Jump to content



Photo

Show us your Windows 8.1 Start Screen

windows 8.1 start screen

  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#16 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 04 July 2013 - 13:08

Screenshot (116)f.png

 

Windows RT 8.1




#17 K'tharsis

K'tharsis

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-July 13
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (RTM, Build 9600)

Posted 04 July 2013 - 13:44

Posted mine already in the July 2013 desktop thread. Well, here another time:

startjuli.jpg

#18 wetworker

wetworker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-December 08
  • Location: Toronto Canada

Posted 04 July 2013 - 14:24

Here is mine running on my Surface RT. It's very snappy.

 

Screenshot_46.png



#19 moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 04 July 2013 - 14:30

I can't use the Windows 8 tiles/start screen because I'm an administrator user with UAC turned off :(  (farking stupid if you ask me...)

 

Hello Neowinian³, fellow Torontonian!



#20 OP Sszecret

Sszecret

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Suceava, Romania
  • OS: Win7 SP 1 | Win 10 TP | WP 7.8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 800

Posted 04 July 2013 - 14:36

I can't use the Windows 8 tiles/start screen because I'm an administrator user with UAC turned off :(  (farking stupid if you ask me...)

 

Hello Neowinian³, fellow Torontonian!

Erm...I'm an administrator, and I have UAC turned off as well. No problems using the Start Screen. If you're at work, then no problem, post a screenshot whenever you get home.  :)



#21 moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 04 July 2013 - 14:50

Erm...I'm an administrator, and I have UAC turned off as well. No problems using the Start Screen. If you're at work, then no problem, post a screenshot whenever you get home.  :)

 

No, it's a home computer, and I doubt you have UAC turned as far off as I do:

 

http://www.eightforu...inistrator.html

 

When I was in Windows 7, I never had to click "run as administrator".  Now, all of the sudden in Windows 8, even though my user is the administrator, even with the UAC slider turned to "never notify", I suddenly need to "elevate" all the programs I run to administrator levels.  It was pissing me off so much that I followed that above guide.  I never used the Start Screen anyway.



#22 Jimmy James

Jimmy James

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-June 13

Posted 04 July 2013 - 14:56

Desktop.png    



#23 nyolc8

nyolc8

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-May 07
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • OS: OSX Mavericks 10.9.3, Windows 8.1 Pro WMC
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 520

Posted 04 July 2013 - 14:57

mine currently

Where is the "Start" text and the user tile section?



#24 +Chris123NT

Chris123NT

    Win8 Master

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: New York

Posted 04 July 2013 - 16:09

No, it's a home computer, and I doubt you have UAC turned as far off as I do:

 

http://www.eightforu...inistrator.html

 

When I was in Windows 7, I never had to click "run as administrator".  Now, all of the sudden in Windows 8, even though my user is the administrator, even with the UAC slider turned to "never notify", I suddenly need to "elevate" all the programs I run to administrator levels.  It was ****ing me off so much that I followed that above guide.  I never used the Start Screen anyway.

ctrl+shift+enter is your friend.  That's the KB shortcut to start a command elevated.



#25 moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 04 July 2013 - 17:34

ctrl+shift+enter is your friend.  That's the KB shortcut to start a command elevated.

 

When you've spent years getting used to having every program start elevated, ctrl-shift-enter is not a friend, it is an irritating, uninvited guest.



#26 Dutchie64

Dutchie64

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-October 12
  • Location: Below Sealevel.....
  • OS: Win7,8.1,10
  • Phone: WP8.1

Posted 04 July 2013 - 17:43

No, it's a home computer, and I doubt you have UAC turned as far off as I do:

 

http://www.eightforu...inistrator.html

 

When I was in Windows 7, I never had to click "run as administrator".  Now, all of the sudden in Windows 8, even though my user is the administrator, even with the UAC slider turned to "never notify", I suddenly need to "elevate" all the programs I run to administrator levels.  It was ****ing me off so much that I followed that above guide.  I never used the Start Screen anyway.

 

Not sure what you did, but even in Win7 a user has to elevate user rights when the application is trying to write to OS protected folders, e.g. program Files. You cannot be a full admin as a user, unless you're hacking into the OS.

Normally, when a installer/program is written properly, all this is transparant to the user.

I still don't know why people complain about this, Linux has it, OSX has this.Wiindows has it, a bit too late but still has it.

 

I agree it's a bit more obtrusive in Windows, but apparently people still install every effing thing they see without thinking.

Getting those popups hopefully do help some people to THINk about their actions. All others, I don't care if you have virusses or a slow pc ;-)



#27 nMIK-3

nMIK-3

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-November 07
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 04 July 2013 - 17:46

The most "beautiful" topic of this forum... yet!

#28 moeburn

moeburn

    tracer bullet

  • Joined: 10-March 04
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 04 July 2013 - 17:49

Not sure what you did, but even in Win7 a user has to elevate user rights when the application is trying to write to OS protected folders, e.g. program Files. You cannot be a full admin as a user, unless you're hacking into the OS.

Normally, when a installer/program is written properly, all this is transparant to the user.

I still don't know why people complain about this, Linux has it, OSX has this.Wiindows has it, a bit too late but still has it.

 

I agree it's a bit more obtrusive in Windows, but apparently people still install every effing thing they see without thinking.

Getting those popups hopefully do help some people to THINk about their actions. All others, I don't care if you have virusses or a slow pc ;-)

 

Yeah, I always wondered why people kept saying "try running as adminstrator!" to fix issues in Windows 7.  I never had to do that, and I never did any "hacking" to make it so.  There were a few other people I noticed that also didn't have to worry about it in Windows 7.  

 

I do not want an OS that says "are you SURE you want to install that program?  Really?  but it might be dangerous.  So we should give it admin rights?  Are you SURE you're sure?".  I want an OS that does what I tell it to do, and if I install a virus with admin rights, that is MY fault, not the OS.  I'm sick of OSes treating every user like braindead noobs.



#29 SekaiStory

SekaiStory

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-June 09

Posted 04 July 2013 - 18:00

Bit late but here's mine. Love some people's background wallpapers, makes the start screen look much more alive.

 

plfz.jpg

 

(I don't cook but can't resist having the cooking app on Large with a yummy food picture  :laugh: )

(Also a random thought but if MS would just replace "Start" by the time and date that would be perfect)



#30 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 04 July 2013 - 18:06

Well since I enabled the option for tiles to fill the entire screen, I don't really need small tiles, I made most of them medium (Except my Gaming Tools) to fill in what was mostly empty space.

 

Untitled.jpg