Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 and Local accounts

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 jimmy_jazz

jimmy_jazz

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-May 04

Posted 29 June 2013 - 07:36

With Windows 8 it was possible to create a local user account and link it to a Microsoft account for use in the store.

 

But with the preview (8.1) if you create a local user and try and login to the store, Windows makes you convert you local user to a Microsoft account, something I don't want to do.

 

Incidental I also noticed that following a clean install you cannot principally create a local account and you are forced to log in with a Microsoft account for the first user.

 

Anyone know if these changes are just for the preview? 



Best Answer zhangm , 29 June 2013 - 10:12

From the desktop, toggle Charms > Settings, and hit Change PC Settings.

 

In the left pane, select Accounts, and at the top, under your name and e-mail address, hit Disconnect.

Go to the full post



#2 Crimson Rain

Crimson Rain

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 1020 Yellow

Posted 29 June 2013 - 07:45

Disconnect internet. It will let you create local account.



#3 silky

silky

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12

Posted 29 June 2013 - 10:05

Too late for me I'm stuck having to re-enter my password every time I log on.

I cannot seem to find any info on converting first user back to a local account.

anyone know how to convert?



#4 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 29 June 2013 - 10:12   Best Answer

From the desktop, toggle Charms > Settings, and hit Change PC Settings.

 

In the left pane, select Accounts, and at the top, under your name and e-mail address, hit Disconnect.



#5 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 29 June 2013 - 10:16

It doesn't make you change it. If you look at the bottom of the ribbon it provides asking you to login, there's an option to "Log in to each application seperately (Not recommended).".

 

That will allow you to do it.

 

I don't believe you can go back to a local account without making a new admin account and then deleting your old MS account from the machine. (although the above might work?)



#6 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 29 June 2013 - 10:20

With Windows 8 it was possible to create a local user account and link it to a Microsoft account for use in the store.

 

But with the preview (8.1) if you create a local user and try and login to the store, Windows makes you convert you local user to a Microsoft account, something I don't want to do.

 

Incidental I also noticed that following a clean install you cannot principally create a local account and you are forced to log in with a Microsoft account for the first user.

 

Anyone know if these changes are just for the preview? 

 

 

read it again, it prefers if you convert but there is an option to sign into each app separately (that includes the store)

 

that bit about the clean install is true though and very annoying

 

(for me I have a business skydrive account that has a different email address so being signed into windows with my personal address doesn't work)



#7 silky

silky

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12

Posted 29 June 2013 - 10:31

Thanks relatitivty-17  worked like a charm. system rebooted and a double tap on the enter key got me to the start screen. I had searched bing, google and duck duck and none of them turned up a result for me.

 

Whilst a little off topic of this thread, I thought 8.1 was going to allow us to boot to the desktop.  I haven't found this option yet so is it possible?



#8 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 29 June 2013 - 10:39

Thanks relatitivty-17  worked like a charm. system rebooted and a double tap on the enter key got me to the start screen. I had searched bing, google and duck duck and none of them turned up a result for me.

 

Whilst a little off topic of this thread, I thought 8.1 was going to allow us to boot to the desktop.  I haven't found this option yet so is it possible?

 

You have to right click the task bar and go into properties.  You'll see a new tab called Navigation.  All the options are listed there.

 

As for the account bit on a clean install, that could change for RTM.  They might have made it that way in the preview because they want people to test it and use all the new integrated skydrive features and so on.



#9 silky

silky

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12

Posted 29 June 2013 - 10:51

Thanks ultrakill job done.

Nice to be able to turn the charms off on the top right corner,  that used to annoy the hell out of me when I was going to close a window and the bloody charms kept coming out in the way.  I'm not a nimble gamer and often over shoot a mil or two causing the aggravation, now a thing of the past.

 

Silky



#10 OP jimmy_jazz

jimmy_jazz

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-May 04

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:28

Thanks for the replies guys, my problem is that using a Microsoft user account makes networking slightly more of a pain if you need access to shared resources on a server or another PC if it's expecting a username/password.

 

Wonder how 8.1 works on a domain? Surely it would't request you to convert your domain account to Microsoft account to access the store. 



#11 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:32

it is a pain in the but you don't use Microsoft accounts on a domain. :) I'm testing it at work now and works just like 7 in that sence.

 

ON my home machine though using my account but you can use the credential manager to add local servers to your list. This is a feature that's been in Windows since long ago but most people don't use it. I use it to store my login to my NAS and such so that I can connect with read/write permissions instead of default read only.



#12 dr_crabman

dr_crabman

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 09
  • Location: Germany

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:48

Too late for me I'm stuck having to re-enter my password every time I log on.

 

That you can off easily btw. http://www.bleepingc...g-in-windows-8/



#13 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:56

What about the workgroup option in the PC settings?  IIRC you can add username and password to connect to a domain in that section.  I haven't messed with it because I have no domain to join to.

 

*Edit* It's not named workgroup it's called workplace join, my mistake.



#14 siah1214

siah1214

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-April 12

Posted 29 June 2013 - 12:30

Workplace join only works when your site has server 2012  r2 installed. It does not join you to the domain but it gives you access to modern apps  and files that are made available...I think it's an intune thing.