Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 ColdFlo

ColdFlo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-February 05

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:49

Anyone know how to verify?  The update was only 15mb and I dont get a Windows Start Button and I can't tell any difference it did a little updating then rebooted optimized updates and started up fine.  Downloading ISO now but I'd rather not reinstall as this install is doing spectacular with all the latest tweaks I've put into it.  Tried windows key + pause break to verify 8.1 but it still just says Windows 8 Pro.  Kernel file says modified 4/13/2013 isn't 8.1 supposed to have reduced memory usage?(must have been from installing nvidia 320.49 yesterday)  I think I detect some snappiness but maybe its placebo install effect.  You would think to reduce memory usage would mean a new ntoskrnl.dll.  Need you os pros to shed some light.  Thank you in advance.




#2 +SharpGreen

SharpGreen

    Now with built-in BS detector.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Ubuntu 14.04 and Windows 10
  • Phone: Galaxy Nexus

Posted 27 June 2013 - 18:54

If you don't have a start button or the "Windows 8.1 Pro Preview" text in the bottom right corner of your desktop then don't have 8.1. The update was enabling the Windows Store to install Windows 8,1



#3 Mulsivaas

Mulsivaas

    Neowin is a Windows-Enthusiast Site

  • Joined: 23-July 10
  • Location: Illinois, USA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64
  • Phone: Sprint HTC Evo 4G (Dream: Lumia 920)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:29

You probably just downloaded the .msu update kb file that changes your Store. Your Store should, when opened now, properly have a huge tile at the start that says "Windows 8.1 Preview." Click that, click Download, wait for the 3.5GB OS to download, then install.



#4 OP ColdFlo

ColdFlo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-February 05

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:36

Windows Store the metro app?  I don't see anything there.  Windows store the site keeps taking me back to that 15mb kb I already installed...............  What is up with all this stuff also you guys shouldn't just say windows store like they know what you are talking about(this has to be the most ridiculous install ever with a who knows what list of dependencies even microsoft doesn't know other than "Is this the wendows enstalled ayat the fectery?").   Just heads up because I'm sure it will be misconception for many that read this thread.  Personally I haven't really used any of the metro apps yet..   I just look at them from time to time(very few).  Also I finally found one link on the windows store site where if I click it it says "service is unavailable" in black text in the upper left of the browser(could be because I'm downloading the iso(clicked link on softpedia) from ms cause it says that in chrome in ie it just keeps trying to do something. I'll update this as needed.) Looked through whole metro app not one mention or tile about 8.1.



#5 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:40

That's where the upgrade is located if you don't want to use the ISO files. After you installed the .msu file you should have been prompted to reboot. Afterward it should show up as an enormous tile in the app store ("Store" on the start screen.) If it didn't you may either be in an unsupported region for the preview or have something else wrong with your Windows installation.



#6 OP ColdFlo

ColdFlo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-February 05

Posted 27 June 2013 - 19:58

So when you do this via the store is it installing a whole new os like upgrades from the past and then trying to transfer your files and settings in?  Or do registry tweaks remain between the installs?  because if its gonna erase all my registry tweaks I might as well just install from the ISO myself where everything is nice and clean and not broken so I don't have to do it again later.....  What about performance?  Is it faster? Does it feel lighter and snappier? and if you do it this update method how long did it take you? Please include processor and hard drive/ hard drive specs in your answer.  3.5 gigs seems like a new os install because thats the size of the iso meaning it probably just images the new layout and then automated scripts try to set it up the same way.  What about program installs did anyone have any break?



#7 PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Views expressed are not necessarily those of the management

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Over there somewhere
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: LG Nexus 4

Posted 27 June 2013 - 20:05

You install the update which triggers the Windows store to show you the download, then restart your PC, when you go into the Windows Store you should see the Windows 8.1 Preview as the first entry.



#8 Mulsivaas

Mulsivaas

    Neowin is a Windows-Enthusiast Site

  • Joined: 23-July 10
  • Location: Illinois, USA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64
  • Phone: Sprint HTC Evo 4G (Dream: Lumia 920)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 20:09

It really is not too difficult and this whole process has been outlined dozens of times on comments here and articles everywhere. If, however, for whatever reason, you do not see the giant tile in the Store, then you probably aren't using the en-US locale or have something wrong with your copy of Windows. Try the ISOs instead.



#9 OP ColdFlo

ColdFlo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-February 05

Posted 27 June 2013 - 21:24

No its not the locale problem and it says the update is installed when I try to install it again, but there is no popup when i reboot to update windows store and my windows store doesn't have it.  This is the problem with trying to update some new stupid way everytime you add a new feature because its not tested enough it breaks...............



#10 +Chris123NT

Chris123NT

    Win8 Master

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: New York

Posted 27 June 2013 - 21:29

The store update doesn't work if your copy of Windows is installed with a Volume License (MAK or KMS) key.



#11 Emon

Emon

    /dev/null

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 12-August 02
  • Location: MA
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X

Posted 27 June 2013 - 21:29

Well if you are not getting the Store App popup then open the Store App manually and send us an screen shot of what you see there.



#12 duddit2

duddit2

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 24-January 10
  • Location: Manchester UK
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 27 June 2013 - 21:32

You do realise this is a preview and not designed for general consumption and certainly not for people to install on their main PC if they aren't prepared to see the odd bug or two (Its beta software, not finished)?

 

You said earlier that people should "just say windows store" as though this is a hard concept, on the start screen there is a tile called STORE!

 

There will not be a pop up, once the initial update has been installed (it was done this way so that everyone didn't get the preview prompt, just the people looking to install it) and you have rebooted, just go to the start screen and open the store - if its worked you will have a big tile in the store asking you to install the blue update.

 

Its that simple.



#13 Mulsivaas

Mulsivaas

    Neowin is a Windows-Enthusiast Site

  • Joined: 23-July 10
  • Location: Illinois, USA
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64
  • Phone: Sprint HTC Evo 4G (Dream: Lumia 920)

Posted 27 June 2013 - 21:45

No its not the locale problem and it says the update is installed when I try to install it again, but there is no popup when i reboot to update windows store and my windows store doesn't have it.  This is the problem with trying to update some new stupid way everytime you add a new feature because its not tested enough it breaks...............

 

Okay, now you're just being ridiculous. At this point it seems that trying out a preview build for testing purposes (let alone installing it) is way too far over your head, especially if you can't just do a simple Bing search or look on the official Windows website.



#14 -Deleted-

-Deleted-

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09

Posted 27 June 2013 - 22:23

I dont think from reading this you shouldn't be messing around with beta os's....

 

Just my 2cents.



#15 OP ColdFlo

ColdFlo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-February 05

Posted 27 June 2013 - 22:51

Your right no one uses windows store that I know about so its not a concrete concept plus there is a windows store site and then your always flipping through pages to that update and then it promises isos it doesnt take you to either.  I say fail all around just give me an iso page like windows 8 release preview or include it in windows update something thats more firm and well tested instead of trying to attract people to windows store and fail.

 

Also I am the god of windows tweaking OO.  I'll just install it from iso but I was hoping this was really just an update and not a whole os reinstall and the registry has been similar enough through since xp that my tweaks would still be there so I wont have to spend 4 hours installing and tweaking tonight, but windows store failed now im gonna have to play with installing via efi with a cd which is always fun and lets be honest windows 7 8 8.1 its really just all the same windows most of the big bugs have been worked out and if any performance is offered beta or not I have to have it because thats what makes me ___ __ _____(not just windows either).  I don't have to bother with things like overclocking.  I get enough speed with tweaks alone.  Look all of my viewpoints have been correct and they shouldnt have offended you but if you want to play I'm a noob. I'm gonna let you know where you stand.