Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 ISO Files Available

win8

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#16 spudtrooper

spudtrooper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-October 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia 920

Posted 27 June 2013 - 16:54

Great... where's the ARM version? My Surface RT refuses to download the update :(

 

What error are you getting?

 

Mine upgraded just fine.. just took a while.

 

BTW, Spring TX?  I grew up out there in North Hampton :)  Klein ok HS!




#17 vetMathachew

Mathachew

    Wise beyond my youth... that's what she said!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-September 04
  • Location: Spring, TX
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 27 June 2013 - 17:07

What error are you getting?

 

Mine upgraded just fine.. just took a while.

 

BTW, Spring TX?  I grew up out there in North Hampton :)  Klein ok HS!

 

It's said Pending for a while, then it says Downloading, but never progresses further than that. When it finally fails, 0x8024001e is the error code. I can't even update three apps that are ready to be updated. I went to update an app on my laptop and that went through just fine.

 

I've been in Spring since 2007, love it here ;)



#18 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 27 June 2013 - 17:55

I'm doing the install with the ISO in vbox right now, I can tell you that they've once again updated the install process a bit.  Things look different here and there, specially in the post-install setup stage.



#19 SirEvan

SirEvan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Location: Santa Clara, CA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One (AT&T)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:02

see... seems everything you crack is joke...I am not that lazy to create an account here to ask a link!!... if you have had this,..you would have known better..... and thanks menifred for providing link.....clearing cache and all ..same result...asking to download iso from windows store.... anyway thanks..........................

 

it's funny that you can't use google to search for the x86 link....



#20 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:30

anyone get 8.1 or 2012 R2 running on Virtualbox? I keep getting an error: "your PC needs to restart"

 

searching google has been of no help...



#21 OP menifred

menifred

    Conquérant de la lumière

  • Joined: 01-August 12
  • Location: Albany, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Lumia 1020 Cyan (8.10.14176.243)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:43

Mathachew, on 27 Jun 2013 - 13:07, said:

It's said Pending for a while, then it says Downloading, but never progresses further than that. When it finally fails, 0x8024001e is the error code. I can't even update three apps that are ready to be updated. I went to update an app on my laptop and that went through just fine.

 

Dumb question, do you have enough free space?



#22 vetMathachew

Mathachew

    Wise beyond my youth... that's what she said!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-September 04
  • Location: Spring, TX
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:46

Dumb question, do you have enough free space?

Yep, 3.96GB. I can't even install updates to apps I have installed  :/



#23 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:50

I tried upgrading via the store and the .iso file and both resulted in blue screens and the system rolling back to the previous install. In the end I had to do a clean install. I suspect that the problem related to Uxstyle Core, as when I tried to install that I got the same blue screen error message - reading the message on the website it seems that support for Windows 8.1 is being worked on. It's annoying, as the default Windows 8.1 theme is horrific! :no:



#24 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:53

anyone get 8.1 or 2012 R2 running on Virtualbox? I keep getting an error: "your PC needs to restart"

 

searching google has been of no help...

 

I have it installed and running fine on vbox, the 32bit version btw.   On vbox version 4.2.12.  I'm going to upgrade to 4.2.14 in a bit though but the install worked fine, no issues on my end.



#25 OP menifred

menifred

    Conquérant de la lumière

  • Joined: 01-August 12
  • Location: Albany, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Lumia 1020 Cyan (8.10.14176.243)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:14

Mathachew, on 27 Jun 2013 - 14:46, said:Mathachew, on 27 Jun 2013 - 14:46, said:

Yep, 3.96GB. I can't even install updates to apps I have installed  :/

 

Did you try to cleanup the files from Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download?



#26 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:20

You need 10GB of space to install I thought?



#27 OP menifred

menifred

    Conquérant de la lumière

  • Joined: 01-August 12
  • Location: Albany, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Lumia 1020 Cyan (8.10.14176.243)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:26

SHoTTa35, on 27 Jun 2013 - 15:20, said:

You need 10GB of space to install I thought?

 

I haven't seen specific information about Windows RT. 



#28 Lee G.

Lee G.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:27

anyone get 8.1 or 2012 R2 running on Virtualbox? I keep getting an error: "your PC needs to restart"

 

searching google has been of no help...

Yes, I had the same error.

 

Here's how to fix it:

 

Open a command prompt from C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox.

 

Run the command VBoxManage.exe list vms

 

Copy the VM name and insert it into this command:

 

VBoxManage.exe setextradata [VM name] VBoxInternal/CPUM/CMPXCHG16B 1

 

Run the command and it enables the CPU instruction CMPXCHG16B needed to run Windows 8.1.

 

https://www.virtualb...rg/ticket/11841



#29 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:37

Downloading the ISO now. Will updating from the ISO the same as with updating from the Store? or will it create the "Windows.old" folder?



#30 vetMathachew

Mathachew

    Wise beyond my youth... that's what she said!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-September 04
  • Location: Spring, TX
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:39

Did you try to cleanup the files from Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download?

 

Going to try it now.