Jump to content



Photo

Geforce 760...4GB for 20-30$ more than 2GB..worth it?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 SirEvan

SirEvan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Location: Santa Clara, CA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One (AT&T)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:00

EVGA Geforce 760 4GB @ 279.99: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814130937

 

Gigabye Geforce 760 overclock 2GB @ 259.99$: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125466

 

 

There are of cource evga regular 2GB cards for 249.  I know the 760 architecture isn't a phenomenal upgrade, but I'm coming from a 560ti superclocked card, and while it's hard to find benchmarks comparing the 560 to a 760, the 660 vs 760 seem to show at least 10+ fps in most games.   

 

249, 259 and 279 are not that much, I'm looking more for a card that can keep up for 2-3 years, and that uses less power than my 560 ti does, which the 700 series already do.   Just wondering if for the performance of the card is the extra 2GB of ram worth it, or should I save the 20/30$?




#2 DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:05

I'd say it's worth it. 2GB would be fine at 1080p but if you ever want a surround setup with your monitors or get a 2560x1440 monitor the extra memory would be nice to have. And at 20-30 dollars, unless you're on a tight budget already, I say why not? Plus, with EVGA you have the step up program to take advantage of so within 90 days, should you decide you need more horsepower you can pay the difference for a 770.



#3 Klownicle

Klownicle

    I get a custom title? Sweett.

  • Joined: 22-June 02

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:08

What resolution you will run is where the more memory will matter, at 1920x1080, I think 2gb is fine.  Your talking just a couple of fps maybe...



#4 DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:12

What resolution you will run is where the more memory will matter, at 1920x1080, I think 2gb is fine.  Your talking just a couple of fps maybe...

 

Yeah I guess that's what it really all comes down to is what resolution you'd be gaming at. For me personally at 20 dollars more I'd just get the 4GB version but 30 is pushing it. 



#5 OP SirEvan

SirEvan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Location: Santa Clara, CA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One (AT&T)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:15

 2560 x 1440 is what I'm running now on 27" Dell monitor.



#6 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:17

With the enxt gen console coming yes probably.



#7 DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:20

 2560 x 1440 is what I'm running now on 27" Dell monitor.

 

Then I'd definitely recommend the 4GB,



#8 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:22

The 4GB of vRAM will retain it's value better, so it's worth the extra $20.



#9 OP SirEvan

SirEvan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Location: Santa Clara, CA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One (AT&T)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:31

The 4GB of vRAM will retain it's value better, so it's worth the extra $20.

Awesome. That's what i was thinking, just wasn't sure since the 760 is lower end than say the 770/780... didn't know if it was more of a waste.   I plan on getting back into skyrim which would use it, plus some of the newer games coming out like titanfall and watch dogs.



#10 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:33

With the enxt gen console coming yes probably.

wut

 

anyway, i'd go for the 4GB model. Some games can use it, esp. at high resolutions. Max Payne 3 comes to mind.



#11 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:34

Awesome. That's what i was thinking, just wasn't sure since the 760 is lower end than say the 770/780... didn't know if it was more of a waste.   I plan on getting back into skyrim which would use it, plus some of the newer games coming out like titanfall and watch dogs.

 

Yeah it's a pretty big price jump up to the 770, so I think you're making the right choice.

I don't think the 760 will be able to play Crisis 3 maxed out, but I don't think you'll be disappointed in it's performance either.



#12 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (Android 4.4.2)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:41

The 4GB of vRAM will retain it's value better, so it's worth the extra $20.

It doesn't make any sense to get it if you're playing at 1920x1080 or lower. The OP has a 2560x1440 monitor so that's why he should get it.

 

Read this article about video card RAM: http://www.tomshardw...-4870,2428.html

 

Awesome. That's what i was thinking, just wasn't sure since the 760 is lower end than say the 770/780... didn't know if it was more of a waste.   I plan on getting back into skyrim which would use it, plus some of the newer games coming out like titanfall and watch dogs.

It's cheaper and in my eyes, a better value than the GeForce GTX 770.



#13 DigitalManifestations

DigitalManifestations

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-January 04
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Windows 8 64bit
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:43

Not to be a narcissist but if anyone wants to weigh in on my gpu dilemma over in the thread I made, feel free ;)



#14 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:17

It doesn't make any sense to get it if you're playing at 1920x1080 or lower. The OP has a 2560x1440 monitor so that's why he should get it.

 

Read this article about video card RAM: http://www.tomshardw...-4870,2428.html

 

Err... I know how it works...  Perhaps you didn't understand what I said.

 

Higher vRAM cards will retain more value since more and more people will invest in higher res monitors since prices are falling, and games will continue to utilize the power that's available.  Hence there will be more demand for GPUs of this capacity as time goes on.  The extra $20 is a no-brainer.



#15 vetthe evn show

the evn show

    Removed

  • Joined: 10-June 02

Posted 27 June 2013 - 20:11

Removed



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!