



#12 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:26

It seems that any additional language packs that might have been installed could also be an issue?  I haven't tried yet on my Samsung ativ smart pc because MS named it in a list that needed a driver update first.   Anyone with this device actually give it a go yet though?



#13 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:27

http://www.neowin.ne...windows-8-prev/

 

Dunno if it works but there it is:



#14 jasondefaoite

jasondefaoite

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02
  • Location: Ireland - Singapore

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:27

Same error here. But I'm using enterprise and doesn't look like there is a windows store upgrade path for that version of Win8. Must download the iso. Which is now in progress from MSDN.



#15 Matt Sharpe

Matt Sharpe

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-August 07
  • Location: Warwickshire, UK

Posted 26 June 2013 - 18:28

I've had the error too, on my Dell Inspiron Duo and home built PC.

 

Both have en-gb Windows 8 installed. I'm guessing it is the language that's the problem.